Nature’s Bakery won me over long ago with their wholesome, yet still dessert-worthy line of Fig Bars. Now my gluten-free friends and family members can enjoy these bars, too, as Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars have landed!
They’ve upped the ante on certifications for the gluten-free fig bars – all are not only certified gluten-free, but also certified vegan, kosher parve, non-GMO verified, and made without top allergens. So these may be a better choice over the wheat versions for many special diet needs.
Tasting Notes for Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars
Aside from the filling, all of Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars are the same in ingredients and taste. Each has a cookie coating that is a little crumbly and a little dry, but not in a bad way. In fact, the sweet flavor has a wholesome treat vibe that is a bit addicting and goes great with hot tea.
The filling starts out a little too sweet. But with each passing bite, more of the tart contrast emerged.
This flavor of gluten-free fig bars was almost all sweet, with very little tart, and quite the flavor meld of indulgence.
This variety sways back to the tart side. It offers a nice puckering taste that keeps it, just barely, from venturing into the “too sweet” side.
Mmmm, there is still a special place in my heart for traditional fig bars! The filling in this one definitely delivered. The occasional bite was a little tart, which didn’t quite fit for me, but it was overall sweet, reminiscent and delicious.
Each little value package of Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars contains 2 servings, but at 100 calories per cookie, you can probably justify eating both in one sitting. Though they do use teff, amaranth and sorghum flours, and even pack in some oats, I wouldn’t count on Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars for meeting your daily nutritional quotas – they are for tasty energy or a sweet cookie-like treat.
The Facts on Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars
Certifications: Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars are Certified Non-GMO, Certified Kosher Parve, Certified Vegan, and Certified Gluten-Free.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Nature’s Bakery Gluten-Free Fig Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Nature’s Bakery website at www.naturesbakery.com.