Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer Stays the Dairy-Free Course

5

This review of Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer was shared with us by Alicia de los Reyes during her writing days with A Nice Cuppa.

While visiting some friends and drinking their coffee I discovered a lovely coffee mix-in: Trader Joe’s Soy Milk Creamer.  Usually I stay away from soy in my coffee, but I decided to try it.  Guess what?  Deliciousness.  Not soy-like at all.

It was quite sweet, though, and that’s what inspired me to try it in my other favorite morning beverage, English Breakfast tea.  Shazam!  I was a convert.  It reminded me of the kind of tea made with boiling leaves and milk and water in a big pot with about sixteen cups of sugar.  The tea was strong enough to hold up to the sweetness; herbal and more delicate black teas would taste like flavored milk with this stuff stirred in. Chai would be excellent.

Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer Stays the Dairy-Free Course

This product has come and gone over the years, but even as recent as 2019, I’ve received reports from readers that it’s still available in their local Trader Joe’s.

Original (Only One Flavor Available)

Trader Joe’s Soy CreamerIngredients: organic soy milk, expeller presser organic canola oil, organic cane juice, natural milled sugar, maltodextrin (corn), soy lecithin, potassium phosphate, sodium citrate, carrageanan, tapioca starch. Made on shared equipment with milk.*

Nutrition (per 1 tablespoon): 15 calories, 1.5g fat, 1g carbs, 0g fiber, 1g sugars, 0g protein.*

More Allergen Notes

Trader Joe’s Customer Service sent us this message:

Thank you for contacting us with your inquiry. The soy creamer ingredients are listed below. Although the product does not contain any milk it is made on shared equipment with milk. All of our suppliers clean the lines in between products runs.*

More Facts on Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer

Price: $1.49 per pint

Availability: Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer is sold at most Trader Joe’s stores throughout the U.S.

Certifications: We did not note any certifications on Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Trader Joe’s Soy Creamer is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*

For More Product Information: Visit the Trader Joe’s website at www.traderjoes.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

4.3
4.3 rating
4.3 out of 5 stars (based on 8 reviews)
Excellent63%
Very good13%
Average12%
Poor12%
Terrible0%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Simply the Best!

5.0 rating
October 20, 2020

We’ve tried every non-dairy creamer we can find, and nothing tasted as good as this one! Silk creamers come close, and we’ve used them in a pinch, when they’ve been out at TJs, but not only are they not quite as good, they cost more too.

Rob Leavitt

Missing TJ's Soy Creamer

5.0 rating
October 19, 2020

I’m looking for something to replace the Trader Joes Soy Creamer since it will be out of stock until sometime in Jan 2021. It’s terrible that there is nothing else out there that’s not so sweet and turns your coffee creamy. I do like the Oatly Barista Oat Creamer but it’s spotty with availability as well (Whole Foods Markets).

Nicole

Soy Creamer is out of stock

4.0 rating
October 17, 2020

It is the best soy creamer in the market and now is gone till Jan- I tried Silk Original- Not as good but tolerable. I miss you soy creamer 🙁

Afsan

Best Creamer

5.0 rating
October 15, 2020

In my opinion, this is the best vegan creamer. This actually changes the color of my coffee (I know that’s a mental thing haha) without having to use too much. But other vegan creamers are either very thin/watery, or too thick where they’re clumpy almost. This is perfect. The flavor is delicious! And I don’t think it’s too sweet either, or very sweet at all. Most other vegan creamers seem to overcompensate with flavored creamers or they’re really sweet. If you just want a normal not flavored or super sweet cup of coffee this is perfect. This is the perfect creamer, I’m super bummed anytime it’s discontinued for a while.

Syd

TJ Soy creamer did change packaging in 2019 and I also noticed a slightly less nutty flavor

3.0 rating
October 4, 2020

TJ Soy creamer did change packaging in 2019 and I also noticed a slightly less nutty flavor I had come to love!
In 2020 it has since been out of stock a lot and now won’t be available until Jan 2021!
I’ve tried every other brand and creamer with out success, because, they are too sweet or heavy in other flavor like vanilla.
Are there any good alternates?

karla

Response from Go Dairy Free

There are a lot of creamer options. See our creamer review section for many -> https://www.godairyfree.org/product-reviews/dairy-free-creamer-reviews

Did it change?

2.0 rating
July 18, 2020

Did the Trader Joe’s soy creamer change? It was out/low stock several months to a year ago, and now it’s back. Since it’s been back, I’ve bought 2 and first one was fine but wow, did the 2nd one taste awful (not purchased same time, 2nd one was freshly purchased). I felt like I was drinking clay. It totally flattened my coffee (Philz brew at home). At first, I thought it went bad, but it was newly opened and well within expiration date. Anyone else with similar experience?

Mabel R.

Tastes creamy like the real thing

5.0 rating
May 29, 2020

This creamer is really a light creamy texture added to strong coffee. Trader Joe’s soy creamer is not overly sweetened or soy tasting but an enjoyable mellowing agent for the best -tasting cup of coffee. There is a great quality to it…no aftertaste at all!

Sally Schlosstein

Made veganism doable for me!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2020

When I went plant-based, it was really rough at first. One of the hardest things was how terrible my strong coffee tasted with the many, many non-dairy creamers I had tried. But that all changed when I finally discovered this product. I was used to ‘heavy cream’ (not just half-and-half) in my coffee because we make it so strong. So it really took a special product to even come close. This was the product that made me love my coffee again!! The only problem is that I think others have now discovered it too and it is almost always out of stock. Especially now, during the COVID 19 pandemic, I’m not sure when I will be able to purchase again. I’m hoping I can find a direct source of delivery.

Naomi

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

5 Comments

  1. Carol Palmer on

    Something has changed in the soy milk creamer. It no longer froths in my nespresso frothier and is not quite as sweet as before.

      • It’s been at my Trader Joe’s now for years. I guess they brought it back? I like it better than any other dairy-free creamer I’ve tried so far.