Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

16

I have a gut feeling that Lavva Yogurt is exactly what many of you have been looking for. It’s a unique dairy-free blend that has absolutely no added sugars, contains natural prebiotics, and packs in 50 billion live probiotics per serving.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more information

Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

Lavva Yogurt comes in several flavors, and is made with a base of coconut, pili nuts, and plantains. Coconut provides the creamy finish, plantains offer body and prebiotics, and the pili nuts add richness, minerals, and amino acids. Thanks to this magical combination, Lavva Yogurt is free of carrageenan and gums. It’s also made without any artificial additives, flavors, or colors. Consequently, it suits vegan, paleo, and Whole30 diets.

The vegan probiotic cultures used in Lavva Yogurt are L. Plantarum, S. Thermophilus, L. Bulgaricus, L. Acidophilus, Bifidobacterium Ssp. (B. Bifidum), L. Rhamnosus, and L. Delbrueckii.

Original

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, plantains, pili butter (pili nuts, water), coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 170 calories, 13g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Vanilla

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, vanilla (vanilla extract, vanilla bean seeds, lemon juice concentrate), plantains, pili butter (pili nuts, water), coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Strawberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, strawberry*, plantains, pili butter (pili nuts, water), coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 150 calories, 11g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Raspberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, raspberry*, plantains, pili butter (pili nuts, water), coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Blueberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, blueberry*, plantains, pili butter (pili nuts, water), coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 10g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Mango

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, mango, plantains, pili butter (pili nuts, water), coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Discontinue Flavors of Lavva Yogurt

It looks like the Pineapple flavor was discontinued in 2020.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationPhotos by Lavva.

The Facts on Lavva Yogurt

  • Price: $2.69 per 5.3-ounce single-serve cup and $6.99 per 16-ounce multi-serve tub.
  • Availability: Lavva Yogurt is available at Sprouts stores in the U.S. and at Whole Foods stores in select regions (Southern Pacific, Northeast)
  • Certifications: We did not note any certifications for Lavva Yogurt.
  • Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Lavva Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, plant-based, vegetarian, paleo-friendly, whole 30 approved. But check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
  • For More Product Information: Visit the Lavva website at lovvelavva.com.

Average Reader Review

3.3
Rated 3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5 stars (based on 193 reviews)
Excellent51%
Very good5%
Average5%
Poor4%
Terrible35%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

My Favorite

Rated 5 out of 5
October 24, 2021

Does one know why WF’s stopped carrying the yogurt? They do still have the milk.
I have had to travel an hour each way to get it… no big deal for something I love- and eat every morning.
I have asked at both WF’s in my city and they have no answers…
Alisa- have you heard anything- or can you find out for us crazy Lavva fans? Has anyone heard anything? Have a great evening!

Avatar for Maggie
Maggie

Response from Go Dairy Free

It is still sold via Whole Foods, but as of May 15, 2021, you will only find it in two Whole Foods regions: Southern Pacific (AZ, SoCal, Southern NV, HI) and Northeast (CT, NJ, NY). Their plant milk is still sold in all regions.
If you are in those regions and not seeing it, it could be temporary supply chain issues. I hope you’re able to find it! They do sell it at Sprouts stores nationwide, and they’ve been working on opening an online store (to ship yogurt direct to customers in the U.S.).

Amazing!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 12, 2021

Just purchased the Strawberry and the Mango, I had the Mango today with some raspberries and blackberries! It was delicious! Can’t wait to try the Strawberry.

Avatar for Diane
Diane

The best healthy and delicious yogurt I ever had

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2021

The best yogurt I had, so creamy and healthy, unfortunately whole foods stop selling it, I traveled 50 miles to buy it because it’s sooo good!

Avatar for Gladys Jones
Gladys Jones

Vanilla Pili Nut

Rated 5 out of 5
June 12, 2021

No added sugar! I thought the Vanilla Pili Nut from Sprouts was delicious. I will buy it again.

Avatar for Susie
Susie

Mango flavor rocks

Rated 5 out of 5
June 12, 2021

I tried a couple other flavors and this was my absolute favorite. I’m really into the salutary benefits of prebiotic and this is an excellent way to get them veganwise.

Avatar for Sa
Sa

Smooth, Refreshing & Tasty

Rated 5 out of 5
May 18, 2021

Lavva is definitely at the top of my list for non-dairy yogurts. Being vegan for 5 years now, I’ve been excited to try a variety of brands hitting the shelves. Lavva’s texture is perfectly balanced where you have a rich mouthful in every bite (not watery like some other brands), balanced with a light natural blueberry taste. Highly recommend trying! My only suggestion would be to see how you can get your protein content up to match that of Siggi’s plant-based yogurt 🙂

Avatar for Justine
Justine

Hideous

Rated 1 out of 5
May 12, 2021

Absolutely awful. Tastes like sauerkraut. I had to throw it out – something I never do. I’m not a fan of super-sweet yogurt, but this stuff…YUCK!

Avatar for Michele
Michele

Awful

Rated 1 out of 5
May 3, 2021

Took two spoonfuls of the raspberry flavor and had to throw it out. Thought I could tough it out and eat the rest but it was really terrible. Glad I only bought two of them.

