Dairy Queen – Non-Dairy Dilly Bars add to their Big Dairy-Free Menu

32

Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and SweetsUpdated 2021! Dairy Queen is most known for ice cream, but they also offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner fare. In the past, their dairy-free menu items were limited, but now they have quite a few options for non-dairy diners of all ages. In fact, they even have dairy-free ice cream bars!

In addition to numerous savory menu items (listed below!), Dairy Queen made one of their iconic desserts accessible to dairy-free guests. Dilly Bars have been served at Dairy Queen since 1955, and last year, they launched a vegan version. The Non-Dairy Dilly Bar is made with vegan coconut “ice cream” and covered with dairy-free chocolate. You can see the full ingredient list below.

Dairy Queen Dairy-Free Menu Guide - New Non-Dairy Dilly Bars

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

  • Breakfast items (select locations) – Bacon, Ham, Hashbrowns, Sausages, Steak Fingers, Chicken Strips
  • Burgers (see Allergen Notes) Hamburger, Double Burger (no cheese), GrillBurger (no cheese), Bacon GrillBurger (no cheese), Flamethrower GrillBurger (no cheese)
  • Chicken – Chicken Strips, Rotisserie Style Chicken Bites, Grilled Chicken Sandwich, Crispy Chicken Sandwich
  • Hot Dogs – Classic Hot Dog, Chili Dog
  • Local Favorites – BBQ Sandwich, Wild Alaskan Fish Sandwich
  • Salads – Rotisserie-Style Chicken Bites Salad Bowl (no cheese), Crispy Chicken Strips Salad (no cheese) Side Salad
  • Kids’ Meals – Applesauce, Banana, Chicken Strips, Kids’ Fries, Hamburger, Hot Dog
  • Sides – Fries, Lays Potato Chips (Original, BBQ), Oven Baked Lays Original Potato Crisps, Side Salad
  • Dipping Sauces – BBQ, Honey Mustard, Wild Buffalo
  • Dressings(all Marzetti brand) Balsamic Vinaigrette, Dijon Honey Mustard, Fat Free California French Style, Honey French, Light Italian, Thousand Island
  • Frozen Treats – Misty Slush, Starkiss Popsicles, Non-Dairy Dilly Bars
  • Sweet Toppings (but no dairy-free ice cream – yet!) – Brownie Pieces, Chocolate Topping (not Fudge), OREO Cookie Pieces, Peanut Butter Topping, Pineapple Topping, Strawberry Topping, Vanilla Syrup (for coffee)

Other Allergen Notes

  • Dairy Queen uses soybean oil for frying and items are prepared in a shared fryer (their Onion Rings and Cheese Curds contain milk) to the best of our knowledge.
  • Although the Misty Slush drinks are made without dairy, the Misty Freezes contain milk. So do all of their smoothies.
  • Their Plain Bun is listed as dairy-free, and we confirmed with Dairy Queen that their Split Top Bun (used on the GrillBurgers) is also dairy-free by ingredients.
  • The Pretzel Sticks at Dairy Queen appear to be dairy-free when ordered without the Queso, but verify with the staff.
  • In 2020, they changed the labeling on their Eggs – they now state that they contain milk.
  • Dairy Queen used to have Orange Julius menu items inside some of their locations, but we’ve been informed that these have been phased out.

Dairy Queen Non-Dairy Dilly Bar Ingredients

You can pick up a Non-Dairy Dilly Bar (or a whole box – recommended!) at Dairy Queen locations nationwide. Below is the full ingredient list.

Frozen dessert (water, sugar, corn syrup, maltodextrin, coconut oil, coconut cream, contains 2% or less of vanilla extract, xanthan gum, guar gum, carrageenan, carob bean gum, mono & diglycerides); Coating (coconut oil, sugar, cocoa processed with alkali, corn starch, soy lecithin, salt, natural flavors).

Dairy Queen Dairy-Free Menu Guide - New Non-Dairy Dilly Bars

More Details from Dairy Queen

Allergen Disclaimer from Dairy Queen: DQ locations contain allergens that may come into contact with our food. Since allergens are present in every DQ location and cross-contact can easily occur, we cannot guarantee any item to be allergen free or the accuracy of the data as it relates to prepared menu items at a location. We suggest you inform the restaurant of any allergies prior to ordering and ask to see the ingredient listing on the packaging for the product you would like to purchase.

Restaurant Website: www.dairyqueen.com

Allergen Information: www.dairyqueen.com/us-en/Company/Nutrition

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information. Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation. For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information. If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products. Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.

Last Updated: February 13, 2021

Average Reader Review

4
Rated 4 out of 5
4 out of 5 stars (based on 18 reviews)
Excellent56%
Very good22%
Average5%
Poor0%
Terrible17%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

Bring non dairy back!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 21, 2020

I was so excited to find out Dairy Queen carried a non dairy option! After 33 years of not being able to enjoy going anymore, I could go back! I could take my grandson and enjoy a treat myself! Now, last week I go in to purchase another box just to have the Manager tell me they won’t be able to order anymore! Why???? Non-dairy lives matter!

