We do review many alternatives to typical dairy-containing foods. But I also like to share naturally milk-free products that still may be of special interest to dairy-free consumers. The Ginger People Beverages definitely fit that category.
I would wager that the dairy-free population has a higher than average rate of tummy troubles. It’s one of the reasons millions of people cut dairy from their diets in the first place. Over the years, I’ve had my own sensitive issues and have consequently become a big fan of all things ginger.
Though higher in sugars than I would like, The Ginger People Beverages are seriously potent and hydrating – two qualities that my digestive tract likes. At last check, they came in the following varieties:
Ginger Soother: This was the first of the Ginger People beverages that I sampled. It’s an elixir made purely with water, fresh pressed punchy Peruvian ginger, lemon juice and pure honey. After spying the sugar level, I was certain that it would be an overly sweet concoction. But to my pleasant surprise, it was just sweet enough to keep the ginger in check, for a lightly sweet and spicy sip. I think it’s easily palatable for taste buds of all ages, without venturing into syrupy Snapple territory. Putting it to the test, I purchased a Ginger Soother one day when my stomach was a bit disturbed. I must admit that just half a bottle calmed things down pretty quickly.
Ginger enerGizer: I’ve yet to try this version, which is similar to the Soother, but includes an extra dose of ginger and some apple juice concentrate. It’s reportedly a “powerhouse tonic to naturally boost energy”.
Bottoms Up!: This is The Ginger People’s re-branded Ginger Beer, and their one vegan option. It’s made with carbonated water, cane sugar, ginger juice, and citric acid. I trialed just a sip at a trade show, and recall it as quite strong yet alluring. I’ll definitely be looking for this soda in stores.
The Facts on The Ginger People Beverages
Certifications: The Ginger People Beverages are Certified Gluten Free, Non-GMO Verified, and Certified Kosher Pareve.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, The Ginger People Beverages are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, and vegetarian. The Ginger Beer is made without honey and therefore vegan. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Ginger People website at gingerpeople.com.