Peanut Brittle


Special Diet Notes: Peanut Brittle

By ingredients, this recipe is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, vegan, and plant-based.

Peanut Brittle
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • ½ cup light corn syrup
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • ¼ cup water
  • 1 cup peanuts
  • 2 tablespoons dairy free margarine or butter alternative (such as Earth Balance), softened
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  1. Grease a large cookie sheet. Set aside.
  2. In a heavy 2 quart saucepan, over medium heat, bring the sugar, corn syrup, salt, and water to a boil. Stir until sugar is dissolved. Stir in peanuts. Set candy thermometer in place, and continue cooking. Stir frequently until temperature reaches 300º F (150º C), or until a small amount of mixture dropped into very cold water separates into hard and brittle threads.
  3. Remove from heat; immediately stir in butter or margarine and baking soda; pour at once onto cookie sheet. With 2 forks, lift and pull peanut mixture into rectangle about 14x12 inches; cool.
  4. Snap candy into pieces.


About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. I made two batches of this because I burned the peanuts a little bit trying to get a little deeper caramel color the first time. Even the slightly burned batch was still tasty, however. I might try adding the peanuts once the sugar is almost done next time to see if i can get the nice rich caramel color with less done peanuts. Just remember the sugar keeps cooking even after you take it off the heat!

    Overall everything turned out great and it was fairly simple to do (I didn’t even use a thermometer the second time because I knew what the sugar looked and felt like after the first go). This is going in my Christmas gift baskets. Thanks for sharing!

  2. White sugar is not considered vegan due to the bleaching process which animal bones are used. Maybe a light cane sugar can be used?

    • Rebecca, you are in luck, many brands of white sugar are in fact vegan. Look for beet sugar instead of cane sugar (both are marketed as “white sugar” and hard to tell apart by taste or look), or cane sugar that is specifically labeled as vegan. There are many such brands.

Leave A Reply

Rate this recipe: