Wingstop Tenders and Wings for a Big Dairy-Free Win

0

Updated in 2021! Appetizers are often loaded with dairy. Even chicken wings are frequently battered with dairy or buffalo-sauced with a buttery mixture. We usually just make our own, but lately I’ve been hearing a lot about Wingstop. They have quite a few options for dairy-free diners, and several people have reported them as milk allergy-friendly. We looked into it, and discovered this big menu of dairy-free options, which happens to be egg-free and nut-free, too.

Wingstop Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes and Egg-Free, Nut-Free optionsPhotos from Wingstop

Wingstop Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes

According to Wingstop, these are the only items on their menu that contain milk.

Garlic parmesan, blue cheese dip, honey mustard dip, hot cheddar cheese sauce, ranch dip, and baked rolls contain milk as an ingredient. [Editor Note: The seasonal Lemon Garlic is a blend that is made with the garlic parmesan, so it also contains dairy]

That leaves quite a few items! In fact, all of the following Wingstop menu items are reportedly made without dairy, eggs, fish, and nut ingredients. We were told that their wings are also soy-free, however, their frying oil to cook them does contain soybean oil. Because of this, they will not disclose which sauces are soy-free (aside from soy oil), but we’ve been told by staff that most are. You can ask to see the ingredients at the restaurant. They do not appear to cook any milk, eggs, fish, or nuts in their fryers, but verify their protocols with your server.

Chicken

  • Boneless Wings
  • Classic (Bone-In) Wings
  • Crispy Tenders

Wing Flavors

  • Atomic
  • Bayou BBQ (seasonal)
  • Cajun
  • Hawaiian
  • Hickory Smoked BBQ
  • Hot Lemon (seasonal)
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Louisiana Rub
  • Mango Habanero
  • Mild
  • Original Hot
  • Plain
  • Spicy Korean Q

Heads Up! The Garlic Parmesan was the only flavor that contained dairy at our time of review (but the seasonal Lemon Garlic also does, when available). Keep in mind that they might use shared bowls for seasoning the wings. Make sure to alert your server when ordering if you have cross-contamination concerns.

Dipping Sauces

Heads Up! All Wingstop dips contain dairy, including the Honey Mustard, Ranch, and Blue Cheese Dips. But your can order a side of “Flavor” Sauce (options listed above) as your dip. They also have ketchup available.

Sides

  • Seasoned Fries with regular Fry Seasoning or Cajun Seasoning
  • Cajun Fried Corn
  • Veggie Sticks (no dip)

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

Wingstop - Guide to the Dairy-free Options and Allergy Notes

Where to Find Wingstop

Wingstop is headquartered in Dallas, Texas, but they have more than 1000 locations. The majority of their restaurants are in the U.S., but they also have outposts in the Middle East, United Kingdom, Asia, Australia, Mexico, Central and South America. See the website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.

Website: www.wingstop.com

Average Reader Review

2.5
Rated 2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5 stars (based on 2 reviews)
Excellent0%
Very good50%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible50%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

Poor customer service

Rated 1 out of 5
June 28, 2021

I’ve attempted to verify the information that you have posted above by calling their toll free number and found their agents to be evasive and rude. I specifically told them that we can have soybean oil and asked them to confirm if there was any other soy in the sauces and wings and they just kept repeating that soy is listed on their allergen menu. I sent an email requesting further clarification and they failed to respond. For this reason I find it difficult to trust them.

Amy

Response from Go Dairy Free

I completely understand. We are following up again to try to get more detailed information on soy in the sauces, since per the FDA, highly refined soy oil is not considered a top allergen (as you note) https://www.fda.gov/food/food-labeling-nutrition/inventory-notifications-received-under-21-usc-343w7-exemptions-food-allergen-labeling

Thank you

Rated 4 out of 5
June 26, 2021

Hi. Thank you so much for this. Just wanted to let you know the lemon garlic have dairy in them. They’re a mix of garlic Parmesan and lemon pepper.

Camille

Response from Go Dairy Free

Thank you, we’ve updated to make sure the information on that limited edition / seasonal flavor is clear and accurate!

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Comments are closed.