Guess what? There’s another creamy, dairy-free almond-based liqueur on the market, award-winning Almondaire.
And those medals are well deserved in my opinion. Put simply, Almondaire is amazing! Just click on the quick video (by us!) below to look at this dreamy pour.
When sipped straight up, Almondaire is slightly strong (13.9% alcohol), with a wonderful warming sensation. Nonetheless, it’s richly delicious with a sweet, but not syrupy flavor. On the label, they say it has a “classic taste of chocolate, vanilla, and almond”. I suppose there are hints of cacao, but I wouldn’t elude to chocolate. Vanilla and almond offered the most notable underlying flavors, but the weren’t overpowering. Rather, the pleasant flavors had amazing dessert-like appeal.
The consistency is very smooth with a full-bodied, creamy mouth feel. It isn’t overly heavy though, clocking in at just 1.2 grams of fat (83 calories) per 1 1/2 ounce serving.
I can just imagine all of the scrumptious creations to be made with Almondaire, from decadent adult hot chocolate to sinful desserts. That said, I trialed out a mixed drink from their website, using rum and almond milk. But it simply diluted this incredible guilty pleasure.
Aside from getting creative with recipes, I think our favorite way to indulge is simply Almondaire over ice.
My only complaint is about the labeling, or lack thereof. Almondaire does note top allergens within their product (soy and almond), but they don’t include an ingredient statement. This is in compliance with liquor labeling. Nonetheless, since they are a product that caters so much to special diets, I think an ingredient statement is in order. Also, you might see that it contains “caramel color” on the label. Don’t be confused by this. It is non-dairy like most caramel color.
Aside from this one caveat, I have to say, move over Bailey’s! There’s another creamy, dairy-free alcoholic drink in town, and I think it will be very well-received by milk drinkers, too.
The Facts on Almondaire Almond-Based Creme Liqueur
Certifications: Almondaire Almond-Based Creme Liqueur is labeled as gluten-free and vegan, but I didn’t note any certifications.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Almondaire Almond-Based Creme Liqueur is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, peanut-free, vegan, plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit their website at www.almondaire.com.