Burger King – A Whopper of a Dairy-Free Menu

20

Last Update in October 2021! Although they have quite a few menu items, Burger King has a core set of ingredients, most of which are made without milk. Consequently, without cheese, the majority of their burgers, sandwiches and sides are actually dairy free. We have details on these items, including custom order options, allergen notes, differences between the U.S. and Canada, and even some vegan selections.

Burger King Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes

Burger King Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes & Vegan Options

Sadly, there are no longer dessert options at Burger King – the Dutch Apple Pie was discontinued. But they still have a full menu of items made without milk. We have the details below. This list is for the United States, but it also includes notes on Canadian options.

More Allergen Notes: Their fryer oil contains corn, canola, soy, and/or cottonseed oils. At last check, all menu items at Burger King were made without any peanuts or tree nuts. They do not have any gluten-free buns at this time. Their hand-breaded chicken does contain egg, but the nuggets and chicken fries do not.

Burgers

  • Double Whopper
  • Hamburger
  • Franken Whopper (Canada only)
  • Impossible Whopper (no mayo for vegan)
  • Rodeo Burger
  • Whopper
  • Whopper Jr.
  • Bacon Burger (no cheese)
  • Bacon King Burger (no cheese)
  • Double Bacon Burger (no cheese)
  • Double Burger (no cheese)
  • Double Quarter Pound King (no cheese)
  • Garlic and Bacon King Burger (no cheese)
  • Texas Whopper (no cheese)
  • Triple Whopper (no cheese)
  • Veggie Burger (Canada only)

Heads Up! Their Whopper Seasoning Blend is made without dairy. It is not standard practice for the buns to be buttered at Burger King, but individual franchises and managers can take liberties. Always verify if butter is used. Any fried items used on the burgers are cooked in a shared fryer, and of course there is a cross-contamination risk with cheese on the grill. If needed, speak with the staff to see if they can accommodate your needs.

Chicken & Fish

  • Big Fish Sandwich (U.S. only, contains milk in Canada)
  • BLT Chicken Jr.
  • Ch’King Sandwich
  • Chicken Fries
  • Chicken Jr. Sandwich
  • Chicken Nuggets
  • Crispy Chicken Sandwich (Canada only)
  • Deluxe Ch’King Sandwich
  • Deluxe Spicy Ch’King Sandwich
  • Original Chicken Sandwich (Canada only, contains milk in the U.S.)
  • Spicy Ch’King Sandwich
  • Spicy Chicken Jr. Sandwich
  • Spicy Crispy Chicken Sandwich (Canada only)

Heads Up! The hand-breaded chicken for the Ch’King Sandwiches in the U.S. is made without milk. They do not offer this line in Canada. Most Burger King locations do use shared fryers for all fried foods, so there is a cross-contamination risk for all menu items above.

Salads

Heads Up! The salads at Burger King do contain cheese and are also topped with croutons. You might be able to custom order a dairy-free salad without them. At last check, the croutons contained dairy, but we are verifying.

Dairy-Free Dressings (also vegan): Ken’s Golden Italian Dressing, Ken’s Lite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Other Sides

  • French Fries (vegan)
  • Onion Rings (vegan)
  • Popcorn Chicken (Canada only)
  • Spicy Popcorn Chicken (Canada only)

Heads Up! Most Burger King locations do use shared fryers for all fried foods, so there is a cross-contamination risk for all menu items above.

Dipping Sauces

  • Barbecue (vegan)
  • Honey Mustard
  • Sweet & Sour (vegan)
  • Zesty

Heads Up! In addition to the Ranch, the Buffalo Dipping Sauce also contains milk.

King Jr. Meals

  • Chicken Nuggets
  • Hamburger

Heads Up! The above can be ordered with Mott’s Natural Applesauce, French Fries, or Onion Rings (they do use a shared fryer) and apple juice for the drink. See the Dipping Sauce options above, and information on the sides above.

Breakfast

  • French Toast Sticks with Syrup (vegan)
  • Hash Browns (vegan)
  • Oatmeal (prepared with water; vegan)

Heads Up! You might be able to order some of their breakfast meats separately, but the breads used for their breakfast sandwiches contain milk. Most Burger King locations do use shared fryers for all fried foods, so there is a cross-contamination risk for the French Toast Sticks and Hash Browns.

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.

Burger King Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Allergen Notes

Where to Find Burger King

There are over 7000 Burger King locations in the U.S. and more than 17,000 worldwide. See the website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.

Website: www.bk.com

Average Reader Review

4.2
Rated 4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5 stars (based on 9 reviews)
Excellent56%
Very good33%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible11%

Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant

What Others Are Saying ...

A lot to choose from

Rated 4 out of 5
January 22, 2022

They certainly give you a lot to choose from. Only wish they had original chicken sandwich on the list.

Avatar for Barb
Barb

DF for baby

Rated 4 out of 5
November 19, 2021

Where did you verify the onion rings as being dairy free from? I’m dairy free for my baby and I think she had a reaction to them… we’ve never had cross-contamination issues before. I saw on their 2020 allergen menu it says they contain milk. I tried contacting Burger King multiple times but have yet to get a recent allergen list. Thanks!

