Long John Silvers

0

Long John Silvers is a seafood fast restaurant chain in the U.S. with a love for deep frying. Surprisingly, their batter is made without dairy, so several of their main dishes made our list.

Long John Silvers  - Dairy-Free Menu Items and Allergen Notes

No Dairy (Milk-Based) Ingredients (see disclaimer below)

  • Seafood – Battered Alaskan Pollock, Battered Cod, Battered Shrimp, Baja Fish Taco, Baked Cod, Baked Shrimp, Crispy Fish Sandwich
  • Chicken – Battered Chicken Tenders
  • Condiments & Sauces – Baja Sauce, Cocktail Sauce, BBQ Sauce, Tartar Sauce, Honey Mustard Sauce, Ketchup, Malt Vinegar, Louisiana Hot Sauce, Sweet & Zesty Asian Sauce
  • Sides – Coleslaw, Cut Corn, Seasoned Green Beans
  • Specialty Drinks – Iceflow Lemonade, Iceflow Strawberry Lemonade

Other Allergen Notes: The Batter at Long John Silvers is currently made without milk, but the Breading contains milk. They are used on different menu items. Also, their allergen labeling says that their Fries contain milk, but there are no milk-based ingredients that we can see. We assume that all of their fried foods are cooked in the same fryer, but it is possible that the Battered items are cooked separately and the Fries are cooked in the Breaded fryer. Check at the location if potential allergen cross-contamination is a concern for you.

More Details from Long John Silvers

Allergen Disclaimer for Long John Silvers: They do not have a specific allergen disclaimer, but it is important to assume that allergen cross-contamination can occur in any restaurant environment, and Long John Silvers does use dairy and other allergens in their kitchen. As mentioned above, a shared fryer might be used for the different menu items, too.

Restaurant Website: www.longjohnsilvers.com

Allergen Informationwww.ljsilvers.com/nutrition (click on the Ingredients List)

*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information.  Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation.  For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information.  If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products.  Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant. 

Last Updated: November 24, 2017

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Senior Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply