I’m admittedly not a big cake fan, but I know many of you love the pillowy goodness of whoopie pies, so reviewing these gems from The Piping Gourmets was a must.
Available in numerous cake and frosting flavors, these whoopie pies from The Piping Gourmets are unbelievably dairy-free, gluten-free, vegan, and made without the top 8 allergens. I sampled a small wedge at Expo West, but one of the co-founders of The Piping Gourmets, Leslie Kaplan, was kind enough to send me home with a whole box of the Chocolate Vanilla (chocolate cake with vanilla frosting) so that I could do a more thorough review with other tasters.
Tasting Notes for The Piping Gourmets Whoopie Pies
As you can see, these are big squishy cakey pillows, sandwiching an Oreo-like icing. Each bite offers a rich, gently sweet, slightly moist chocolate cake with a soft, but somewhat thick sugary vanilla icing.
I could detect the gluten-free nature in the texture just a bit. Our sugaraholic, wheat-eating taste-tester didn’t bat an eyelash as she inhaled one and then another. Tony has been gluten-free for a while, he doesn’t “love” most store-bought gluten-free goodies. But The Piping Gourmets whoopie pies won him over.
To note, this is dessert. These whoopie pies are a straight up treat – don’t expect nutrition simply because they are gluten-free and dairy-free. That said, I was surprised that each sizable indulgence was only around 200 calories.
And to find them, head to the freezer. Though they look shelf-stable, The Piping Gourmets Whoopie Pies are sold in the freezer section of many natural food stores. They are best thawed in the refrigerator. They only keep at room temp for about 24 hours or so.
The Facts on The Piping Gourmets Whoopie Pies
Price: $7.99 per 4-pack (2 ounces each)
Certifications: The Piping Gourmets Whoopie Pies are Certified Kosher Pareve, Certified Gluten-Free, Certified Vegan, and Non-GMO Verified.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, The Piping Gourmets Whoopie Pies are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit The Piping Gourmets website at www.thepipinggourmets.com.