Updated 2020! Chipotle Mexican Grill has over 2000 locations in the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Germany, and France. They specialize in San Francisco-style burritos, and have numerous options for dairy-free diners and other special diet needs. In fact, they’ve recently put paleo, whole30, and vegan bowls right on their main menu.
We’ve got the details on those bowls, and ingredient and allergen information so you can build your own meal.
Chipotle Mexican Grill Bowls Over Dairy-Free Diners with Dietary Options
This year, Chipotle has added new “Lifestyle Bowls” to their menu. They’re crafted from ingredients the brand already serves, but cater to different dietary needs. And they include the following dairy-free options:
- Whole30 Salad Bowl: carnitas, romaine lettuce, fajita veggies, tomato salsa, and guacamole.
- Paleo Salad Bowl: barbacoa, romaine lettuce, fajita veggies, green salsa, and guacamole.
- Vegan Bowl: plant-based sofritas, brown rice, black beans, tomato salsa, chili-corn salsa and lettuce.
No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients at Chipotle (see disclaimer below)
But you don’t have to order a prefix bowl at Chipotle. You can build your own non-dairy burrito, taco, salad, or bowl with the ingredients below. The menus and allergen charts across the different countries appear to be close to identical. So this list might be relevant for Chipotle worldwide. Nonetheless, I’ve included links to the allergen charts we could find in the next section, so you can verify.
- Tortilla Products – Soft Flour Tortillas (Burrito & Taco), Crispy Corn Tortilla (Taco), Tortilla Chips
- Meat and Tofu – Barbacoa, Carne Asada, Carnitas, Chicken, Chorizo, Steak, Sofritas (vegan tofu with sofrito herbs & spices)
- Other Toppings – Black Beans, Pinto Beans, Cilantro-Lime Rice (White & Brown), Fajita Vegetables, Romaine Lettuce
- Sauces – All Salsas (Roasted Chili-Corn, Tomatillo-Green Chili, Tomatillo-Red Chili, Fresh Tomato), Chipotle Honey Vinaigrette, Guacamole
Other Allergen Notes
- At last check, Queso (sauce), Cheese, and Sour Cream were the only dairy-containing items.
- According to Chipotle’s website, they do not use eggs (except at locations where breakfast is available), mustard, peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, shellfish, or fish as ingredients in their food.
- Gluten-free diners (or those who don’t want a burrito) can order any of the burritos as a bowl (no tortilla, layered in a bowl), salad (no tortilla, layered in a bowl over greens), or as crispy tacos. At last check, their flour tortillas were the only menu items that contain gluten.
- It looks like the vegan Sofritos is the only menu item that contains soy.
Vegan Menu Items at Chipotle
Obviously, the meats, cheeses, sour cream, and honey vinaigrette are not vegan. But the other menu items are, including tortillas, both types of beans, rice, fajita vegetables, raw vegetables, salsas, and guacamole.
More Details from Chipotle Mexican Grill
Allergen Disclaimer from Chipotle Mexican Grill: Individual foods may come into contact with one another during preparation, which is not reflected on this chart. Although we do not use eggs, mustard, peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, shellfish, or fish as ingredients in our food, Chipotle cannot guarantee the complete absence of these allergens in its restaurants.
Restaurant Website: www.chipotle.com
Allergen Information for the United States: www.chipotle.com/allergens
Allergen Information for Canada: chipotle.ca/allergens
Allergen Information for the United Kingdom: chipotle.co.uk/allergens
Last Updated: January 2, 2020
Average Reader Review
Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant
What Others Are Saying ...
Needs a Guac Option + Very Salty
We used to love Chipotle, but their food kept getting saltier and saltier. We had to drink Emergen-Cs every time we ate it just to re-hydrate because plain water wasn’t enough. But my other complaint is that they charge the same when you order no cheese and no sour cream and don’t offer an alternative like guacamole.