Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

16

I have a gut feeling that Lavva Yogurt is exactly what many of you have been looking for. It’s a unique dairy-free blend that has absolutely no added sugars, contains natural prebiotics, and packs in 50 billion live probiotics per serving.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more information

Lavva Yogurt Overflows with Dairy-Free, Low Sugar, Probiotic Nutrition

Lavva Yogurt comes in several flavors, and is made with a base of coconut, pili nuts, and plantains. Coconut provides the creamy finish, plantains offer body and prebiotics, and the pili nuts add richness, minerals, and amino acids. Thanks to this magical combination, Lavva Yogurt is free of carrageenan and gums. It’s also made without any artificial additives, flavors, or colors. Consequently, it suits vegan, paleo, and Whole30 diets.

If you have tried Lavva Yogurt, please leave your rating and review below. It helps others, too!

Original

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, plantains, pili nuts, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 170 calories, 13g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Vanilla

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, vanilla (vanilla extract, vanilla bean seeds, lemon juice concentrate), plantains, pili nuts, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 6g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Strawberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, strawberry*, plantains, pili nuts, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 150 calories, 11g fat, 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Raspberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, raspberry*, plantains, pili nuts, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 140 calories, 11g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Blueberry

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, blueberry*, plantains, pili nuts, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 10g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Pineapple

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, pineapple*, plantains, pili nuts, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

Mango

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationIngredients: (*=organic) coconut water*, coconut cream*, mango, plantains, pili nuts, coconut powder*, cassava root*, lime juice*, himalayan salt*, live vegan cultures. Contains: pili nut and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce container): 160 calories, 11g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 7g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 2g protein.*

The vegan probiotic cultures used in Lavva Yogurt are L. Plantarum, S. Thermophilus, L. Bulgaricus, L. Acidophilus, Bifidobacterium Ssp. (B. Bifidum), L. Rhamnosus, and L. Delbrueckii.

Lavva Yogurt (Review) - Dairy-free, Vegan, Paleo-Friendly, Whole30-Approved Yogurt with No Sugar Added and 50 Billion Live Probiotics. 5 Flavors - we have the ingredients & more informationPhotos by Lavva.

The Facts on Lavva Yogurt

Price: $2.69 per 5.3-ounce single-serve cup and $6.99 per 16-ounce multi-serve tub.

Availability: Lavva Yogurt is available at Sprouts, Target, and Whole Foods stores nationwide in the U.S.

Certifications: We did not note any certifications for Lavva Yogurt.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Lavva Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, plant-based, vegetarian, paleo-friendly, whole 30 approved. But check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.

For More Product Information: Visit the Lavva website at lovvelavva.com.

Average Reader Review

3.1
3.1 rating
3.1 out of 5 stars (based on 159 reviews)
Excellent45%
Very good4%
Average6%
Poor5%
Terrible40%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Like Spoiled Yogurt

1.0 rating
August 9, 2020

i requested a refund because i thought the yogurt was spoiled…turns out, they all taste the same way. i left it for my boyfriend, in case it was palatable for him. He threw them out and was upset something like that was able to be sold.

Lee

By far the best vegan yogurt I've ever had!!

5.0 rating
August 7, 2020

I have tried both the strawberry and the original, and this is BY FAR the best vegan yogurt I’ve ever had. (For context: I love tart! Not a fan of bitter. And too sweet is too much.) The strawberry was exceptional from the first bite; perfectly tart and flavorful. The original takes a little more “getting used to”… A little more of an acquired taste. (So “original” is an apt name, vs “plain.”) I’m guessing that’s the pili nut flavor. It has an essense if sweetness but is still tart. (Must be a magic but! Haha.) Hands-down SO MUCH BETTER than any other vegan yogurt I’ve tried, and I’ve tried A LOT (almond, coconut, soy, …) Note: Lavva is mainly coconut based, but there is not an overt coconut flavor. And I love that this is no sugar added!! (Just 5 grams of natural sugar, I’m guessing from the plantains.) Vegan yogurt done right! This is now my go-to yogurt. Yum!!

Marlesha

great

5.0 rating
August 3, 2020

great alternative to dairy. Tastes different but isn’t that obvious!

naj

Love thy gut

5.0 rating
July 25, 2020

Yeah it’s sour but that means I KNOW how good it’s going to be for my GI tract. Did y’all like the taste of kombucha on the first try? No but you drank it for the benefits, and now you like kombucha huh? Hehe I prefer to get different sources of nutrients with everything I eat so I was excited to see something new. I am thankful I can get a different source of yogurt finally, and that they made an effort into combining coconut, plantains and Pili nuts because it’s important to switch up the sources of nutrients in your diet. I don’t know about y’all but I’m in it for my body, not 100% the taste. I know it’s an acquired taste but I’ll eventually love it just as I did with kombucha! LOVE THY BODY

Magda

I really wanted to love this

1.0 rating
July 22, 2020

Really, I did. I was actually really excited about it. But, the mango looks like thick yellow mustard and is very sour. The blueberry was better visually but wow, so sour. I couldn’t do it. Disappointed.

Sam

My least favorite plant based yogurt

1.0 rating
July 21, 2020

I tried the mango lavva yogurt and did not like it one bit. Maybe Pili nuts are an acquired taste? Will not be purchasing again.

