Rice Dream Bars are Nuts for Chocolate Covered Ice Cream Bars (DISCONTINUED)


Rice Dream Bars (Review) - Dairy-Free Chocolate Covered Ice Cream BarsUnfortunately, Rice Dream Bars have been discontinued. They still make Almond Dream Frozen Desserts, and you can discover more frozen treats in our Dairy-Free Ice Cream Novelties section.

I couldn’t resist the opportunity to review Rice Dream Bars when I spotted them on sale next to the Rice Dream Pies. They come in basic vanilla flavors, with nuts and without, and one chocolate flavor with nuts.

The Nutty coating wouldn’t have been first choice, but my local coop was out of the simple chocolate-covered Vanilla Bars. Fortunately, the generous speckling of crunchy peanut pieces offered a tasty textural contrast.

Rice Dream Bars (Review) - Dairy-Free Chocolate Covered Ice Cream Bars

The fresh nut bites complimented the chocolate and vanilla in a way that was a little more grown-up than peanut butter. Beneath the peanuts lies a smooth, somewhat thin dark chocolate shell that was just a little richer than semi-sweet. It crackled with each bite for a deliciously messy experience.

As for the vanilla dairy-free ice cream within, I love how it was squared off rather than rounded. It’s lightly creamy, but not as rich as many traditional dairy ice creams. The flavor is pleasantly vanilla, but not really profound in anyway. It’s more of a sweet, comforting base for this simple frozen dessert.

Rice Dream Bars (Review) - Dairy-Free Chocolate Covered Ice Cream Bars

The Facts on Rice Dream Bars

Price: $1.49 per 3.4-ounce single-serve bar

Certifications: Rice Dream Bars are Certified Kosher Dairy (they are dairy-free by ingredients, but dairy may be present on the lines or in the facility – see our Understanding Kosher guide).

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Rice Dream Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, vegan, plant-based, and vegetarian. Note that they are made without soy protein, but the chocolate coating contains a small amount of soy lecithin. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement prior to consumption and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Dream website at www.dreamplantbased.com.

Average Reader Review

Rated 4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (based on 1 review)
Very good100%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Cohesive dessert that's hard not to like

Rated 4 out of 5
February 25, 2019

These personal treats are coated in a delicate layer of dark chocolate that is just thick enough. Two varieties are freckled with peanut specks for a very nutty bite. The dairy-free ice cream within the Vanilla varieties is lightly creamy, gently vanilla, and just a touch frosty for a more refreshing bite. Altogether, it’s a cohesive dessert that’s hard not to like.

Avatar for Alisa

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.