NotMilk is Not Milk, but AI Says it Tastes Just Like It

0

Are you ready for technology to make your dairy alternatives instead of people? NotCo, a self-proclaimed tech company out of Chile, has launched NotMilk in the U.S. market. It’s not milk, but it was created to deliver a taste and texture that replicates dairy-based milk. So it isn’t milk, but it’s supposed to fool our taste buds.

How do they do it? NotCo has developed proprietary artificial intelligence and machine-learning algorithms to create formulas that mimic animal-based foods using plant-based ingredients. In other words, AI created the NotMilk recipe instead of a chef or food scientist.

August 2021 Update: NotMilk has quietly changed their formula. Thank you to David for sending us photos of the “new” Whole Not Milk he purchased. He pointed out that the new formula cartons now have a white cap, and that the ingredients have changed. They removed all coconut from the formula, and the chicory root. So it now contains no fiber. We’ve updated below with both the old ingredients and new ingredients for the whole variety. Once available, we’ll update information for both cartons. At this time, NotCo hasn’t announced the change, and still has old information on their website. Here is what the new packaging looks like.

NotMilk Reviews and Info - Whole Milk and 2% Milk alternatives created by tech company NotCo using Artificial Intelligence. Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Vegan.

NotMilk is Not Milk, but AI Says it Tastes Just Like It

NotCo received backing from several prominent venture capitalists, including Jeff Bezos. So it isn’t surprising that NotMilk is launching first in Whole Foods stores. It comes in two varieties, each of which helps to fill a half-full niche for slightly richer milk alternatives. The ingredients are quite similar to Ripple Plant Milk, but with a few interesting additions, like pineapple and cabbage juices.

We have the pertinent details below, but be sure to leave your unbiased rating and review below once you buy and try NotMilk. It helps others make an informed purchasing decision.

2% Reduced Fat

NotMilk Reviews and Info - Whole Milk and 2% Milk alternatives created by tech company NotCo using Artificial Intelligence. Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Vegan.Ingredients: water, pea protein, contains less than 2% of: chicory root fiber, sugar, pineapple juice concentrate, coconut oil, sunflower oil, virgin coconut oil, cabbage juice concentrate, natural flavors, salt, gum acacia, gellan gum, calcium carbonate, monocalcium phosphate, dipotassium phosphate, vitamin b12, vitamin d2. contains coconut.

Nutrition (per 1 cup): 90 calories, 5g fat, 7g carbs, 3g fiber, 3g sugars (includes 3g added sugars), 4g protein. Fortified to achieve the following RDA percentages: 23% vitamin D, 24% calcium, 35% vitamin B12.*

Whole

NotMilk Reviews and Info - Whole Milk and 2% Milk alternatives created by tech company NotCo using Artificial Intelligence. Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Vegan.

New Ingredients (as of August 2021): water, sunflower oil, pea protein, contains less than 2% of: sugar, pineapple juice concentrate, dipotassium phosphate, calcium carbonate, gellan gum, acacia gum, salt, monocalcium phosphate, natural flavor, cabbage juice concentrate, vitamin d2, vitamin b12. made in facilities that also process milk, soy, almonds and coconut.

Old Ingredients: water, pea protein, contains less than 2% of: coconut oil, chicory root fiber, pineapple juice concentrate, sugar, sunflower oil, virgin coconut oil, cabbage juice concentrate, natural flavors, salt, gum acacia, gellan gum, calcium carbonate, monocalcium phosphate, dipotassium phosphate, vitamin b12, vitamin d2. contains coconut. contains coconut.

New Nutrition (as of August 2021) (per 1 cup): 100 calories, 8g fat, 7g carbs, 3g fiber, 3g sugars (includes 3g added sugars), 4g protein. Fortified to achieve the following RDA percentages: 25% vitamin D, 25% calcium, 35% vitamin B12.*

Old Nutrition (per 1 cup): 110 calories, 8g fat, 4g carbs, 0g fiber, 3g sugars (includes 2g added sugars), 4g protein. Fortified to achieve the following RDA percentages: 23% vitamin D, 24% calcium, 35% vitamin B12.*

Note: There is another company called NotMilk NYC. They’ve been around longer, but NotMilk from NotCo does have a trademark on the name. We’re not sure how that will shake out. But these two product lines are very different. NotMilk NYC is small-batch nut milk produced by real hands with simple whole food ingredients. NotMilk from NotCo is mass produced with technology for a mainstream appeal and price point. This post is about NotCo’s product.

NotMilk Reviews and Info - Whole Milk and 2% Milk alternatives created by tech company NotCo using Artificial Intelligence. Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Vegan.

