Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

16

I have a gut feeling that Lavva Yogurt is exactly what many of you have been looking for. It’s a unique dairy-free blend that has absolutely no added sugars, contains natural prebiotics, and packs in 50 billion live probiotics per serving.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more information

Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

Lavva Yogurt comes in several flavors, and is made with a base of coconut, pili nuts, and plantains. Coconut provides the creamy finish, plantains offer body and prebiotics, and the pili nuts add richness, minerals, and amino acids. Thanks to this magical combination, Lavva Yogurt is free of carrageenan and gums. It’s also made without any artificial additives, flavors, or colors. Consequently, it suits vegan, paleo, and Whole30 diets.

If you have tried Lavva Yogurt, please leave your rating and review below. It helps others, too!

Original

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 170 calories, 13g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Vanilla

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, vanilla (vanilla extract, vanilla bean seeds, lemon juice concentrate), plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Strawberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, strawberry*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 150 calories, 11g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Raspberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, raspberry*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Blueberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, blueberry*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 10g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Pineapple

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, pineapple*, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Mango

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, mango, plantains, pili nuts*, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

The vegan probiotic cultures used in Lavva Yogurt are L. Plantarum, S. Thermophilus, L. Bulgaricus, L. Acidophilus, Bifidobacterium Ssp. (B. Bifidum), L. Rhamnosus, and L. Delbrueckii.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationPhotos by Lavva.

The Facts on Lavva Yogurt

Price: $2.69 per 5.3-ounce single-serve cup and $6.99 per 16-ounce multi-serve tub.

Availability: Lavva Yogurt is available at Sprouts and Whole Foods stores nationwide in the U.S.

Certifications: We did not note any certifications for Lavva Yogurt.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Lavva Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, plant-based, vegetarian, paleo-friendly, whole 30 approved. But check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Lavva website at lovvelavva.com.

Average Reader Review

3.6
3.6 rating
3.6 out of 5 stars (based on 43 reviews)
Excellent49%
Very good9%
Average12%
Poor12%
Terrible18%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

The best!

5.0 rating
July 14, 2019

I was reading reviews for this an am so surprised it people thought I was too tangy, I think it’s savory and delicious! I can’t have sugar and this to me tastes sweet unlike the unsweetened almond yogurt I had been getting. Really glad this exists

Rachel

Gross

1.0 rating
July 14, 2019

I was so excited to try this yogurt.. but was very disappointed that it tasted so vinegary. Wasn’t sure if it had turned. Will not repurchase.

Gina

Sour or Soured?

1.0 rating
July 11, 2019

I can’t explain how sour and pungent this tastes. So much that I wonder if it’s turned? Will probably not try again because the strawberry one is going on the garbage. Not to mention it’s not creamy, almost chunky and has greasy remnants.

Alicia

A bit too salty for me

3.0 rating
July 1, 2019

I’ve only tried the Original flavor and it tastes salty to me. The yogurt has 65mg to a 5.3 oz cup. I like the consistency and really wanted to like the brand, but I can’t get past the salt. I’m happy that I bought two small containers to ‘test it out’. I would have been disappointed to have bought the larger container only to toss it.

r

Delicious, but not yogurt

3.0 rating
July 1, 2019

Im stuck on how to rate this. I tried the vanilla, and I really, really like it…but it’s not yogurt.
Notes of vanilla, lime, and coconut are prevalent…the lime is a little heavy-handed, and I found myself adding a little sugar to balance the tartness. (That’s ok…I prefer no sugar to too much!)
Its a really lovely, creamy pudding-type dessert, but I can’t imagine using it in a recipe unless I was really sure that the flavors could become a part of the recipe.

Amy O'Hara

Awesome!

5.0 rating
June 30, 2019

I absolutely loved this! It’s the first packaged nondairy yogurt I’ve found that has the texture and tang of dairy yogurt. Because of the no added sugar, it is a little sharp, but that’s to be expected from a fermented food! Whether or not you’ll like it is really based on your exposure to sweet foods, but I regularly hav processed sugars and this wasn’t too sharp a taste for me (although I also regularly have kefir, so I am used to a bit of a tang). My point is that this is a wonderful product that nailed it on taste and texture, and it’s always easy enough to add sweetener if you need it.

Emily

Plain tastes like bad sour cream and goat milk

2.0 rating
June 29, 2019

Unfortunately purchased on larger tub for the ridiculous price of 7.99. Gross. Will not buy again.

No no

Fantastic!

4.0 rating
June 23, 2019

I am always on a look out for good dairy free yogurt. I have even made my own but I don’t always have the time and energy to do that. I found Lavva in ATL when I was traveling. The consistency and texture is almost like dairy yogurt! The only thing is it is pretty tangy, especially because there is no added sugar. Some people may not like that. That being said, I will definitely buy them again!

