Wink Frozen Desserts are the 100 Calorie, Allergy-Friendly Pints

63

Just prior to trialing it, I read many mixed reviews online about Wink Frozen Desserts. As I soon discovered, the varying opinions were for good reason. Which is why I’ve opted to skip a star rating on this review from us. Instead, I’ll provide enough details about Wink Frozen Desserts to help you decide if these pints might be right for you. And you can read the star ratings and reviews below from dozens of people who have purchased Wink.

Wink Frozen Desserts - with 100 calorie PINTS that are vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, fat-free and top allergen-free

Wink Frozen Desserts are extremely light. They range from just 25 to 75 calories per serving. They also have as little as 0 grams of sugars, 2 grams of protein, and 1 gram of fiber in each 1/2 cup. Select flavors have up to 4 grams of sugars and 4 grams of fat.

So what is in them? One sample ingredient label contains the following: water, pea protein, vegetable glycerin, organic agave inulin, organic flavors, organic tapioca, monk fruit, baking soda, xanthan gum, organic stevia, guar gum.

As you might suspect from reading this profile, Wink Frozen Desserts don’t taste like your typical ice cream. With no top allergens, added sugars and fat, they have an overall vibe that is notably off from the norm.

The consistency of Wink Frozen Desserts is closer to a sorbet than an ice cream. It’s scoopable, but a bit icy. As it melts, it does appear thicker, but then it has a slightly gelatinous mouth feel. If given the choice, we preferred it straight from the freezer, fully chilled with that slight icy edge. The picture below does a fantastic job of showing the different textures.

Wink Frozen Desserts - with 100 calorie PINTS that are vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, fat-free and top allergen-free

The flavor names on Wink Frozen Desserts imply a potential flavor rush, but the taste of each is actually very mild. For most of the pints, our tasters didn’t even come close to guessing the flavor. As you can see from the ingredient list above, they rely heavily on “organic flavors”, rather than flavorful ingredients that may add to the calorie or sugar count. Honestly, I’ve never seen “flavors” so high up on an ingredient list!

Since Wink Frozen Desserts are less full-bodied than most, and are sweetened exclusively with sugar-free, natural sweeteners, they do have a different underlying influence. For those who are stevia “super-tasters” like me, you may find the stevia and monk fruit combination off-putting. However, if you follow a sugar-free diet or use sugar-free sweeteners often, then the flavors might hit your taste buds just right.

We sampled bites of each flavor and our hands down favorite was the Caramel Candy Apple. We didn’t taste the apple, but the warmer caramel notes helped to mellow the stevia sharpness. Our second choice was the Black Cherry Cacao Nib. Yes, of course we picked two of the higher calorie ones! The base was mild, but did have a cherry influence that we could detect. And the generous smattering of cacao nibs were a nice surprise. But still, these pints are very unique, and didn’t fall in the ranks of ice creams we would purchase again.

What to Do with Leftover Wink Frozen Desserts

This is an update to help avoid waste of these pricey pints. If you aren’t a fan, try blending them into smoothies. Use a frozen banana and some peanut, nut, or seed butter to mellow the flavor and increase the richness without adding sugars (aside from naturally occurring ones).

Wink Frozen Desserts - with 100 calorie PINTS that are vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, fat-free and top allergen-free The photos were provided by Wink Frozen Desserts. Unlike many other products, their photos are quite accurate. What you see is what you will get! Please keep that in mind and take note of the unique melt and icier consistency.

The Facts on Wink Frozen Desserts

Certifications: I believe Wink Frozen Desserts are Certified Vegan, Certified Gluten Free, Certified Kosher Pareve, and Non-GMO Verified.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Wink Frozen Desserts are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Wink Frozen Desserts website at winkfrozendesserts.com.

Average Reader Review

1.3
1.3 rating
1.3 out of 5 stars (based on 98 reviews)
Excellent4%
Very good2%
Average3%
Poor5%
Terrible86%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Now I know

2.0 rating
July 19, 2019

I went on the hunt for this product after seeing an ad just yesterday. I just found it at the Wegmans,13 miles away. Twenty six miles and a gallon of gas later, I’m at home having tasted the goods. I actually did a Google search to find out if I was the only one who found the results so disappointing after all the effort I put into trying to find the dessert. I really wanted to like this product and support this company because it checks all the boxes for my dietary restrictions. But the taste was just really lacking and what I did taste, I didn’t enjoy in the cocoa dough and cake batter flavors. The article’s description is pretty spot on. I will stick to making my homemade ice cream treats. Nice try Wink.

