Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer Stays the Dairy-Free Course (DISCONTINUED for now …)

5

We believe Trader Joe’s was sourcing their creamer from Wildwood. Unfortunately, Wildwood stopped producing creamers and milks altogether (now they only make tofu and mayo products). And it looks like they’ve yet to find another manufacturer for Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer.

Silk Soy Creamer is similar (and still available). But Silk doesn’t use contain the controversial ingredient carrageenan, which tends to work well in creamers like TJ’s. Sunrich Barista Soymilk is another option. It is a commercial product, so it isn’t sold in stores, but can be bought in bulk online.

This product has come and gone over the years, but 2020 might have been it’s demise. We’re I know many people are hoping for a return, but production issues might have put an end to this beloved product. We’ll update if it returns!

Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer Stays the Dairy-Free Course

This review of Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer was shared with us by Alicia de los Reyes during her writing days with A Nice Cuppa.

While visiting some friends and drinking their coffee I discovered a lovely coffee mix-in: Trader Joe’s Soy Milk Creamer.  Usually I stay away from soy in my coffee, but I decided to try it.  Guess what?  Deliciousness.  Not soy-like at all.

It was quite sweet, though, and that’s what inspired me to try it in my other favorite morning beverage, English Breakfast tea.  Shazam!  I was a convert.  It reminded me of the kind of tea made with boiling leaves and milk and water in a big pot with about sixteen cups of sugar.  The tea was strong enough to hold up to the sweetness; herbal and more delicate black teas would taste like flavored milk with this stuff stirred in. Chai would be excellent.

Original (Only One Flavor Available)

Trader Joe’s Soy CreamerIngredients: organic soy milk, expeller presser organic canola oil, organic cane juice, natural milled sugar, maltodextrin (corn), soy lecithin, potassium phosphate, sodium citrate, carrageanan, tapioca starch. Made on shared equipment with milk.*

Nutrition (per 1 tablespoon): 15 calories, 1.5g fat, 1g carbs, 0g fiber, 1g sugars, 0g protein.*

More Allergen Notes

Trader Joe’s Customer Service sent us this message:

Thank you for contacting us with your inquiry. The soy creamer ingredients are listed below. Although the product does not contain any milk it is made on shared equipment with milk. All of our suppliers clean the lines in between products runs.*

More Facts on Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer

Price: $1.49 per pint

Availability: Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer is sold at most Trader Joe’s stores throughout the U.S.

Certifications: We did not note any certifications on Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*

For More Product Information: Visit the Trader Joe’s website at www.traderjoes.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

4.8
4.8 rating
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 26 reviews)
Excellent88%
Very good4%
Average4%
Poor4%
Terrible0%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Tragic

5.0 rating
January 20, 2021

Was so upset to hear this was discontinued. The only two creamers I like – Wildwood and TJs soy creamer are gone. I had no idea they were from the same manufacturer. No wonder! Thank you for the background. I had no idea the supplier stopped making these products all together. Just tragic. Please find a decent replacement. My coffee hasn’t been the same without it.

Amy Larson

Devastated

5.0 rating
January 16, 2021

I am Devastated about the news that Trader Joe’s has discontinued my favorite product. I have used this creamer for years and love it. There are no substitutes. The new selection of non-dairy creamer today has coconut. I am allergic to coconut and it also tastes terrible.

Emmy

The best creamer

5.0 rating
January 9, 2021

I’ve used this for years. I’m so disappointed this has been discontinued. Can’t find a decent replacement anywhere and I’ve tried. Please bring it back.

Bellalou

Best tasting

5.0 rating
January 7, 2021

I have been using TJ soy creamer for years. When a friend asked me what was the secret for good coffee, I said TJ soy creamer. Now I have learned it has been discontinued, along with other TJ favorites through the years. It saddens me. Please bring it back.

Lana

Soy Milk Creamer discontinuance

5.0 rating
January 6, 2021

Please find another vendor source for this product. It is obviously very popular and was a staple of mine for morning breakfast for all the years Trader Joe’s carried it. I honestly don’t know what I can do alternatively with that excellent taste and may have to discontinue doing cereals altogether. Hello – that will hurt your cereal offerings!

Linda Eason

Discontinued! No longer available and no plans for future production!

5.0 rating
January 5, 2021

OMG! I’m gutted!! Just called Trader Joes, they are no longer carrying Soy Creamer with no expectations to carry it in the future! Nooooooo!!! It’s been discontinued indefinitely. It was one of their most popular products I hope they see the benefit to get it back on their shelves someday.

vamvam33

Response from Go Dairy Free

We’re not giving up hope yet!

TJ soy creamer or bust!

5.0 rating
December 30, 2020

I have been using this soy creamer for years. It’s is simply the best. Is has the same consistency as half and half it turns your coffee a light brown instead of grey like most. I use it as my dairy substitute in most items. They have been out in Az for the last month. I spoke with them today and the computer said discontinued but expected to be in stock. So they suspect that they are looking for a new manufacturer.
I hope it’s the same…I have tried it all and they are all to sweet or chemically tasting. The creamer even makes a mean White Russian!

Cory

It was the best

5.0 rating
December 22, 2020

I’m lactose intolerant and this was my first choice forever. I got so used to it that nothing else tasted “right” to me. While it was sometimes unavailable at my local Trader Joe’s it always showed up again. Until this year. I asked at the bridge and they told me that it was no longer available from the supplier; they expected to have a new supplier next year.
I’m almost certain I know who that supplier was. At one time Whole Foods sold Wildwood Soymilk Creamer. It tasted the same to me, and the ingredient list is identical. TJ’s also sells a Tofu that is a match for Wildwood still sold at WF.
Recently I’ve been reluctantly using Hood Country Creamer Non-Dairy Creamer. It tastes similar to me (it’s not for everyone). It’s cheap, but it contains HFCS and other ingredients I’d rather avoid.

Clif

Response from Go Dairy Free

As a heads up, Hood Country Creamer Non-Dairy Creamer isn’t dairy-free. It does contain a small amount of caseinate (milk protein). Unfortunately, with creamers, non-dairy doesn’t always mean dairy-free. People who are lactose intolerant though can usually tolerate non-dairy creamers with small amounts of milk protein.

It's the best !

5.0 rating
December 8, 2020

I have the same complaint as others. The TJ’s I go to is always out so I know it’s popular. I hope they can find a way to keep it in stock, it really is the best soy creamer around. Ended up buying Silk’s soy creamer, did not compare 🙁

Donna

Bought 20 containers of it

5.0 rating
November 28, 2020

Down to my last 2 containers and so sad Trader Joe’s still doesn’t have it in. I have tried them all and this is the best. Can you make it in the quart size? Do they freeze well? I will stock up if so .. so I can get through supplier issues which seems to happen at some point every year.

Wanda

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

5 Comments

  1. Carol Palmer on

    Something has changed in the soy milk creamer. It no longer froths in my nespresso frothier and is not quite as sweet as before.

      • It’s been at my Trader Joe’s now for years. I guess they brought it back? I like it better than any other dairy-free creamer I’ve tried so far.