January 2023 Update! This product is delayed! Bel Brands, the company behind Laughing Cow Plant-Based, has said “due to unforeseen production challenges” and “a challenging supply landscape” these products have not yet made it to stores. They are working on it and hope to have them rolled out soon.
It took them 150 years to get started, but the French cheesemaker known as Bel is finally gaining momentum in the industry of cheese alternatives. They successfully launched Dairy-Free Boursin in 2020, followed by Plant-Based Babybel earlier this year. And beginning this month, you’ll be able to find The Laughing Cow Plant-Based spreadable cheese wedges in the vegan cheese section. These nostalgic wheels will arrive at stores in Original and Garlic & Herb varieties.
Laughing Cow Plant-Based is Rolling into the Dairy-Free Cheese Section
In addition to flavor and texture, the cheesemakers at Bel Brands worked to recreate the classic experience of eating a Laughing Cow cheese wedge. According to a representative, consumer feedback was key in creating a “creamy, smooth, and soft cheese texture that spreads beautifully onto crackers, vegetables, and more.” So what are they made with? We did some digging to find out.
What are The Laughing Cow Plant-Based Cheese Wedges made with?
We will update this post with the full ingredients and nutrition facts once we have them! But for now, we can say that both flavors are made with almond milk, coconut oil, sunflower oil, pea protein, and seasonings, and are fortified with calcium and vitamin B12.
Are The Laughing Cow Plant-Based Cheese Wedges Dairy Free?
The short answer is yes, they are dairy-free by ingredients. Please note, that there will be some confusion over the “vegan” products created by Bel Brands. Their Boursin Dairy-Free, Babybel Plant-Based, and the new The Laughing Cow Plant-Based wedges are all made without any dairy ingredients. However, the announcement of the wedges was paired with a new Nurishh product line that is made with “animal-free dairy.” Nurishh was a dairy-free brand, but now they have a dairy line that is labeled as “animal-free.” Confusing? Indeed. Just know that The Laughing Cow Plant-Based cheese alternative is not dairy and is made with dairy-free ingredients, according to the company.
More Facts on The Laughing Cow Plant-Based Wedges
- Price: $5.49 per 8-wedge package
- Availability: The Laughing Cow Plant-Based Wedges are sold at Whole Foods stores in the U.S.
- Certifications: The Laughing Cow Plant-Based Wedges are Certified Vegan.
- Dietary Notes: By ingredients, The Laughing Cow Plant-Based Wedges are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*
- For More Product Information: Visit the Laughing Cow website at www.thelaughingcow.com.
*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy.