Baja Fresh – Wrapping Up Dairy-Free Burritos and Tacos

4

Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and SweetsUpdated 2021! Baja Fresh is a fast-Mex franchise with locations in the United States, Dubai, and Singapore. They unfortunately got rid of their extensive allergen chart online, but might still offer it in store.

We had to painstakingly go through each item on the Baja Fresh site to put this list together, so hopefully it’s helpful for you! But as usual, always double check at the restaurant! Some items could be different at your location.

Baja Fresh - Dairy-Free Menu Items and Allergen Notes

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

Menu Items

  • Shareables Chips & Salsa, Guacamole & Chips
  • BurritosBurrito Mexicano (see protein options below), Baja Burrito (no cheese, see protein options below), Diablo Burrito (no cheese, see protein options below)
  • TacosBaja Taco (see protein options below), Americano Taco (no cheese, see protein options below), Grilled Shrimp Taco, Crispy Wahoo Taco, Fire Grilled Wahoo Taco
  • Salads – Grilled Shrimp Chile Lime (no cheese), Baja Ensalada (no cheese, dairy-free dressing)
  • Other Entrees – Baja Bowl (see protein options below), Fajitas (no sour cream, no cheese, see protein options below)

Components to Help Customize Your Order

  • ProteinsSteak, Steak & Shrimp, Shrimp, Grilled Wahoo, Crispy Wahoo, Pork Carnitas, Roasted Veggies, Black Beans, Pinto Beans
  • Other Ingredients – Avocado Slices, Cilantro Onion Mix, Diced Tomato, Salad Lettuce, Veggies, Grilled Onions & Peppers, Tortilla Strips, Corn Tortillas, Flour Tortillas, Whole Wheat Tortilla, Baja Rice
  • Sauces & Dressings – Guacamole, Spicy Diablo Sauce, Molcajete Salsa, Pico de Gallo, Salsa Baja, Mango Salsa, Salsa Verde, Chili Lime Dressing, Olive Oil Vinaigrette

More Allergen Information for Baja Fresh

  • As of 2021, it looks like their chicken now contains milk.
  • Baja Fresh likes to sprinkle cojita cheese on their beans, and sometimes just on your meal. Make sure you specify no cheese on your order.
  • Soy is used in their beans (both types) and soy and wheat are used in their steak.
  • The grilled wahoo, shrimp, and carnitas at Baja Fresh appear to be made without soy or wheat.
  • Their corn tortillas (used on the tacos) also appear to be made without wheat or gluten.
  • Baja Fresh previously listed their Six Chiles Salsa as dairy free, but now the company says both the “Crema” version and the regular salsa contain dairy.
  • Baja Fresh no longer shares information about their breakfast online, but they might have it available in some locations. If they do, check on the Bacon, Baja Papas, and Sausage. Those were previously dairy free.

Baja Fresh - Dairy-Free Menu Items and Allergen Notes

More Details from Baja Fresh

Allergen Disclaimer from Baja Fresh: Please be aware that Baja Fresh® products may contain traces of allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, soybeans, wheat, milk, eggs) or food sensitivities from a manufacturing facility and preparation on site. The Allergen information Baja Fresh® has provided is based on standard product formulations. Product variations may occur based on regional differences, ingredient substitutions, seasonal conditions, differences in product production at the store and suppliers.

Restaurant Website: www.bajafresh.com

Allergen information: No longer available online or direct from the company. Some information available on the website or via direct inquiry.

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant. 

Last Updated: February 22, 2021

Average Reader Review

0
Rated 0 out of 5
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)
Excellent0%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

4 Comments

  1. Great site! Recently became allergic so finding it very useful! Do they say if the guacamole is dairy free by chance? I have asked and they claim it is, but its awfully creamy to not contain some sour cream… Thanks!

    • Hi, Dale!

      I copied this information directly from the allergen chart Baja Fresh sent me, and guacamole isn’t listed anywhere on the chart. I wrote back to them and will post whatever information they send.

    • Dale,
      Baja Fresh replied and stated that none of their guacamole contains dairy. They are testing a new guacamole recipe in a few markets, but the it does not contain dairy, either.