Lisa

Absolutely disgusting

1.0 rating
July 17, 2019

All you need to know: first ingredient is water. And you can tell. Has almost no flavor, and what flavor it does have is barely sweet. I would eat almost anything if it was 100 calories, but this was not even worth 5 calories. Angry i was forced to purchase multiple cartons to be able to try it, will be throwing it out

Phillip Rodriguez

Should have read the reviews first

1.0 rating
July 14, 2019

I agree this is the worst “dessert “ I’ve ever had! The texture was oily, the flavor was nonexistent and I too threw it out! I don’t know what I’ll do with the other 2 pints. Don’t waste your money, anything would be better than this.

Shirley

I cant believe i spend $5 on this garbage!

1.0 rating
July 10, 2019

Only dessert ive ever thrown out!

Nick

WARNING!

1.0 rating
July 8, 2019

I recently have been trying a Keto diet and saw WINK advertised as an excellent alternative to ice cream. The site minimum order was four containers, so I bought two chocolate and two vanilla. My husband received them in the mail and we couldn’t wait to try our new treat. I should tell you that my husband grew up extremely poor, and he is invaluable at saving leftover food and making a meal of it—NOTHING here goes to waste! In any case, we thawed the treat and cracked open a chocolate. He gave me a spoonful, and then the two of us gagged and spit it out! It was SOOOOOO bad! The mouth feel was absolutely horrendous, as though we’d been drinking at the site of an oil spill. The taste was just wretched, and the aftertaste was worse! We threw it out and he later tried the vanilla and said it was even worse than the chocolate. I can’t believe they are selling this stuff. It was some kind of a chemical concoction. This was just too, TOO disgusting. Seriously, if my husband actually threw it OUT, it had to be the worst of the worst! The rating system demanded that I fill in one, but NO STARS! Not even a fraction of a star!!!

Christine E Austin

Sad Scoops

1.0 rating
July 7, 2019

These pints make me sad, which is a real travesty. Ice cream should NEVER make you sad. They’re icy, chalky, and flavorless at best. Oh, and you will pay dearly for that dreadful experience, too. You would honestly be better off crunching on ice cubes.

Hannah

Terrible

1.0 rating
July 5, 2019

I took 2 small bites and the after taste was so strong it made my stomach sick. Tasted nasty along with its texture.
Now I have 6 pints I’ll have to throw away.

Deb

Awful aftertaste

1.0 rating
July 2, 2019

I tried the cocoa flavor, and threw it out after one spoonful. The monk fruit sweetener gives it a horrible chemical aftertaste- it tastes the way burning plastic smells. I had to rinse my mouth to get rid of it. I recommend vegan Halo Top instead.

Iris

Never Buy it again

1.0 rating
June 30, 2019

I bought Chocolate mint and it tastes exactly like tooth paste. Nothing else.

Julie

AWFUL!!

1.0 rating
June 30, 2019

I purchased the chocolate which was the only flavor that my local grocery store stocked. I rarely return items…..but after eating two teaspoons that is exactly what I did…returned it for a full refund..$4.49. I use Stevia so I am familiar with this sweetner….but OMG…this frozen dessert tasted so bad….just like medicine…I would not have cared about the consistency, but I can’t believe that this product is on the market….Who did the taste testing???

Nanette

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

63 Comments

  1. Wasted 70 bucks. This stuff is absolutely disgusting. I should have read the ingredients first and had I known water was the first ingredient I wouldn’t have ordered.. It’s just that, frozen flavored water. Waste of money and gross.

    • Rebecca Zeiter on

      This product is so very artifical tasting it’s disgusting. PLEASE don’t waste your money!! I’ll just go without ice cream..it is terrible!!

    • Agree I posted a review on there Facebook and the company blocked me so looks like you can only post positive reviews lol it’s was horrible I wasted money also

  2. I just ordered 11 so hope these reviews are t right. I don’t care for halo but these sounded good. Live and learn.

    • Halo is heaven compared to this crap. Should have just flushed my money down the crapper instead of going out of my way to track down this hateful stuff. The wink is for the fast one the seller pulled on us.

