Tahoe Trail Bars Provide Gluten-Free, Vegan Fuel for Your Journey

0

Lake Tahoe is where it all started for Go Dairy Free. I put up my first post and began writing Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook when my husband and I were living in a little ski chalet at the lake. It’s a very small community up there, and even the surrounding cities (Reno and Carson City) have a small town feel. So Tahoe Trail Bars have a special place in my heart.

These bars are built for energy, with 220 to 260 calories, 12 to 15 grams of sugars (7 to 12 added grams), 7 to 10 grams of fat, 5 to 10 grams of protein, and 2 to 4 grams of fiber. It’s the kind of fuel you want when hitting the slopes or out on a hike.

Tahoe Trail Bars Review - Vegan, gluten-free energy bars - we have ingredients, availability, tasting notes, and more!

Tasting Notes for Tahoe Trail Bars

These are soft and chewy bars, with little bits of interest throughout. At last check, they came in three varieties.

Peanut Butter Chocolate

These bars have the most chew, with a very soft chew followed by a heartier, whole grain chew. They’re rustic but flavorful with warm sweet undertones that aren’t overly sugary. I didn’t really taste the peanut butter but the overall flavor is pleasant and warm. It has lots of little rice crisps, seeds and oat bits scattered about, and whole dried cranberries for a surprise burst of flavor. But the real treat is those sweet and fulfilling chocolate chunks. My only complaint is the aftertaste, which is just a wee bit bitter.

Ingredients – brown rice syrup, gluten-free oats, crisp rice (rice flour, sugar, salt, calcium carbonate), coconut, chocolate chunks (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, organic soy lecithin, vanilla, salt), raisins, sunflower seeds, peanuts, dried cranberries (cranberries, pineapple syrup, sunflower oil), peanut flour, sesame seeds, flaxseeds, natural flavors, sea salt. Contains: peanut, soy, coconut. Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk, egg.

Dark Chocolate Cherry

This flavor has a cocoa base that’s a little softer than the peanut butter. The powder permeates for a sweet, lightly chocolate flavor with occasional bites of cherry and those delicious chocolate chunks. I’m not a big chocolate energy bar fan, but still thought this one was pretty good overall.

Ingredients – brown rice syrup, gluten-free oats, chocolate chunks (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, organic soy lecithin, vanilla, salt), sunflower seeds, soy crisps (soy protein isolate, tapioca starch), dried cranberries (cranberries, pineapple syrup, sunflower oil), peanuts, alkalized cocoa, soy protein isolate, dried bing cherries (bing cherries, rice flour), raisins, coconut, sesame seeds, crisp rice (rice flour, sugar, salt, calcium carbonate), natural flavor, sea salt. Contains: peanut, soy, coconut. Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk, egg.

Mango Coconut

I was expecting the peanut butter flavor to be my favorite, but the Mango Coconut might have one me over. It’s just the right combination of soft and chewy to keep things interesting, and the sticky mango vibe really works. It’s sweet, tart, fruity, and satisfying. The coconut flavor isn’t highly noticeable, but it does linger in the backdrop.

Ingredients – brown rice syrup, dried apples, cashews, gluten-free oats, sunflower seeds, soy crisps (soy protein isolate, tapioca starch), dried mango, soy protein isolate, coconut, crisp rice (rice flour, sugar, salt, calcium carbonate), sesame seeds, flaxseeds, natural flavors, vanilla extract, sea salt. Contains: cashew, coconut, soy. Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, peanut, milk, egg.

Tahoe Trail Bars Review - Vegan, gluten-free energy bars - we have ingredients, availability, tasting notes, and more!

The Facts on Tahoe Trail Bars

Price: $2.49 per 2-ounce bar.

Availability: Tahoe Trail Bars are easy to order online in the U.S. You can purchase them directly from the company via their website below, or via Amazon.

Certifications: Tahoe Trail Bars are Certified Gluten Free.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Tahoe Trail Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, vegan, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Tahoe Trail Bar website at tahoetrailbar.com.

Snack on Tahoe Trail Bars and Snack Recipes in Go Dairy Free

Tahoe Trail Bars Review - Vegan, gluten-free energy bars - we have ingredients, availability, tasting notes, and more!

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply