Updated February 2023! At first, we were impressed that O’Charley’s had a very detailed allergen menu. But we soon discovered it was quite chaotic, and a bit limited in dairy-free options. They do offer a good selection of surf and turf without any milk, but sides and other dishes a little more effort. Fortunately, we’ve been told by readers that O’Charley’s staff is accommodating. So with the quick dairy-free menu guide below and help from your server, you should be able to enjoy a satisfying dairy-free meal.
O’Charley’s Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Custom Order & Allergen Options
Please note that there are some errors on O’Charley’s allergen chart. We’ve done our best to correct for these below. Be aware of special order requirements in parentheses () next to the menu items, and see the Heads Up notes to help fill in the blanks.
Fryer Note: O’Charley’s randomly lists some non-dairy items as containing milk due to potential cross-contamination in the fryer (like their French fries) but not other items (like the pickle chips). Please assume that they use shared fryers. But also know that all items are prepared in a kitchen that handles milk ingredients.
Other Allergen & Dietary Notes: All items listed below are made without peanuts or tree nuts. They use soy oil at O’Charley’s, so almost every menu item lists some form of soy. We have labeled all items below that contain egg or gluten. O’Charley’s vegan options are extremely limited. At this time, a plain baked potato, fresh fruit, and dry toast at brunch are about the only options. They might be able to do a custom order salad, but it will be more like a side.
- Crispy Pickle Chips (contains egg, gluten)
Heads Up! Though not a stand-alone item on the menu, they do have tortilla chips and salsa available. Double check with the staff that these are dairy free if requesting. Unfortunately, the “famous” chicken tenders at O’Charley’s do contain milk. Please note that they state the Shrimp & Stuffed Crab are made without milk on their website, but this dish is “buttermilk fried.”
Entrees (without Sides)
- Top Sirloin
- Baby Back Ribs
- Bone-In Pork Chops
- Cedar-Planked Salmon
- Fresh Atlantic Grilled Salmon – Plain, Blackened, Chipotle (chipotle contains gluten)
- Combo – BBQ Pork Chop & Baby Back Ribs
- Combo – Steak & Salmon
- Combo – Steak & Baby Back Ribs
Heads Up! The Ribeye is listed as milk-free, but they do top it with butter. Make sure to request “no butter” on any steak or seafood order, just to be certain. Their Louisiana Sirloin and Filet Mignon are also topped with butter. The kitchen might be able to accommodate dairy-free requests for these dishes. The Santa Fe Tilapia can also be made dairy-free on request. But the Fish & Chips and other Battered or Breaded Seafood items do contain dairy.
Heads Up! All O’Charley’s burgers and sandwiches come with cheese. Most locations do have dairy-free bread / buns available, and their grilled chicken is made without dairy, so they can probably customize most of their burgers and sandwiches to be dairy-free on request.
- California Chicken Salad (no cheese, no pecans)
Heads Up! They have avocado available as a salad add-on.
Dairy-Free Salad Dressings: Balsamic Vinaigrette, Honey Mustard Dressing (contains egg)
Heads Up! At this time, all soups at O’Charley’s contain milk.
- Baked Potato (plain)
Heads Up! We’ve been told the kitchen can customize a side salad, broccoli, or asparagus without dairy, on request. The coleslaw and rice pilaf reportedly contain milk. O’Charley’s does list their French Fries as containing milk. We are still verifying if there is actual milk in the recipe, or if it is due to potential cross contamination in the fryer.
- Hamburger, Kids (no side) (contains gluten)
- Mandarin Orange Slices
- Tater Tots
Heads Up! For other side options, carrot sticks can be served with a dairy-free dressing (see above). We’ve been told the kitchen can prepare broccoli without dairy on request.
- Apple Cobbler (no ice cream) (contains egg, gluten)
- Blackberry Cobbler (no ice cream) (contains egg, gluten)
- Peach Cobbler (no ice cream) (contains egg, gluten)
Heads Up! You can order half one type of cobbler and half of another if you want to try two. The Brownies and other desserts at O’Charley’s do contain milk.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.
Where to Find O’Charley’s Restaurant & Bar
This restaurant chain is dotted all over the Eastern states. See the website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.
New link for their allergen page!