Jen

Yuck. Taste is awful

1.0 rating
July 17, 2020

I drove 40 minutes to whole food and bought 8 cups of this yogurt… blueberry, raspberry and strawberry. They all taste nasty I’ve never had a yogurt that I had to throw in the trash after one bite

Misty

Excellent just with my gut and body needs

5.0 rating
July 7, 2020

This vegan yogurt may not be for everyone but if you have been struggling with your gut health for years and years like I have and have not been able to have dairy this is absolutely been a game changer – you get used to the taste it has a lovely change tang to it from the
Lime juice I can load this with wonderful gut healing fruit or just simply have it by self with a sprinkle of Himalayan sea salt in it and it’s dreamy I would highly Highly recommend this to anyone. It is incredibly clean and usually when you buy something with a flavor in it it kills the probiotics this is not true with this brand as it does not add any sugar this is a game changer

Amy

GREAT way to get probiotics for vegans!!!

5.0 rating
July 3, 2020

I LOVE LAVVA Vanilla plant-based yogurt — it tastes delicious with chopped walnuts. Sometimes I add raisins if I need something sweeter. What a huge treat. LOVE that it only has 9g carbs and LOVE that it is full of excellent, fresh, natural ingredients. Price is mighty steep, so it has to be a treat, rather than a daily food. But makes a great treat!!!

GreasepaintAnni

Label Changed... along with nutritional info? Pili nut no longer organic?

5.0 rating
July 2, 2020

Hi! I’m a big fan of the Original and the blueberry… in the batch I bought today, I noticed the fat, calories, and nutrition info has changed. More surprising, was that the pili nut is no longer listed as organic… has anyone else noticed this and have any info? Thank you!

Maggie

Response from Go Dairy Free

I’m not seeing any changes in the formula or nutrition facts, but it does look like they are no longer sourcing organic pili nuts.

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

16 Comments

  1. The vanilla flavor is really good. I recently cut out all dairy, processed sugar, and gluten due to an autoimmune diagnosis. It only recently occurred to me that I was no longer getting the probiotics I had been consuming for years eating traditional yogurts and many autoimmune disorders are directly related to gut health. Most plant-based yogurts or water-based Kefirs do not contain 50 billion live probiotic cultures. For me this is a win. The taste and texture of the vanilla I like. It has more of a kefir taste than a yogurt taste, which I don’t mind but could see where others would be put off. Protein is usually quite high in yogurt and this is relatively low but again my goal was increased probiotics, non-dairy, and no added sugars. I’m a fan so far. I bought it at Whole Foods and didn’t find it overly expensive.

  2. I just tried this yogurt yesterday and, I wasn’t disappointed. however, I do agree that is a bit pricey

  3. I tried the strawberry, and immediately checked the expiration date because I thought it had spoiled. After reading some of the reviews, I see other people felt the same way. The sour taste is out of control. Totally inedible!!!! I can’t even comment on the texture, which I didn’t notice because the taste was overwhelmingly disturbing. How is this on the market? It’s hidious!! I bought 3 other flavors, but I intend to return them to Whole Foods.

  4. I LOVE THIS YOGURT!!!! The plain is the best. I tried the strawberry and the tanginess (which i love in most cases) overpowered the strawberry flavor. However the plain is awesome. I love tangy yogurt and this hits the nail on the head. Reminds me of a thinner version of skyr in terms of tang. Not sure what one person was talking about as far as grittiness goes, maybe just their particular batch or a flavored variety but the plain and the strawberry had NO grittiness. Completely and lusciously smooth. I am mostly paleo although I consume grains in moderation as a treat but I’m strictly dairy free, organic, and clean ingredient eating as much as possible and Lavva has been one of the only yogurts to hit the mark. In the 16 oz tubs I can justify the purchase because I like it so much. The other yogurt I’ve tried and love is Anita’s but the cost is way too high so I had to stop buying. My favorite old way of eating yogurt was with a dash of honey and that’s what i do to doctor up the plain. I add a touch of honey, some fruit (cherries right now are my fav) and hazelnuts with a pinch of vanilla powder. DELISH!

  5. Tried the raspberry. The texture was fine after dumping some of the liquid out. However, the taste was a bit too salty and too sour for me. I like my yogurt tangy but this was too much. And why put salt in it??

  6. I found this at Whole Foods, and I was so happy to find a new vegan “yoghurt” choice, but then I tasted it. OMG, this is TERRIBLE! It tastes like someone spilled cornmeal and mustard in it. I thought the blueberry that I started with had gone bad, so I tried the strawberry–it was creamier, but nearly as inedible. I passed it around to three other family members, and no one survived. From five years old to fifty, the opinion was unanimously against this product. I honestly cannot imagine how this is considered desirable in any way other than on paper. Reality is a different story entirely.

  7. I have recently gained interest in consuming less dairy, and with that, found this dairy alternative yoghurt. While I understand it will never replace traditional yoghurt with dairy, the zest in this yoghurt, from the lime I am assuming, is inedible. I could not even close my mouth when I was chewing, it was just way too sour. It’s such a pity because I didn’t mind the texture, but I won’t be trying this again. I tried the raspberry flavor.

  8. I do appreciate the no sugar as most yogurts, dairy or non-dairy, are loaded with sugar. However, I found the Lavva to be inedible. It has a weird grainy texture and an earthy taste I just couldn’t stomach, even with fruit and nuts added. I threw it away after a couple of bites. It is honestly the WORST non-dairy yogurt I’ve tried since going vegan.

  9. I haven’t seen this one yet. I’ll have to check it out and see if I can find it and give it a try as we’re still on the hunt for one that my oldest loves.

  10. Our family has tried Lavva recently as well and we love love love it! I agree with the tartness (which is a plus in my book), and the texture is perfectly creamy. At its current price point, it will definitely be in the “treat” category for us, but well worth it for an amazing dairy-free alternative

    • Thanks for chiming in on this Virginia! I agree on the price – I haven’t found it in my local area yet, But $2 or more for a single dairy-free yogurt always makes me think twice.