Halo Top Dairy-Free Ice Cream is Churning Out a New Formula

22

Updated formula in 2020! In 2017, Halo Top revolutionized the dairy-free ice cream industry when they introduced the first line of low-calorie vegan frozen dessert. It included seven flavors with crave-able names, like Cinnamon Roll, Peanut Butter Cup, and Caramel Macchiato. These “no guilt” non-dairy pints were an instant hit, so they launched five more Halo Top dairy-free ice cream flavors in 2018.

Last year, Halo Top ascended to 16 dairy-free flavors, including seasonal pints. But sadly, this year they’ve discontinued several flavors. Nevertheless, they still offer seven core dairy-free varieties, and as of August 2020, the whole line has been reformulated! They now use fava bean protein and have made a few other little tweaks.

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein.

Halo Top Dairy-Free Ice Cream is Churning Out a New Formula

All of the Halo Top Dairy-Free pints are still soy-free, vegan, and made with a coconut base. But unlike many coconut ice creams, these contain just 270 to 360 per full pint, and are relatively light and low sugar. So what is in Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert? We’ve got all of the ingredient lists for the new formulas below. See the More Facts section at the end for pricing, availability, and additional information.

Birthday Cake

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured: Birthday CakeIngredients: coconut milk (water, coconut cream), inulin, sugar, erythritol, fava bean protein concentrate, vegetable glycerin, contains 1% or less of natural flavors, pea protein isolate, sunflower lecithin, sea salt, corn starch, palm kernel and palm oil, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, spirulina extract (color), turmeric extract (color), vegetable juice (color), annatto extract (color), carnauba wax, stevia leaf extract (reb m). contains coconutCertified Gluten Free.*

Nutrition (per 2/3 cup serving): 90 calories, 3.5g fat, 19g carbs, 6g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 5g added sugars; plus 5g sugar alcohol), 3g protein.*

Candy Bar

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured: Candy BarIngredients: coconut milk (water, coconut cream), sugar, inulin, erythritol, fava bean protein concentrate, vegetable glycerin, dry roasted peanuts, chocolate extract, contains 1% or less of cocoa, unsweetened chocolate, natural flavors, corn syrup, tapioca syrup, pea protein isolate, sunflower lecithin, sea salt, coconut oil, peanut oil, corn starch, water, salt, pectin, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, caramel color, stevia leaf extract (reb m). contains coconut, peanutsCertified Gluten Free.*

Nutrition (per 2/3 cup serving): 120 calories, 5g fat, 22g carbs, 6g fiber, 8g sugars (includes 7g added sugars + 4g sugar alcohol), 4g protein.*

Chocolate

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured: ChocolateIngredients: coconut milk (water, coconut cream), inulin, sugar, erythritol, fava bean protein concentrate, cocoa processed with alkali, vegetable glycerin, contains 1% or less of natural flavors, pea protein isolate, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, sunflower lecithin, sea salt, stevia leaf extract (reb m). contains coconut. Certified Gluten Free.*

Nutrition (per 2/3 cup serving): 100 calories, 4g fat, 20g carbs, 7g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 5g added sugars + 5g sugar alcohol), 4g protein.*

Chocolate Almond Crunch

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured: Chocolate Almond CrunchIngredients: coconut milk (water, coconut cream), inulin, sugar, erythritol, fava bean protein concentrate, almonds, vegetable glycerin, contains 1% or less of natural flavors, sea salt, pea protein isolate, salt, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, sunflower lecithin, canola oil, caramel color, stevia leaf extract (reb m). contains almonds, coconutCertified Gluten Free.*

Nutrition (per 2/3 cup serving): 100 calories, 4.5g fat, 19g carbs, 7g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 5g added sugars + 5g sugar alcohol), 4g protein.*

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured: Chocolate Chip Cookie DoughIngredients: coconut milk (water, coconut cream), sugar, inulin, erythritol, fava bean protein concentrate, vegetable glycerin, enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), contains 1% or less of vanilla extract, natural flavors, cocoa processed with alkali, sea salt, cocoa powder, salt, white rice flour, pea protein isolate, coconut oil, palm oil, sunflower lecithin, canola oil, molasses, baking soda, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, stevia leaf extract (reb m). contains coconut, wheat.*

Nutrition (per 2/3 cup serving): 120 calories, 5g fat, 23g carbs, 6g fiber, 8g sugars (includes 7g added sugars + 4g sugar alcohol), 3g protein.*

Peanut Butter Cup

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured: Peanut Butter CupIngredients: coconut milk (water, coconut cream), inulin, sugar, erythritol, fava bean protein concentrate, peanuts, vegetable glycerin, contains 1% or less of natural flavors, sea salt, pea protein isolate, peanut oil, salt, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, sunflower lecithin, caramel color, stevia leaf extract (reb m). contains coconut, peanuts. Certified Gluten Free.*

Nutrition (per 2/3 cup serving): 110 calories, 5g fat, 19g carbs, 7g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 5g added sugars + 5g sugar alcohol), 4g protein.*

Sea Salt Caramel

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured: Sea Salt CaramelIngredients: coconut milk (water, coconut cream), inulin, sugar, erythritol, fava bean protein concentrate, tapioca syrup, vegetable glycerin, contains 1% or less of natural flavors, sea salt, pea protein isolate, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, coconut oil, sunflower lecithin, pectin, caramel color, stevia leaf extract (reb m). contains coconut. Certified Gluten Free.*

Nutrition (per 1/2 cup serving): 110 calories, 4g fat, 23g carbs, 6g fiber, 9g sugars (includes 8g added sugars + 4g sugar alcohol), 3g protein.*

Discontinued Flavors

The Cinnamon Roll,  Chocolate Covered Banana, Pancakes & Waffles, Caramel Macchiato, Chocolate Hazelnut, Vanilla Maple, Toasted Coconut, Mint Fudge Cookie, Peanut Butter & Jelly, and Oatmeal Cookie dairy-free Halo Top Ice Cream flavors have been discontinued. It also looks like they aren’t bringing back the dairy-free Pumpkin Pie (as of fall 2020), and we can’t confirm if Chocolate Peppermint Crunch will return for winter.

How Does it Taste?

The reviews on Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert are quite mixed. Most concur that it is a “frozen dessert,” but not “ice cream.” The consistency is a little icy and not as creamy as some might expect. Nonetheless, it has gained a loyal following.  Read the reviews below from consumers like you and leave your own rating once you’ve tried it!

Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert - vegan, soy-free and many gluten-free ice cream pint flavors that are low calorie, low sugar, and high protein. Pictured:

More Facts on Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert

Price: $5.49 per pint

Availability: Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert is sold in most stores where Halo Top ice cream is sold in the U.S. This includes major grocers like Walmart. Select dairy-free flavors are also available in Canada at stores like Loblaw and Sobeys. You can also order online direct from the company’s website below; they ship throughout the U.S.

Certifications: Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert is Certified Vegan and Certified Kosher DE (for dairy equipment, not ingredients; see our Understanding Kosher Guide). Most varieties are Certified Gluten Free, as noted above.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Halo Top Dairy-Free Frozen Dessert is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian. Many of the flavors are made without peanuts and tree nuts, and most are gluten-free.*

For More Product Information: Visit the Halo Top website at www.halotop.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

3.9
3.9 rating
3.9 out of 5 stars (based on 19 reviews)
Excellent63%
Very good11%
Average0%
Poor5%
Terrible21%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Not ice cream but still good

5.0 rating
August 3, 2019

As a plant based eater who is trying to lose weight, I am thrilled I found Halo Top. No, it’s not like eating Ben and Jerry’s non-dairy, but it is substantially less calories, carbs, and sugar and does the trick when I’m craving ice cream. I can’t eat more than a quarter to a half of a pint, so it is rich enough to satisfy. I’ve tried Chocolate Almond and Peanut Butter so far, but I cannot wait to try the other flavors.

PJS

So glad my local store carries many of the dairy-free flavors

5.0 rating
August 2, 2019

I LOVE Halo Top Dairy-Free. No, it’s not the same as dairy ice cream, but for those of us who are lactose intolerant and have tried some of the alternatives, it rocks! My favorite flavors so far are caramel macchiato and toasted coconut. Can’t wait to try all of those that are also gluten-free. Amazing!

Karen Poppen

Delicious Summer memories.

5.0 rating
July 29, 2019

Soooooo good! I’m on a low carb diet and I was missing ice cream. I don’t miss it anymore, Halo Top frozen desserts are the best. Taste like ice cream to me. I Love how creamy they are. I feel like that little girl sitting on the back porch enjoying my favorite Sunday dessert.

Ruby Haynes

Not impressed

2.0 rating
July 7, 2019

I’ve tried many dairy free ice creams, and this one was a disappointment. Halo top dairy is great. But the dairy free is a fail. It’s got a rough texture and leaves a powdery feel and coating in your mouth. Flavor as well was below expectations and i chose pb cup- what can be better? Not strong flavor, coconut taste comes through, not as sweet as expected.

Deborah

Peanut Butter Dairy,Soy Free, Vegan

5.0 rating
July 4, 2019

The Peanut Butter frozen dessert if Delicious. I have asthma so can’t have dairy and felt SO wonderful when I found this. Not sure of exact amount of sugar though, may need to cut down some. In Palm Beach County, FL we only have 3 different kinds. We have NO Chocolate dairy free down here, can it be ordered somewhere?

Carole

1st timer

4.0 rating
June 10, 2019

First of all… I LOVE ice cream… with that being said, I am also lactose intolerant AND on a diet. Sucks huh? So, I was at my local grocery store and was actually looking for some sort of fruit bar (cause I desperately needed something sweet) and happened to be standing in front of the Halo Top ice cream section. What caught my eye was the calorie count right on the front. As a newbie to dieting, I’ve been counting calories with my fingers, toes etc lol
The ice cream was actually on sale (3 for $10), so I thought what the heck. If it’s bad, I’ve only lost $10.00, and if it’s good, I’ve only spent $10.00.
If you are looking for a typical ice cream, then this isnt for you… if you are like me, and lick the batters while baking and love eating raw cookie dough, then give it a try. I know… what’s cookie dough got to do with this ice cream? It almost has the same consistency. at first, I was like- what…is…In… my…. mouth?
Then, another spoon and another and another. Guys, its delightful!
I cant wait to try the other flavors I bought!
Seriously, try it!!!!

Erika Gibson Adkins

Creamy and good tasting!

5.0 rating
May 18, 2019

I have to lower my cholesterol and just tried chocolate chip cookie dough. It is so good, only thing is you really have to like coconut because the flavor of it really comes through. I’m anxious to try other flavors!

Darlene Houghton

BEST THANG EVA

5.0 rating
May 9, 2019

I’ve recently discovered Halo Top and it’s my fav ice-cream EVA. I only ever buy dairy free ice-cream but stopped due to all the sugar and calories, but after discovering Halo Top, the world of ice-cream has opened up to me again. They’re so delicious and UNBELIEVABLY low in sugar and calories. I just wish they where available in more flavours in more shops #obsessed

Gedville Juodvalkyte

Pretty darn close

4.0 rating
March 2, 2019

A lot like most veggie products out there. Close to memory but it is a new taste not a copy. If you expect any veggie food to mimic animal based products you will be disappointed

David

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

22 Comments

  1. I am really enjoying the chocolate covered banana. It is quite satisfying. The texture is pretty creamy.

  2. Jenni Foster on

    This is the most disgusting ice cream ever. I came online to see if I wasn’t alone. I bought peanut butter, chocolate and sea salt caramel. The sea salt caramel is about the only one I can stomach. The other 2 taste like chemicals. It’s kind of gritty but I wouldn’t care if they were actually edible. I’m mad I bought 3 pints at once. I was so excited to finally see this brand go dairy free. I usually just make my own dairy free ice cream so I’m not use to real stuff at all and don’t have much to compare it too. I just know the taste is horrible. Between the chemical taste and maybe the pea protein I think it’s just a miss.

  3. I love all the dairy free, gluten free flavors, my favorite being the sea salt caramel. My gluten and dairy intolerance made ice cream a no-no for me…until HALO came along. THANK YOU! Please keep those delicious DAIRY-FREE/GLUTEN-FREE flavors coming!!! We go through at least a pint a day in my house:)

  4. I LOVE halo top dairy free frozen desert. My favorite is chocolate covered banana, I think I eat a pint a week (of just that flavor)! I am lactose intolerant and when I finally took it seriously, I was bummed that meant no more ice cream, especially halo top. I love how halo top is low calorie and good protein! I just wish I knew where all the newest flavors of dairy free halo top can be found, but I will always be happy with my chocolate covered banana!!!

  5. I’ve tried three of the Vegan/ dairy free Halo Top ice creams, which are Peanut Butter cup, Cinnamon Roll, and Chocolate Chip cookie dough. I think it’s great that there is another brand making vegan ice cream but this brand does not make good vegan/ dairy free ice cream. The texture is all wrong and the flavors taste little to nothing like what it’s claiming to taste like. The three that I’ve tried all had a grittyness to it and has a very strong protein powder taste and smell. Maybe if they used less proteins and change from coconut milk to Almond or cashew milk, the flavor and texture would be much better. This ice cream is not worth your money, well for the dairy free ones at least.

  6. Diane Frediani on

    I just finished a pint of dairy free (over a few days) of the oatmeal cookie. It was quite creamy, there was no gritty texture whatsoever. There are little pieces of oat which are chewy and delicious. It was not bland at all. I found all aspects of it to be quite good.

    I do not eat regular ice cream due to health reasons. I imagine that if I were used to delicious, sweet, ultra creamy real-milk ice cream, I might not like this so much. But if you put it in a category with other frozen desserts like it, I would have to say it is at the top of the ranking.

    • I’m relieved to hear this after hearing this doesn’t taste great. Is it better tasting than simple old n’ice cream (banana based vegan ice cream?)

      -NY Nomads

  7. Sandra Foster on

    I have purchased the banana-chocolate flavor and also the chocolate in the dairy free and liked the banana best. I sprinkle it with a few dairy free mini chocolate chips, as I don’t see much chocolate in it. My only wish is that they would better distinguish the dairy-free from the dairy cartons as it is easy, when you’re in a hurry, to pick up the wrong one….as I did this Saturday. I had company and needed to run to the store to pick up some dessert and decided on getting the Halo Banana-Chocolate dairy free and instead, got the carton made WITH dairy…so hope this will help anyone else who might do the same,.

  8. I have been non dairy my whole life so I have tried all I could get my hands on ,when I was young dairy free ice cream was not heard of !! Now I of course have my favorite flavor of dairy free halo top but they are all AMAZING,the texture is wonderful (not grainy at all)
    There is nothing not to love !!! Thank you so much Halo Top for making this ,I’m allergic (not lactose intolerance) to milk and this is heaven sent!!!!
    Darla

  9. I love Halo Top! So far Cinnamon Roll and Red Velvet are my favorites. I did not experience any of the negative comments reflected above. I am a fan for sure. I just wish it were not so expensive.

  10. I tried the Halo Top Caramel Macchiato for the first time and enjoyed it. It was not perfect. While the consistency was very creamy, it also have a bit of graininess. The flavor, however, was good and I was happy to see there was no coffee in it. I can’t have coffee so was curious to see how this would taste and it surprisingly resembled coffee. There was a slight aftertaste, but not too bad. There could have been more caramel, but for the number of calories, this was a satisfying treat for someone who can’t have dairy ice cream!

  11. I’ve tried a couple of the DF flavors. Oatmeal Cookie was ok. The consistency was a bit grainy-as in I could feel the oatmeal. Currently, I have Caramel
    Machiato. It’s pretty good. I expected a bit of a coffee flavor, but didn’t get any. Also, I would have hoped for much more caramel swirled throughout but there is very little. The overall consistency of all of their DF desserts are almost like whipped ice cream-light and fluffy, melts very quickly. I am SO excited to try Birthday Cake and Pancake and Waffles sounds interesting. I would LOVE if they started bringing out seasonal flavors like pumpkin pie! We DF eaters miss out of such things.

  12. Sandy Phillips on

    I have tried many of the flavors and while they are all tasty, I do not like the texture as it accumulates at the back of my throat. It seems to be gritty, though it is tiny micron particles that might just be my palette. The chocolate covered banana is my favorite. We can find them here at our local target and HEB stores now, plus whole foods.

  13. Brittany Daniels on

    This is Brittany Daniels. I have tried a lot of different dairy free ice creams out there. For me a lot of the dairy free Halo Top Ice Creams I tried so far either don’t have enough flavor to them or the ice cream base has a nasty aftertaste to it. The best flavor I found so far is the Chocolate covered bananas because I could really taste the banana in the ice cream base. One thing I didn’t like about the chocolate covered bananas ice cream was I couldn’t taste the chocolate at all. I wish they would use natural processed chocolate instead of the alkalized processed chocolate they used in the dairy free Halo Top ice cream flavors because natural processed chocolate has more flavor to it than alkalized chocolate has to it and plus natural processed chocolate is healthier for you. I found the dairy free Halo Top Ice Cream at a Kroger Grocery Store in Tucker, GA where I currently live. Maybe if you are having trouble locating the dairy free Halo Top Ice Cream please check to see if a nearby Kroger Grocery Store carries them at all.

    • See the Availability note above in “The Facts” Lee! I do my best to include where you can buy them. Halo Top, yes, coming soon, but dairy-free flavors, not yet.

  14. The Halo Top caremel machiatto is great! The peanut butter is good, but not as much my personal preference. I like the consistency – creamy, smooth and YUMMY!!