Updated February 2022! We’ve had a few readers mention how much they love Rita’s Italian Ice. This popular chain has been been making fresh Italian ice with real fruit since 1984. Over the years, they’ve added some cream and custard options to their menu, which obviously contain dairy. But their selection of dairy-free ice flavors is still massive, and they even have some tasty vegan toppings, too.
Dairy-Free & Vegan Menu Guide to Rita’s Italian Ice Shops
We didn’t list out all of the dairy-free ice flavors because there are so many of them! If you can’t decide, order an ice flight with your top four picks.
Other Allergen & Dietary Notes: All of the items listed below are made without eggs, and all are vegan-friendly, except the gummy bears. We’ve noted the items that contain peanut, soy, tree nuts, or wheat.
- Classic Ice: All flavors are dairy-free, except Chocolate Chocolate Chip. (the peanut butter flavors contain peanut and soy and the Tropical Daiquiri flavor contains tree nuts)*
- All-Natural Ice: All flavors are dairy-free and made without top allergens!*
- Sugar-Free Ice: All flavors are dairy-free and made without top allergens!*
Heads Up! All Italian Ice flavors can be blended into smoothies. All Cream Ice flavors at Rita’s contain dairy. Their Frozen Custard flavors and treats also contain dairy.
*At time of our review, most recently in February 2022. New flavors could be added at any time.
Toppings & Mix-ins
- Apple Pie Filling
- Brownie Batter Bites (contains soy, wheat)
- Cookie Dough Bites (contains soy, wheat)
- Maraschino Cherries
- Mini Gummy Bears (not vegan)
- Oreo Cookies (contains soy, wheat)
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Sauce (contains soy, peanut)
- Sprinkles, Chocolate (contains soy)
- Sprinkles, Glitter
- Sprinkles, Rainbow (contains soy)
- Sprinkles, Super Hero Mix (contains soy)
- Strawberry Topping (contains soy)
- Wet Walnuts
Heads Up! Some items have “may contain” warnings for top allergens via the manufacturer. Speak with the staff if you are concerned about potential cross contamination. For example, all of the Glitters and the Strawberry Topping have a “may contain” warning for the top allergens, including milk. See our May Contain Guide to understand what this means.
- Cake Cones (contains soy, wheat)
- Waffle Cone (NOT fresh-baked, see note below) (contains soy, wheat)
- Waffle Bowl (NOT fresh-baked, see note below) (contains soy, wheat)
Heads Up! Each Rita’s store has the option to fresh bake their own waffle cones and waffle bowls, or buy them premade from from a set vendor. The fresh-baked waffle cones and bowls contain dairy and eggs, but the premade waffle cones and bowls are dairy-free and egg-free. Ask in store to find out which one they offer.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.
Where to Find Rita’s Italian Ice
They have over 500 locations in 30 U.S. states. See their website below for addresses, hours, their full allergen menu, and contact information.
Average Reader Review
Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant
What Others Are Saying ...
Amazing dairy free frozen treat option