The world of dairy-free cheese has taken a step back from complicated formulas, in an attempt to perfect flavors and consistencies with far simpler, and in most cases healthier, ingredients. Treeline Treenut Cheese is definitely at the forefront of this delicious revolution.
Sold in cute little tubs, each flavor of Treeline Treenut Cheese boasts the same base ingredients: Cashew nuts, filtered water, sea salt, lemon juice, and vegan L. Acidophilus. Seriously, that’s it! The cashews are blended and spiked with probiotics and cultured for maximum nutritional benefit. Unlike many other cashew-based items, the serving size is surprisingly generous and fulfilling, without being overly heavy or calorie dense.
Tasting Notes for Soft Treeline Treenut Cheese
The texture is also consistent across the varieties – thick and rich, but quite spreadable. As the label states, they are indeed creamy. Though they have a slight “powdery” finish that easily occurs with hand-crafted cashew goodies.
But where the soft Treeline Treenut Cheese options differ, is in their flavors. We sampled the following:
Savory and pungent with somewhat bold scallion/onion notes. The taste was good, but tended to be a little too tangy at times. There is great potential with this one for use in recipes. A little less “lemon” and a little more “oomph” in the flavor depth would lend a creamier, more addictive aftertaste.
Surprisingly not that peppery. The subtle spice mellowed the tang just enough to provide a little more body and versatility. Liked this one on salads, as a spread, and for making salad dressing.
Perhaps my favorite for spreading! The tang in this one is tempered a bit more by the delicious heat that is notably spicy yet deep and flavorful rather than straight-up hot.
The Facts on the Soft Treeline Treenut Cheese
Certifications: The Soft, French-Style Treeline Treenut Cheese varieties are labeled as gluten-free, vegan and non-GMO, but we didn’t note any certifications.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, the Soft, French-Style Treeline Treenut Cheese flavors are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, paleo, vegan, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Treeline Treenut Cheese website at www.treelinecheese.com.