Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

16

I have a gut feeling that Lavva Yogurt is exactly what many of you have been looking for. It’s a unique dairy-free blend that has absolutely no added sugars, contains natural prebiotics, and packs in 50 billion live probiotics per serving.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more information

Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

Lavva Yogurt comes in several flavors, and is made with a base of coconut, pili nuts, and plantains. Coconut provides the creamy finish, plantains offer body and prebiotics, and the pili nuts add richness, minerals, and amino acids. Thanks to this magical combination, Lavva Yogurt is free of carrageenan and gums. It’s also made without any artificial additives, flavors, or colors. Consequently, it suits vegan, paleo, and Whole30 diets.

If you have tried Lavva Yogurt, please leave your rating and review below. It helps others, too!

Original

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 170 calories, 13g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Vanilla

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, vanilla (vanilla extract, vanilla bean seeds, lemon juice concentrate), plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Strawberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, strawberry*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 150 calories, 11g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Raspberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, raspberry*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Blueberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, blueberry*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 10g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Pineapple

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, pineapple*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Mango

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, mango, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

The vegan probiotic cultures used in Lavva Yogurt are L. Plantarum, S. Thermophilus, L. Bulgaricus, L. Acidophilus, Bifidobacterium Ssp. (B. Bifidum), L. Rhamnosus, and L. Delbrueckii.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationPhotos by Lavva.

The Facts on Lavva Yogurt

Price: $2.69 per 5.3-ounce single-serve cup and $6.99 per 16-ounce multi-serve tub.

Availability: Lavva Yogurt is available at Sprouts and Whole Foods stores nationwide in the U.S.

Certifications: We did not note any certifications for Lavva Yogurt.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Lavva Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, plant-based, vegetarian, paleo-friendly, whole 30 approved. But check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Lavva website at lovvelavva.com.

Average Reader Review

3.2
3.2 rating
3.2 out of 5 stars (based on 116 reviews)
Excellent47%
Very good3%
Average8%
Poor5%
Terrible37%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

What did I eat?!?

1.0 rating
January 19, 2020

I seriously hope mine was spoiled , because it tasted like vinegar, blue cheese & sauerkraut. It was supposed to Strawberry? Disappointed I wasted$$ on this from Whole Foods.

Denise

Yuck

1.0 rating
January 16, 2020

I thought mine was rancid also!!! Terrible taste

alice

Revolting

1.0 rating
January 15, 2020

Looked strange for yogurt. Had brown flecks and drippy consistency. I figured maybe that was the way it was supposed to be. It smelled terrible but tried a bite anyway. It was completely disgusting and first reaction was to quickly spit it out back into the container. My husband just laughed at my expression, it was that bad. Sour vinegar is what it was like, perhaps it was rancid. It’s been 5 hours since I tasted it and even after brushing my teeth and having lunch I still can’t get the smell and taste of it out.

Kimberly

Quality control issues

1.0 rating
January 15, 2020

Like other people I got a rancid container. It is spoiled and tastes like it was sitting out in the sun or something. My young daughter tried it first and told me she didn’t like it. I hope she doesn’t get sick. It seems like this is a very recent problem.

Ali

Did I get a bad one? Horrible

1.0 rating
January 13, 2020

Vegan for more than 15 years. I love trying new yogurts out of whatever crazy stuff people are making it out of. I just opened a strawberry and it was brown and stinky but not expiring for a month. I took the tiniest taste and it tasted like blue vinegary cheese. I opened the raspberry one and its pink at least but pretty nasty. Im a big proponent of vegan companies but I dont know whats happening here. The first one was definitely bad, the second didnt smell as bad but there is no way Im eating it. My stomach is doing flip flops and Im hoping I dont end up with food poisoning. I looked this up and someone made a review yesterday describing pretty much what I had. I hope for this companies sake that someone was just mishandling it but, thats obviously not great either. I feel like I should call the natural grocers I bought it at and tell them to open one. Wasting my money was the least bad part of this.

Jess

Thank goodness we only purchased one

1.0 rating
January 12, 2020

My wife likes to try various dairy free products so she picked up this yogurt and mixed it with granola. Her reaction during her first bite was to immediately spit it out so I just had to try it myself. It would have to be the most revolting yogurt I’ve ever had. I don’t even know the flavor we immediately threw it out after checking if we purchased expired yogurt. I can’t even describe the flavor – runny, salty, vinegary, and sweet, with bits of rancid in there.
It was so revolting I wanted to see if there were reviews online and had a good chuckle reading through the similar experiences others had.

Jesse

More delicious and cleaner than any other non-dairy yogurt I have tried.

5.0 rating
December 21, 2019

I love dairy products, but avoid them due to what eating dairy does to my health.
Lavva Yogurt is absolutely delicious and tastier than all other non-dairy yogurts I have tried. Great consistency, super clean on the ingredients side. I can’t wait to try the Mango flavor.
And the price is reasonable!

Donna

The best non dairy yogurt!

5.0 rating
December 14, 2019

I love the plain the best. I eat it everyday. I love the texture and taste.

Jane

Loved it!

5.0 rating
December 13, 2019

This is a great alternative to yogurt. It is hard to find a yogurt that is sugar free. I tried the plain and was surprised by the flavor at first. It wasn’t bad, just not what I was expecting. After that first spoonful I couldn’t get enough. It was very satisfying. I think the first reaction was because it doesn’t taste like normal yogurt. It is much more complex. I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to try the flavors!

Rachel

Love the Vanilla!

5.0 rating
December 7, 2019

Vanilla Lavva is exactly what I want to eat in the morning – probiotics (and prebiotic!), no added sugar, delicious vanilla bean taste.

Allison

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

16 Comments

  1. The vanilla flavor is really good. I recently cut out all dairy, processed sugar, and gluten due to an autoimmune diagnosis. It only recently occurred to me that I was no longer getting the probiotics I had been consuming for years eating traditional yogurts and many autoimmune disorders are directly related to gut health. Most plant-based yogurts or water-based Kefirs do not contain 50 billion live probiotic cultures. For me this is a win. The taste and texture of the vanilla I like. It has more of a kefir taste than a yogurt taste, which I don’t mind but could see where others would be put off. Protein is usually quite high in yogurt and this is relatively low but again my goal was increased probiotics, non-dairy, and no added sugars. I’m a fan so far. I bought it at Whole Foods and didn’t find it overly expensive.

  2. I just tried this yogurt yesterday and, I wasn’t disappointed. however, I do agree that is a bit pricey

  3. I tried the strawberry, and immediately checked the expiration date because I thought it had spoiled. After reading some of the reviews, I see other people felt the same way. The sour taste is out of control. Totally inedible!!!! I can’t even comment on the texture, which I didn’t notice because the taste was overwhelmingly disturbing. How is this on the market? It’s hidious!! I bought 3 other flavors, but I intend to return them to Whole Foods.

  4. I LOVE THIS YOGURT!!!! The plain is the best. I tried the strawberry and the tanginess (which i love in most cases) overpowered the strawberry flavor. However the plain is awesome. I love tangy yogurt and this hits the nail on the head. Reminds me of a thinner version of skyr in terms of tang. Not sure what one person was talking about as far as grittiness goes, maybe just their particular batch or a flavored variety but the plain and the strawberry had NO grittiness. Completely and lusciously smooth. I am mostly paleo although I consume grains in moderation as a treat but I’m strictly dairy free, organic, and clean ingredient eating as much as possible and Lavva has been one of the only yogurts to hit the mark. In the 16 oz tubs I can justify the purchase because I like it so much. The other yogurt I’ve tried and love is Anita’s but the cost is way too high so I had to stop buying. My favorite old way of eating yogurt was with a dash of honey and that’s what i do to doctor up the plain. I add a touch of honey, some fruit (cherries right now are my fav) and hazelnuts with a pinch of vanilla powder. DELISH!

  5. Tried the raspberry. The texture was fine after dumping some of the liquid out. However, the taste was a bit too salty and too sour for me. I like my yogurt tangy but this was too much. And why put salt in it??

  6. I found this at Whole Foods, and I was so happy to find a new vegan “yoghurt” choice, but then I tasted it. OMG, this is TERRIBLE! It tastes like someone spilled cornmeal and mustard in it. I thought the blueberry that I started with had gone bad, so I tried the strawberry–it was creamier, but nearly as inedible. I passed it around to three other family members, and no one survived. From five years old to fifty, the opinion was unanimously against this product. I honestly cannot imagine how this is considered desirable in any way other than on paper. Reality is a different story entirely.

  7. I have recently gained interest in consuming less dairy, and with that, found this dairy alternative yoghurt. While I understand it will never replace traditional yoghurt with dairy, the zest in this yoghurt, from the lime I am assuming, is inedible. I could not even close my mouth when I was chewing, it was just way too sour. It’s such a pity because I didn’t mind the texture, but I won’t be trying this again. I tried the raspberry flavor.

  8. I do appreciate the no sugar as most yogurts, dairy or non-dairy, are loaded with sugar. However, I found the Lavva to be inedible. It has a weird grainy texture and an earthy taste I just couldn’t stomach, even with fruit and nuts added. I threw it away after a couple of bites. It is honestly the WORST non-dairy yogurt I’ve tried since going vegan.

  9. I haven’t seen this one yet. I’ll have to check it out and see if I can find it and give it a try as we’re still on the hunt for one that my oldest loves.

  10. Our family has tried Lavva recently as well and we love love love it! I agree with the tartness (which is a plus in my book), and the texture is perfectly creamy. At its current price point, it will definitely be in the “treat” category for us, but well worth it for an amazing dairy-free alternative

    • Thanks for chiming in on this Virginia! I agree on the price – I haven’t found it in my local area yet, But $2 or more for a single dairy-free yogurt always makes me think twice.