Avatar for Barbara
Barbara

Best Plant Based Yogurt Ever!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 16, 2021

This is the best tasting plant based yogurt ever made! No sugar & all natural ingredients. This product contains No artificial sweeteners or natural flavors which are not good for you ingredients. Thank you Laava for a great tasting & clean yogurt. It is amazing to me how a great tasting yogurt can be made without sugar, bad ingredients & no almonds or cashews. Thank you for not compromising your yogurts with bad ingredients. Love this yogurt!

Avatar for Tammy Morrow
Tammy Morrow

Addicted

Rated 5 out of 5
April 16, 2021

The ingredients and the taste of this yogurt, in particular the raspberry & plain, that sets Lavva as the gold standard of plant based food. I find the raspberry & plain flavors spectacularly phenomenal. The other flavors are okay… However, avoid the blueberry altogether – the color alone looks rather unappetizing & the taste is so so. But Alisa is right, this is exactly what I was looking for.

Avatar for Laurie
Laurie

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

16 Comments

  1. The vanilla flavor is really good. I recently cut out all dairy, processed sugar, and gluten due to an autoimmune diagnosis. It only recently occurred to me that I was no longer getting the probiotics I had been consuming for years eating traditional yogurts and many autoimmune disorders are directly related to gut health. Most plant-based yogurts or water-based Kefirs do not contain 50 billion live probiotic cultures. For me this is a win. The taste and texture of the vanilla I like. It has more of a kefir taste than a yogurt taste, which I don’t mind but could see where others would be put off. Protein is usually quite high in yogurt and this is relatively low but again my goal was increased probiotics, non-dairy, and no added sugars. I’m a fan so far. I bought it at Whole Foods and didn’t find it overly expensive.

  2. I just tried this yogurt yesterday and, I wasn’t disappointed. however, I do agree that is a bit pricey

  3. I tried the strawberry, and immediately checked the expiration date because I thought it had spoiled. After reading some of the reviews, I see other people felt the same way. The sour taste is out of control. Totally inedible!!!! I can’t even comment on the texture, which I didn’t notice because the taste was overwhelmingly disturbing. How is this on the market? It’s hidious!! I bought 3 other flavors, but I intend to return them to Whole Foods.

  4. I LOVE THIS YOGURT!!!! The plain is the best. I tried the strawberry and the tanginess (which i love in most cases) overpowered the strawberry flavor. However the plain is awesome. I love tangy yogurt and this hits the nail on the head. Reminds me of a thinner version of skyr in terms of tang. Not sure what one person was talking about as far as grittiness goes, maybe just their particular batch or a flavored variety but the plain and the strawberry had NO grittiness. Completely and lusciously smooth. I am mostly paleo although I consume grains in moderation as a treat but I’m strictly dairy free, organic, and clean ingredient eating as much as possible and Lavva has been one of the only yogurts to hit the mark. In the 16 oz tubs I can justify the purchase because I like it so much. The other yogurt I’ve tried and love is Anita’s but the cost is way too high so I had to stop buying. My favorite old way of eating yogurt was with a dash of honey and that’s what i do to doctor up the plain. I add a touch of honey, some fruit (cherries right now are my fav) and hazelnuts with a pinch of vanilla powder. DELISH!

  5. Tried the raspberry. The texture was fine after dumping some of the liquid out. However, the taste was a bit too salty and too sour for me. I like my yogurt tangy but this was too much. And why put salt in it??

  6. I found this at Whole Foods, and I was so happy to find a new vegan “yoghurt” choice, but then I tasted it. OMG, this is TERRIBLE! It tastes like someone spilled cornmeal and mustard in it. I thought the blueberry that I started with had gone bad, so I tried the strawberry–it was creamier, but nearly as inedible. I passed it around to three other family members, and no one survived. From five years old to fifty, the opinion was unanimously against this product. I honestly cannot imagine how this is considered desirable in any way other than on paper. Reality is a different story entirely.

  7. I have recently gained interest in consuming less dairy, and with that, found this dairy alternative yoghurt. While I understand it will never replace traditional yoghurt with dairy, the zest in this yoghurt, from the lime I am assuming, is inedible. I could not even close my mouth when I was chewing, it was just way too sour. It’s such a pity because I didn’t mind the texture, but I won’t be trying this again. I tried the raspberry flavor.

  8. I do appreciate the no sugar as most yogurts, dairy or non-dairy, are loaded with sugar. However, I found the Lavva to be inedible. It has a weird grainy texture and an earthy taste I just couldn’t stomach, even with fruit and nuts added. I threw it away after a couple of bites. It is honestly the WORST non-dairy yogurt I’ve tried since going vegan.

  9. I haven’t seen this one yet. I’ll have to check it out and see if I can find it and give it a try as we’re still on the hunt for one that my oldest loves.

  10. Our family has tried Lavva recently as well and we love love love it! I agree with the tartness (which is a plus in my book), and the texture is perfectly creamy. At its current price point, it will definitely be in the “treat” category for us, but well worth it for an amazing dairy-free alternative

    • Thanks for chiming in on this Virginia! I agree on the price – I haven’t found it in my local area yet, But $2 or more for a single dairy-free yogurt always makes me think twice.