I’ve shopped regularly at Trader Joe’s for more than a decade, but it wasn’t until recently that I thought to add their dairy-free products to our reviews. And now, Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Milk Beverages must be covered! I’m starting with their newest, hottest products, but will add the old standbys as we get to them. For the seasonal varieties, see our Holiday Milk Beverage Review.
Tasting Notes for Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Milk Beverages
We will add to this list as we get more information. Thus far, we’ve trialed and photographed the following.
Cocoa Almond Cashew Beverage
Tony spotted this new dairy-free milk at the store today, and I couldn’t resist taste-testing it immediately. It has a fluid, very smooth and just slightly rich consistency, much like your average low-fat chocolate milk. But the taste isn’t nearly as sweet. As you will see in the nutrition facts below, this milk beverage is lower in added sugars than your average dairy-free chocolate milk. It’s still lightly sweet, but not the least bit sugary. They seem to add just enough sweetener to temper any bitterness, while still letting the cocoa take center stage. And surprisingly, I didn’t really detect any nutty notes.
I tasted this cocoa milk beverage chilled and heated, with a preference toward cold. But it does make a mild and pleasant hot chocolate – especially if you plan on adding marshmallows or dairy-free chocolate chips.
Ingredients: water, cane sugar, almonds, cocoa processed with alkali, cashews, natural flavors, calcium carbonate, sea salt, locust bean gum, sunflower lecithin, gellan gum. contains: almonds, cashews.
Nutrition (per 1 cup): 80 calories, 2.5g fat, 13g carbs, 2g fiber, 10g sugars (includes 10g added sugars), 2g protein. Fortified with the following RDA percentages: 10% calcium.*
Seasonal Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Milk Beverages
The Facts on Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Milk Beverages
Availability: Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Milk Beverages are sold exclusively at Trader Joe’s stores in the United States.
Certifications: We did not note any certifications on the Cocoa Almond Cashew Beverage.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Trader Joe’s Almond and Cashew Beverages are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*
For More Product Information: Visit your local Trader Joe’s store or contact them directly via their website at www.traderjoes.com.
*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy.