Where has Hero Nutritionals been hiding? This dairy-free gummy vitamins company has covered their allergy-friendly bases:
All of our products are manufactured in an allergen free room and contain no yeast, wheat, milk, eggs, soy, gluten, salt, peanuts, tree nuts, shellfish, artificial colors, artificial flavors, salicylates, or preservatives.
They offer two major gummy product lines: Yummi Bears (for kids) and Slice of Life (for adults), which are essentially the same taste wise, but vary in their shape and vitamin content. The product lines are further broken down to include “regular,” sugar-free, and organic varieties, in a myriad of supplement needs. All are still dairy-free, gluten-free, and allergy-friendly.
We sampled the Vitamin D3 2000IU Slice of Life Sugar-Free Gummy Vitamins, which had a tropical fruit flavor and just 5 calories per generously-sized vitamin, and the Vitamin D3 1000IU Sugar-Free Yummi Bears with a similar profile, but in a fruit punch flavor and smaller size for little mouths.
They do offer calcium gummy vitamins, too, but I wanted to highlight a less celebrated health hero, vitamin D. Vitamin D is actually a key component to strong dairy-free bones, and it’s especially important as we head into the dark winter months. Our primary source of natural vitamin D is the sun (our bodies synthesize it when we soak up some rays). Many doctors now recommend supplementation when adequate sunshine isn’t obtained (keep this in mind year round you sunscreen slatherers!).
But back to those Hero Gummy Vitamins … we liked the tropical fruit adult ones best, but both offered a nice little punch of candy-like goodness. I do crave some hits of sweet throughout the day, so why not get my vitamins at the same time? I’ll be honest, my well-trained taste buds were on high alert with these sugar-free gummy vitamins, and could definitely tell that they weren’t sweetened with sugar. The sweetness from lo han fruit extract is still growing on me. It has an almost stevia-like vibe. But, I still enjoyed them and they did make taking my vitamins more fun!
I truly think the concept behind these gummy vitamins is genius, and I was further impressed with the companies non-GMO stance.
And just when I thought they had slipped up, most of their products are not vegan (they contain gelatin), I spotted their Vegetarian line. The vegetarian gummies are gelatin-free, but still uses vitamin D3. I would check with them to see if the source is vegan, since there are vegan sources of vitamin D3 available.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, these gummies are dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, and generally allergy-friendly (see their allergy policy above). Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Hero Nutritionals website at www.heronutritionals.com.