Ripple Half & Half is an Allergy-Friendly Option for Dairy-Free Light Cream

55

I spotted Ripple Half & Half in the non-dairy case at Target when it first launched, and I couldn’t resist buying a bottle of each variety to try. At that time, they offered both Original and Vanilla varieties. Unfortunately, the Vanilla was discontinued. I’m updating this post with information on just the Unsweetened Original, but I’m leaving my photos up that show the Vanilla. The Original looks and performs the same as the Vanilla (so the images are still helpful), it’s just unsweetened and sans vanilla.

Ripple Half & Half Review - dairy-free, plant-based, vegan, and top allergen free in Plain Unsweetened and Vanilla

Tasting Notes for Ripple Half & Half

Ripple Half & Half is a creamy, top allergen-free, plant-based alternative for Half & Half. We tested this refrigerated dairy-free substitute as a creamer and in recipes.

Original (Unsweetened)

The Original has wonderful richness and a creamy mouth feel, but it’s sugar-free and unflavored. Truthfully, I was expecting this to taste rather dreadful on its own. But I took a sip and my taste buds were intrigued! The consistency is so decadent and the flavor was surprisingly mild with an oddly addictive taste. It’s definitely savory, but something kept making me want to take more sips.

I loved the Original in tea, even though I don’t use creamers regularly. It also seems to shine in recipes. Thus far, I’ve used it to make a white sauce, and the results were delicious. It bubbled up and thickened beautifully without any separation. I think this Ripple Half & Half also begs to be used in soup.

Ripple Half and Half Reviews and Info - Dairy-Free, Allergy-Friendly Alternative to Light Cream. We tested it ...Ingredients: water, sunflower oil, pea protein, organic cane sugar, contains less than 1% of sea salt, sunflower lecithin, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavor, acacia gum, guar gum, gellan gum.

Nutrition (per 2 tablespoons): 35 calories, 3.5g fat, 0g carbs, 0g fiber, <1g sugars, 0g protein.*

The Facts on Ripple Half & Half

Price: $3.49 per 16-ounce bottle

Availability in Stores: Ripple Half & Half is available in mainstream and natural food grocers in the U.S., like Target, Whole Foods, and Sprouts. Look for it in the refrigerated case next to the dairy-free creamers or milk beverages. You can also order it online direct from the company’s website below.

Certifications: Ripple Half & Half is Certified Non-GMO.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Ripple Half & Half is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, keto-friendly, and vegetarian.

For More Product Information: Visit the Ripple website at www.ripplefoods.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

3.7
Rated 3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5 stars (based on 25 reviews)
Excellent60%
Very good8%
Average0%
Poor8%
Terrible24%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Hard to find, but worth the search

Rated 5 out of 5
April 1, 2021

Best creamer hands down, It’s creamy, has some body, and adds a sublime flavor.

Ginger

My favorite coffee creamer

Rated 5 out of 5
February 11, 2021

Maybe I shouldn’t be on this site—I’m a dairy lover. But I eat only fat-free products and I wanted a healthy fat profile for creaming my coffee. After trying countless nondairy creamers, I found my one and only in plain Ripple Half and Half. I have used it for years experienced none of the off-taste or sediment that a few people mention in this site. It’s a consistent product with a very mild taste and after reading the comments I am going to try it now in cooking for my lactose-intolerant family.

Becky

Gamey Wet Horse

Rated 1 out of 5
February 6, 2021

Ripple Unsweetened Original milk is fine, but Ripple Half & Half is disgusting. Tastes like gamey wet horse or a wet raccoon. Drain poured the H & H, and drinking the milk. Odd because the ingredients are identical. It’s only their ratios that are different.

Tracy

Excellent non dairy creamer

Rated 5 out of 5
November 11, 2020

Ripple is an excellent non dairy creamer in addition to being heart healthy. That’s why I’ve been buying it ever since I first tried it. It is exactly what I’ve been looking for and because it’s dairy free and vegan it is a must for anyone with cholesterol or heart related concerns.