Tracy L Foraker

Article helps but husband really wants soft serve non dairy ice cream

Rated 4 out of 5
September 8, 2020

Would love it if you could come up with one that works

Beth

Response from Go Dairy Free

You can contact Dairy Queen to request this. It’s all about demand! There are also many other places that offer dairy-free soft serve locally. See our restaurant guide – we’re currently in the process of revamping it -> https://www.godairyfree.org/eating-out/restaurants

Vegan Gluten-Free Dilly Bar YUM!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 6, 2020

I crave DQ’s dairy free dilly bar. It’s so delicious!!!

Ruth

Great Resource!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 5, 2020

Thank you for this article, it is such a great resource to have on hand! I had no idea there were so many options, and I appreciate the extensive information you have given. Really takes out the guesswork!

Kristen Kellogg

Response from Go Dairy Free

Happy to help!

Dairy free dilly bar

Rated 5 out of 5
August 1, 2020

Looking forward to more dairy free ice cream choices.

Chrissy

Dairy free

Rated 5 out of 5
July 13, 2020

LOVE the Dairy Free Dilly Bars!! Hoping there will be dairy free blizzards soon!!

HNR

I can have dessert with my family again!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 18, 2020

Since I found out I was lactose intolerant a few years ago, I have been leaving Dairy Queen with only dessert for my family. But now, with these new Dairy Free Dilly Bars, I can enjoy a sweet treat as well! They are really good, too! My only caution for others is that they melt faster than their dairy full counterparts, so have the napkins ready! Thank you so much for adding these to your menu.

Amy

Non Dairy Dilly Bars

Rated 5 out of 5
June 16, 2020

Thank you so much for offering the NonDairy Vegan Dilly Bar. Tried it for the first time, as I did not know you had it. Very good. Thank you. Looking forward to more gluten free soy free vegan non dairy selections. Please continue your healthy offerings.

F Z

Dairy Queen

Rated 5 out of 5
June 10, 2020

I love Dairy Queen! The bbq pork sandwich is the best.

Tracy Tucker

Not available

Rated 1 out of 5
May 28, 2020

Been to 3 Dairy Queen’s in El Paso. Today (May 28, 2020) the girl hands me a normal dilly bar and tells me “it doesn’t say on the package, but it’s dairy free”. Horrible job lol. It clearly says he ingredients in the back. None the less, excited for when they do get in the non dairy version.

NADIa Ornelas

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

32 Comments

  1. carol schaedel on

    Hi…my 92 year old father is lactose intolerant. My granddaughter works at a Dairy Queen and made him an ice cream cone and he gobbled it down! He must have had a craving for something sweet! Well, he never got sick and didn’t have stomach pains after eating.

  2. Pingback: Orange Julius: Dairy-Free Menu Options and Allergen Notes

  3. I went to dairy queen this morning to order eggs. They cook their eggs in butter. So technically not dairy free.

  4. Does Dairy Queen have non dairy ice cream…what can I order in non dairy ice cream…my teenager is going there with a group of friend and doesn’t want to get embarrassed…please help.any smoothie, ice cream just trying to help my teenager…please name the items she can order..

  5. Rosemarie Heimann on

    For health reasons, I am wanting to know if the chocolate in the soft-serve ice cream is real or artificial and does the artificial have caffeine in it.

    • Yes they do have milk in them an whey i have an foster son an i have been looking at every thing

  6. why don’t they use lactaid milk for there shakes more people could drink shakes and other products?

    • Lactaid is real milk, which means it has dairy. Those with a dairy allergy cannot have it. All it is is cows milk with the lactose (milk sugar) removed.

  7. According to the current chart the 3 chicken strips are dairy free. So plain chicken strips are safe taking into account cross-contamination.

  8. Michael Hansen on

    Does Dairy Queen ice cream contain regular dairy reduced fat and nonfat milk or coconut milk ?
    I was under the impression that coconut milk was used in all their ice cream. I have had gut problems recently and was wondering if Dairy Queen changed their recipe to dairy milk.

    • Alice, see the allergen chart referenced via the link. According to DQ, the Flamethrower Chicken sandwich does not contain dairy/cheese, but this is a “may contain” by location.

  9. I am vegan and I came here looking to see if I can get anything anything at dairy queen like I can get daiquiri sorbet at baskin and robbins.I saw on PETA’s website that the StarKiss Bars are supposed to be vegan too yet when I visited the Dairy Queen website and looked at the allergy information for treats (m) for milk is now listed on both of the starkiss bars. I guess maybe now they add milk to them? unless it is a mistake on the allergy information? so be careful with those.Dairy Queen allergy info-http://www.dairyqueen.com/PageFiles/5144/US%20Treat%202013%20Q2.pdf

    • Hi Kelley, see our post above, which states that they “may contain” milk due to cross-contamination, but do not have milk in the ingredients. The (M) on the allergen chart is a “may contain” warning not an actual “contains”. You can see an explanation on the allergen chart that you have also linked to, but which can be accessed via our links above.

    • Theresa gleeson on

      I just went to dairy queen and the starkiss bars allergy label says contains milk

  10. DQ has recently changed their frozen drink menu. They now carry light smoothies which are dairy free and come in about twelve diferent flavors.