A & J Bakery Issues Milk Allergen Alert on Dark Chocolate Bunnies


The A & J Bakery of Cranston, Rhode Island, has voluntarily recalled their 5oz chocolate Easter bunnies because they may contain milk. Milk was not used as an ingredient in the dark-chocolate bunny, but the ingredients came from a plant where milk is used.

The Health Department received a complaint on Tuesday from a parent who said her child has a milk allergy and had a reaction to a dark-chocolate bunny, according to spokesman Peter Hanney. The bunny was wrapped in cellophane with a label that said, “dairy-free, nut-free, egg-free.” The child was treated with Benadryl and was reportedly okay.

A & J is cooperating fully and recalled the bunnies voluntarily. None was sold over the Internet. Health inspectors will return to the bakery Monday to complete their investigation, Hanney said.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply