What many people don’t know is that kettle corn is a traditionally dairy-free treat. Unfortunately, some brands do choose to add dairy for a buttery flavor. But old-fashioned homemade kettle corn is easy to make, and doesn’t require any dairy or top allergens for that matter. It’s a great speedy option for holiday parties, whether serving little ghosts or goblins, hosting appetizers and drinks, or fending off hungry appetites before the big feast.
Special Diet Notes: Homemade Kettle Corn
By ingredients, this recipe is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, optionally peanut-free, optionally soy-free, vegan, vegetarian, and top food allergy-friendly.
- Pour the oil into a heavy pot with high sides over medium heat. Add 3 popcorn kernels. When the kernels pop, the oil is ready.
- Add the remaining popcorn and sprinkle with the sugar and salt (if using). Immediately cover the pot.
- Frequently lift and shake the pot as the popcorn pops.
- Once the popping has slowed, remove the pot from the heat.
- Pour the popcorn out onto a piece of parchment paper or a silicone baking mat to cool before serving.
Key Ingredients & Supplies: Homemade Kettle Corn