KW

Perfect healthy snack for on the go

5.0 rating
June 20, 2019

I understand many may not agree because the taste of this yogurt isn’t like other yogurts, I love this product! I am so happy such a healthy snack is available that’s compliant with my diet. If I can, I’ll add stevia or xylitol and very small amounts of berries for more sweetness. The real ingredients and balance of pre and probiotics is rare in a ready-made product.

Ame

Nope

1.0 rating
June 17, 2019

Bitter and too liquidy.

Ellen

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

16 Comments

  1. The vanilla flavor is really good. I recently cut out all dairy, processed sugar, and gluten due to an autoimmune diagnosis. It only recently occurred to me that I was no longer getting the probiotics I had been consuming for years eating traditional yogurts and many autoimmune disorders are directly related to gut health. Most plant-based yogurts or water-based Kefirs do not contain 50 billion live probiotic cultures. For me this is a win. The taste and texture of the vanilla I like. It has more of a kefir taste than a yogurt taste, which I don’t mind but could see where others would be put off. Protein is usually quite high in yogurt and this is relatively low but again my goal was increased probiotics, non-dairy, and no added sugars. I’m a fan so far. I bought it at Whole Foods and didn’t find it overly expensive.

  2. I just tried this yogurt yesterday and, I wasn’t disappointed. however, I do agree that is a bit pricey

  3. I tried the strawberry, and immediately checked the expiration date because I thought it had spoiled. After reading some of the reviews, I see other people felt the same way. The sour taste is out of control. Totally inedible!!!! I can’t even comment on the texture, which I didn’t notice because the taste was overwhelmingly disturbing. How is this on the market? It’s hidious!! I bought 3 other flavors, but I intend to return them to Whole Foods.

  4. I LOVE THIS YOGURT!!!! The plain is the best. I tried the strawberry and the tanginess (which i love in most cases) overpowered the strawberry flavor. However the plain is awesome. I love tangy yogurt and this hits the nail on the head. Reminds me of a thinner version of skyr in terms of tang. Not sure what one person was talking about as far as grittiness goes, maybe just their particular batch or a flavored variety but the plain and the strawberry had NO grittiness. Completely and lusciously smooth. I am mostly paleo although I consume grains in moderation as a treat but I’m strictly dairy free, organic, and clean ingredient eating as much as possible and Lavva has been one of the only yogurts to hit the mark. In the 16 oz tubs I can justify the purchase because I like it so much. The other yogurt I’ve tried and love is Anita’s but the cost is way too high so I had to stop buying. My favorite old way of eating yogurt was with a dash of honey and that’s what i do to doctor up the plain. I add a touch of honey, some fruit (cherries right now are my fav) and hazelnuts with a pinch of vanilla powder. DELISH!

  5. Tried the raspberry. The texture was fine after dumping some of the liquid out. However, the taste was a bit too salty and too sour for me. I like my yogurt tangy but this was too much. And why put salt in it??

  6. I found this at Whole Foods, and I was so happy to find a new vegan “yoghurt” choice, but then I tasted it. OMG, this is TERRIBLE! It tastes like someone spilled cornmeal and mustard in it. I thought the blueberry that I started with had gone bad, so I tried the strawberry–it was creamier, but nearly as inedible. I passed it around to three other family members, and no one survived. From five years old to fifty, the opinion was unanimously against this product. I honestly cannot imagine how this is considered desirable in any way other than on paper. Reality is a different story entirely.

  7. I have recently gained interest in consuming less dairy, and with that, found this dairy alternative yoghurt. While I understand it will never replace traditional yoghurt with dairy, the zest in this yoghurt, from the lime I am assuming, is inedible. I could not even close my mouth when I was chewing, it was just way too sour. It’s such a pity because I didn’t mind the texture, but I won’t be trying this again. I tried the raspberry flavor.

  8. I do appreciate the no sugar as most yogurts, dairy or non-dairy, are loaded with sugar. However, I found the Lavva to be inedible. It has a weird grainy texture and an earthy taste I just couldn’t stomach, even with fruit and nuts added. I threw it away after a couple of bites. It is honestly the WORST non-dairy yogurt I’ve tried since going vegan.

  9. I haven’t seen this one yet. I’ll have to check it out and see if I can find it and give it a try as we’re still on the hunt for one that my oldest loves.

  10. Our family has tried Lavva recently as well and we love love love it! I agree with the tartness (which is a plus in my book), and the texture is perfectly creamy. At its current price point, it will definitely be in the “treat” category for us, but well worth it for an amazing dairy-free alternative

    • Thanks for chiming in on this Virginia! I agree on the price – I haven’t found it in my local area yet, But $2 or more for a single dairy-free yogurt always makes me think twice.