More Facts on NotMilk

  • Price: $4.99 per half-gallon carton (64 ounces)
  • Availability: NotMilk is sold at Whole Foods stores in the U.S.
  • Certifications: NotMilk is Certified Gluten-Free, Certified Vegan, Non-GMO Verified, and Certified Kosher D (for dairy equipment, not ingredients; see our Understanding Kosher Guide).
  • Dietary Notes: By ingredients, NotMilk is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*
  • For More Product Information: Visit the NotCo website at notco.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

4.6
Rated 4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5 stars (based on 77 reviews)
Excellent78%
Very good14%
Average5%
Poor0%
Terrible3%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

I am very confused

Rated 5 out of 5
October 23, 2021

I Adore this milk! I have to watch my potassium and thus had to hive up milk. After drinking almond milk for years, I discovered Not milk and fell in love. I first saw it online and saw it had very low potassium content, so I went to the store and bought it. After I had drank it gor a week I happened to look at the nutrition panel and was horrified to see that it said 570 potassium! Is this the old or the new formula? If it is the new formula then I am going to have to gp back to drinking almond milk. Someone please let me know what is going on.

Avatar for Amy
Amy

Response from Go Dairy Free

Best I can tell, both the old and new cartons contain 570mg of potassium. But the photos of the new ones definitely show 570mg.

Almost there

Rated 4 out of 5
October 20, 2021

I’m with the majority here, the mouth feel is fantastic, but the pineapple /cotton candy aftertaste gives it a sweetness I don’t like. I would drink it while dipping cookies or put it on cereal but I would not add this milk to anything savory. I am so impressed that the technology is coming along to create a milk like product without the torture and climate negatives that dairy milk contributes to. Good-luck finding the tweak not milk, you are close.

Avatar for Wen
Wen

Whole Milk Review

Rated 4 out of 5
October 17, 2021

Purchased the whole milk option to try. The texture is almost bang on, the mouth ‘feel’ is great. Taste – the taste is good going down, but then you have a bit of a pineapple after taste which is a bit weird. I got over this though as I could drink it straight out of a cup. I am not sure I would cook with it though as our vegan group said the pineapple after taste comes out even more when warmed up. I have tried it in my coffee and it is excellent, my milkshakes are great with it and cereal is bang on to whole milk.
Would I buy this again – yep. gonna try the 2% though as that one is supposed to have less of an aftertaste of pineapple.

Avatar for Lydija Dahl
Lydija Dahl

My new milk love.

Rated 5 out of 5
October 15, 2021

Absolutely love it, the best real dairy milk replacement I have found. I was very pleasantly surprised when I took my first taste, I missed milk so much, I love milk but cant have it, and the famous milk without the lactose tastes like sugar water. Some of the other plant based milks just didn’t hit the spot on look, consistency, and especially taste. Not Milk is my new milk. I will definitely recommend it. Thank u very much for this awesome product.

Avatar for Martha Irons
Martha Irons

Thirst crushing, delightful tasting, refreshing

Rated 5 out of 5
October 2, 2021

I liked it from the first cup

Avatar for Timothy Allen Craig
Timothy Allen Craig

Yummy

Rated 5 out of 5
September 19, 2021

Just getting into plant based food. This is a good alt for milk. Slight pineapple after taste. Good in cooking and tastes ok on its own. Looks like milk. It even turns coffee that creamy brown color and flavor. Just a bit of mild after taste less than other alt made with oat soy or others

Avatar for Jesse J Santiago
Jesse J Santiago

What is the nutritional value?

Rated 5 out of 5
August 30, 2021

Love the taste. great for people like me who are dairy free. However, not sure what the longer term health implications might be. And what is the nutritional value of the product?

Avatar for Freddy
Freddy

Response from Go Dairy Free

The nutrition information is in the post above.

Good in coffee

Rated 5 out of 5
August 28, 2021

I use cow’s milk mostly just in coffee and small amounts in cooking. NotMilk works much better than other nut milks in coffee, particularly if I use my milk foamer. I’ve been recommending this product to everyone. Tastes great. I’m sorry they’ve changed the formulation–I’m still drinking black cap whole “milk”—hope it doesn’t affect the taste. Will try the new white cap to see.

Avatar for Kate
Kate

They changed the recipe!! 🙁

Rated 4 out of 5
August 16, 2021

NotMilk was amazing! 5 Stars! It completely satisfied my need for milk. And this week they’ve changed the recipe. The old recipe has the black lids. The new one has stubbier white lids. It’s still way better than the other alternatives and still good, but it is different and I’m soooo disappointed. At didn’t realize it at first so when I saw the white cap and tasted something different, I thought it had been tampered with. I took it back to Wegmans to replace it and found all of the cartons on the shelf now have white lids (the “2%” still had black lids).
I compared ingredients lists: the new version removed all the virgin and regular coconut oil and it looks like that was replaced with an increased amount of sunflower oil . They also completely removed the fibre (by taking out the chicory root). The rest of the ingredients were fiddled with as well as evidenced by the rearrangement of their order in the ingredients list. Worst of all, the carton says NOTHING about the change. As if we aren’t supposed to notice. Boo!

Avatar for David
David

Response from Go Dairy Free

Thanks to your info and photos, we have been able to update this post!

The Best Tasting Not Milk

Rated 5 out of 5
August 16, 2021

I tried a sample of this in Whole Foods. I bought two cartons at Sprouts Farmers Market. This is absolutely delicious. I don’t even like milk. I just had a whole glass of this NOT MILK and it is refreshingly tasty. I will only drink this and use it for cooking from now on. I used it yesterday when I made mac and cheese and it came out so tasty good.

Avatar for Karen Spector
Karen Spector

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Comments are closed.