  3. Rebecca Fields on

    I’m sorry wink but I agreed that this “ice cream” taste terrible. I was so excited. Ever since I started keto all I’ve wanted was ice cream. And this is a huge disappointment. Since I paid almost 40 bucks with shipping I’m gonna force myself to eat it. But it’s gonna suck. Wish I had done my research before buying. It just looked so good 😣

    • i just got mine in….. melted… but still really cold… was thinking about adding hwc…

  4. Deborah Winter on

    Well, I JUST LOVE IT ! I do like the S’Mores and Dark Chocolate the best, and those have been the prominent ones in my past TWO orders!! I intend on keeping it as a staple in my freezer and will definitely try new flavors, maybe in the future ?:) I am not a real fan of the Vanilla, but it can be delicately flavored with maybe coconut or fruit for some different taste. I think the problem is for the non enthusiast is getting used to it especially if they have not changed their food consumption prior…. AND really making the decision to cut down on fattening foods where one just DOES IT and settles for the purpose of not gaining weight. I have been on a diet all my life, off and on (my hobby),,,, I certainly will try anything to help the chance of my yo-yoing out of control again and again ! BRAVO WINK and Thank you !

  5. Although I didn’t care for the texture at all, BUT I’m not sorry I bought 6 pints. A little bit in my Keto protein shake totally jazzed it up, mixed with the other ingredients I used I have something that resembles a milk shake more then a protein drink, I am good with that. I’ll probably have to buy more

  6. I wish I had thought to look for info like this review before I purchased. I am one of those Stevia “super tasters” and that’s all I taste, for hours after taking a few bites. Yuck! We all just need to constantly remind ourselves that if we have chosen to give up sugar and carbs there are no substitutes that will satisfy like the original.

    • I would warn you against the new dairy-free Halo Top then, too. I tried a bite and promptly returned it to the freezer. Overpowering bitterness and texture from protein powder. Just a heads up!

  7. Received mine last night,should have read reviews before I ordered the 11 pint special,so far everything I have tasted is nasty,don’t know how they sell it.I spent 75.00 for something you can’t even give away!Shame on you people for ripping people off like this!

  8. I wish I had read the reviews BEFORE ordering. I got all excited about it being low carb, and the flavors SOUNDED yummy…. alas, I just got four pints delivered today, and every one of them tastes terrible. They leave a horrid aftertaste as well. I can’t believe I’m about to toss out $30 worth of this stuff… well, live and learn. Really, it’s just gross tasting. And now, to make myself feel better after this disappointment I guess I”ll go out and get some Ben and Jerry’s or something really unhealthy! 🙂

  9. Okay, here it goes with my Wink review! I recently bought the cake batter (which I heard good things about) and I also got the cinnamon bun. I’m sorry to say, but these do not taste very good at all… I personally prefer Enlightened ice cream because it tastes like real ice cream.. these two flavors unfortunately tasted super chemically? HOWEVER! If you are desperate, and are simply trying to follow a low calorie/sugar diet, and you just need to have some ice cream.. then I would recommend just mixing this with some whip cream (like I did) and it actually wasn’t so bad hahaha. I was pretty bummed about these because I thought they would taste better 🙁 but when I mixed them with whip they were able to satisfy my sweet tooth without overindulging on the calories. I hope this review was useful to someone!

    • I am very disappointed with this product way to expensive to taste so badly. Don’t waste your money!

    • Agree that the taste is not good at all. Was really disappointed after ordering 4 different flavors. I should have listened to the Sharks on shark Tank (none of whom liked it.). The entrepreneurs seem very nice, but the product is not good.

      • I was so excited to think there was actually an ice cream type product that diabetics could eat. This is HORRIBLE! I couldn’t get past the smell!!! So expensive for such an awful taste. Just wasted $24.00 on something to throw in the trash!!!

  10. Joseph Cleveland on

    Tried several “flavors “, this stuff is terrible. Could not tell one from another. All the taste and consistency of a slushy mud puddle. Don’t waste your money.

  11. I tried Arctic Zero and I liked it, so I got WINK today (Dark Chocolate). It is so BAD!!! I do not understand how people can sell it, and so expensive. I literally eat everything, open minded, and have no allergies, but this is just the worst thing I have ever tried in my life. Horrible.

  12. Warren Anderson on

    My family tried Wink. It is not meant to be ice cream. So you can’t compare it. If one is on a heart healthy diet or no sugar diet this is healthy. It does take some getting use too. I actually mix Wink with the Halo brand 240 ice cream which is relatively healthy that increases the sugar to 12 grams per pint. Hopefully I can get use to the Wink alone at some point. You only eat Wink if you have to for health reasons.

  13. Wink Frozen Desert is the most disgusting thing I’ve ever consumed. Totally gross. I gave the 4 pints I bought to someone else, and they agreed, GROSS.

  14. Your review is the only remotely positive one I’ve heard about these pints… they were on the show Shark Tank, and the sharks all spit out the products live on-air.

    • Oh goodness, that is not a positive sign! I’ve read some pretty big raves from people who do eat sugar-free desserts, so I wanted to offer perspective 🙂