Silk Holiday Nog

4
Product by:
Whitewave Foods
Version:
Nog
Price:
$2.99 per quart

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
On November 19, 2014
Last modified:November 19, 2014

Summary:

If soy isn't a problem for you, then I think you will find Silk's Nog seasonal beverage delightful. Made with whole, non-GMO soybeans, it has a delightfully sweet flavor that tasted more like dairy-based "nog" than most other dairy-free brands. But, it's far lower in fat and even has less sugars than traditional eggnog. And though we sampled this beverage before the holidays kicked into full swing, it reminded all of our tasters of Christmas, cookie baking, and festivities.

Long ago, Silk had a few holiday beverages, including those ever-so-popular Pumpkin Spice and Mint Chocolate flavors. But in recent years, they scaled back their seasonal offerings to focus solely on Silk Holiday Nog.

Silk Holiday Nog - Dairy-Free Soymilk-Based Seasonal Beverage

I think it could have been a good move, as Silk Holiday Nog really is a classic. It is soymilk based, and thus not a good option for the soy-free set. But Silk Holiday Nog is dairy-free, gluten-free, vegan, made with non-GMO whole soybeans, and respectable in the sweetener department (just 11 grams of sugars per dessert-like cup), making it a great seasonal treat for many.

As for the taste, I let two friends who can drink traditional dairy eggnog weight in first. Caroline immediately proclaimed, “it tastes like Christmas!”. Raechelle said, “this tastes the most like eggnog that I would buy at the store … a little too sweet, but good”. Finally pouring myself a glass and enjoying a sip, I concurred with both. It was slightly thinner than I expected, more like a 2% milk than a light cream, but still full-bodied and rich enough to call an indulgence. The flavor was sweet with a definite “nog” vibe that made me think of baking cookies while the snow falls outside.

Silk Holiday Nog: Seasonal Dairy-Free Soymilk Beverage (non-GMO Verified)

Certifications: Silk Holiday Nog is Non-GMO Verified.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Silk Holiday Nog is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, verify on the label and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes, ingredients, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Silk website at www.silk.com.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

4 Comments

  1. This is my favorite beverage of all time! I’m pretty sure I’m our county’s #1 consumer of Silk Nog lol. Next time at the only store I know carries it, I’m going to stock up on whatever is left in the case. Awesome blossom 😀

  2. This egg nog was extremely hard to find at Christmas time. I was only able to find one. Publix in Florida has it now but I can not find it anywhere in the Boston area. Seeing how popular it was could you please stock them all year? I’m sure it would sell out everytime. Love to put it in my coffee!

  3. I’m glad they changed the name from Soy Nog to Silk Holiday Nog. That being said, I LOVE it!! I can’t believe that it doesn’t have any eggs in it, let alone no “dairy” either. And it isn’t really thick like regular eggnog, which means that I don’t have to thin it down ( I used to mix regular milk in my full flavored eggnog to thin it down). This is awesome stuff!!

  4. Stephanie Jensen on

    My husband found the soy nog for me last year. It is pretty good. I bought some again this year. I am hoping that the supply doesn’t run out.

Leave A Reply