Zego Bars first caught my attention at the Food Allergy Blogger Conference. One of the founders, Colleen, was there, proudly offering samples and explaining their very unique Allergen Safety Program.
Each bar has a smartphone scannable “Z-Code” on the package which gives the top allergen and gluten test results for that specific batch. Talk about transparent! Specifically, you will get results for gluten, dairy, egg, peanuts, cashews, almonds, pecans, hazelnuts, pistachios, walnuts, soy, and GMOs. From what I saw, they’re pretty much all clear thanks to their stringent allergen policies – but scan for yourself, of course.
Tasting Notes for Zego Bars
As for the Zego Bars experience, they have a Power Bar-esque texture – soft, but not quite as chewy. The Sunflower variety has whole sunflower seeds throughout. The Fudgy Chocolate is very similar, but with crunchy cacao nibs instead. But unlike Power Bars, the ingredients in Zego Bars are above and beyond in quality. Each bite is packed with organic sunflower seeds, chia protein, pea protein, quinoa and sprouted flax. They’re sweetened simply with tapioca syrup and coconut syrup (9 to 10 grams each of protein and sugars).
In terms of taste, I liked the Sunflower Zego Bars a little better. It seemed to have more of a peanut butter-like flavor and an uptick that struck me as honey. The Chocolate Zego Bars are very cacao, not semi-sweet as many would expect. They have a mellow, nourishing vibe. I rated them a “good” overall. Tony found them to be “okay”. But Caroline was wowed. She has actually become quite addicted to them, and added them to her daily diet:
Zego bars fill me up and I’m never left with a grumbling stomach. The chocolate flavor was my favorite, but the sunflower has now taken the lead. The denseness of the bar for both taste and practicality pleased me. It’s nice that when they float around on the bottom on my purse they don’t crumble or get crushed!
The Facts on Zego Bars
Certifications: Zego Bars are Certified Organic, Certified Gluten Free, Certified Vegan, Certified Kosher Parve, and Certified by EcoCert.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Zego Bars are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Zego website at www.zegosnacks.com.