Pat Green

Terrible, nasty tasting

Rated 1 out of 5
November 10, 2020

The Ripple half and half is by far the worst non-dairy creamer I have ever tried, and very expensive.
When I poured out my nasty tasting coffee it looked like there was dirt in the bottom of my cup.

Lori

So bad it had to go down the drain

Rated 1 out of 5
October 26, 2020

I’ve been eyeing this product line for some time now. I pass it up and keep grabbing the oat milk varieties. Then while doing an essentials quick shop after work, my go to isn’t there. I decided to give the “half & half” a go. Excitingly the next morning I make my coffee and pour it up, just to almost spit it out. I was SO disappointed. Bleck! I tried the next day in some iced coffee just to give it one more chance and just could not drink it. Maybe it’s the “cilantro tastes like soap” to some people going on here. I just can’t seem to understand why people LOVE it? Five stars, really? Sticking with my oat milk creamer.

Kit Blanco

YUMMMMMMMY

Rated 5 out of 5
August 5, 2020

raving about this product but a bit confused as to the boast about being high in protein but…the label on my bottle says O grams of protein so…..

Julie

Best DF half and half

Rated 5 out of 5
March 4, 2020

I love the Ripple half and half unsweetened version. I was so happy to have a dairy free creamer that tastes delicious! I loved that I was getting some protein too since I don’t eat meat. Sadly, now there is not a single place near me that carries it any more. I’ve tried requesting it with the form Ripple provides just for this, but have had no success in getting the stores around here to get it again. I’m so bummed!

Vandra

Perfect product but no longer available anywhere!

Rated 5 out of 5
February 16, 2020

Excellent flavor and texture. Sometimes separates when reheated in my tea. Can’t seem to find anywhere now. Apparently it’s discontinued and will be replaced with a larger size but have not been able to find it anywhere within 100 mile radius. I miss it! Nothing compares.

Heidi

Love the product, but it's hard to find

Rated 5 out of 5
January 31, 2020

Ripple half-and-half unsweetened is my go-to coffee creamer! Rich, creamy, and yummy! I also like the vanilla, but generally prefer coffee without flavor so I prefer the plain. Problem is, when I go to the tiny handful of stores that carry it near me, it’s either sold out or they’ve stopped carrying it. Not Ripple’s fault, of course, but I wish I could find it in more places because I don’t like any other creamers and will forgo coffee entirely without it.

Kelly Shinners

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

55 Comments

  1. Yuk, tried the half and half in a latte diluted with water for frother no froth but it did have an odd smell. Dumped that into the sink tried straight ripple half and half in the frother. Same result….added it into my coffee. The weird smell tastes just like it, weird taste. Terribly disappointing

  2. This is terrible. I honestly thought it tasted like chicken bones. Had a very weird taste, nothing like half and half. Still searching

  3. S@thistastesawful on

    If you like Library paste, Ripple Original Half and Half is for You. It’s disgusting, flavorless, pasty garbage. I put it down the disposal. Good riddance.

    • Oh wow, I wonder if you got a bad batch? It’s been a little while since I bought it, but the Vanilla was quite pleasant in tea. Sorry it didn’t work out for you. Luckily there are a bunch more options! Something for everyone 🙂

  4. I’ve been alternating between the original and vanilla half and half for a few months, and was surprised that it listed pea protein for an ingredient, but had less than 1 g of protein.

    • The half & half is made for cooking, so it is higher fat, lower protein. The higher protein in the milk beverage can cause issues when making sauces and other recipes.

  5. To me, Ripple Half & Half smells and tastes like Play-doh. My husband agrees. I had high hopes for this, but Silk remains the best.

  6. I found the vanilla version of this in my local Kroger, here in Tennessee. I was so happy to see it! I love trying new healthy coffee creamers! 🙂