Avatar for Laura
Laura

Response from Go Dairy Free

Hi Laura, if you just search for an allergen menu via google, you will usually be sent to old ones, and sometimes to ones for other countries. It’s important to go direct to the company for the latest one. I will message you directly with it. We don’t post links to the allergen information directly anymore, because those links change often. The information above is correct. At the time of writing, their onion rings no longer contain milk. But this can always change.

Dairy free for baby

Rated 5 out of 5
August 31, 2021

I can’t thank you enough for making my dairy free transition so easy. I picked up some Burger King today and out of curiosity I ordered a side of honey mustard (I don’t see it on the dairy free list above). For anyone who likes honey mustard, the packaging only listed egg as an allergen and I didn’t spot any dairy ingredients(USA)!

Avatar for Maya T
Maya T

Response from Go Dairy Free

Thank you for sharing this!

Good stuff

Rated 5 out of 5
June 28, 2021

Looks like we will be eating here more often for my milk allergy child

Avatar for Andrea d van buren
Andrea d van buren

Why state that the impossible burger is plant based?

Rated 4 out of 5
February 26, 2021

From your website I’m most disappointed but glad at the same time to know that the impossible burger which is touted to be “plant-based” contains egg. Incidentally it tastes quite good but I’ll have to avoid when I’m on my vegan fast.

Avatar for Johnny
Johnny

Dairy Free Life

Rated 5 out of 5
July 30, 2020

I really appreciate you listing out dairy free items. It’s no fun being allergic to dairy and you’ve made it easy for me and my family to choose dairy free options. Thanks again!

Avatar for Meshka
Meshka

Chicken Nuggets

Rated 1 out of 5
July 7, 2020

I had a bad reaction to the chicken nuggets. I’ve never had an issue with the shared friers at other fast food chains. Approach nuggets with caution

Avatar for Sydney Urben
Sydney Urben

Burger King really cares

Rated 5 out of 5
February 9, 2020

With easy to read allergen list, you don’t have to look around to find information. Their fries are great and a family hit.

Avatar for Cathy Duvall
Cathy Duvall

I do enjoy the chicken so thanks for not using milk in the batter.

Rated 5 out of 5
January 30, 2020

Not everyone is in need of gluten free items. Thanks for sharing the dairy free portion of your menu! I really do enjoy a BK every once in a while.

Avatar for barbara
barbara

For More Dairy-Free Guidance, Get Go Dairy Free!

Go Dairy Free 2nd Edition - The Ultimate Guide and Cookbook for Dairy-Free Living with Over 250 Recipes!

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

20 Comments

  1. I ate at Burger King yesterday and assumed that the French fries did not contain dairy. After feeling what feels like the affects of casein today, I looked on their website to find that the french fries are not okay for those with dairy allergies.

    • Hi Ann, please read the full post above, including the disclaimer. They are made without dairy, but there is a shared fryer cross-contamination risk as noted.

    • What about the new plant based burger? Does the bun have milk or eggs or any dairy in them? If so? Then the entire burger is not plant based

  2. The ingredients of the Dutch Apple Pie includes “margarine.” Wouldn’t that mean it’s not dairy-free? Unless they’re using vegan margarine, milk or milk-derived ingredients are usually in margarine.

    Discussion above talks about the buns containing dairy but the ingredients for sesame seed buns and potato buns don’t have milk ingredients.

    This is the current (updated Oct. 2017) ingredients list website/pdf link:https://www.bk.com/pdfs/nutrition.pdf

    • Hi Lee, there are actually quite a few margarines, especially used in commercial, are made without dairy. Restaurants often use different sources than what you or I buy at the store, and may use different margarines in different products. We can only go by what information they provide.

      Yes! The Potato and Sesame Buns are still on our “no dairy” list as the company still lists them as so. This list was updated in November, and we did review that ingredient information you linked to at that time. The info above should match that! But feel free to kindly let us know if you see a specific discrepancy. Reader feedback is always welcome to help keep things up to date! Thank you.

  3. Lisa Borchert on

    Your Pork Fritter sandwich is not listed anywhere. Does the breading contain dairy or do the stores receive the fritters boxed? Is dairy on the list of ingredients?

  4. I just bought a jr. whopper no cheese, no mayo and only ate 1/2 a roll. Within 20 minutes i had pain and nausea. I wanted to let others know that there must be dairy in the roll.

    • Hi Debbie, I just double-checked and all three of their bun options appear to be made without dairy. That’s not to say that there wasn’t cross-contamination at your location or it’s possible they buttered the bun?

      • Cathy Doherty on

        I asked and they said all buns had dairy. I also have a dairy allergy and can get very sick.

    • Cathy Doherty on

      There is! The allergen menu is WRONG! I almost did the same thing. I went in and asked. I am sorry you got sick. I could’ve gotten very sick from dairy too! I’m trying to contact the company.

      Cathy
      Upset costumer

  5. Thank you for your helpful website! My infant son is allergic to dairy, eggs and peanuts, so I’m eliminating these from my diet while I’m nursing. Your website has made it easier to find menus in one place! I did want to mention that it seems the updated menu from 2015 lists the French toast sticks as dairy free! Not like they’re actually healthy, but always nice to find safe snacks 🙂 http://www.bk.com/pdfs/allergens.pdf

  6. To clarify… If you did have an serious allergy and were choosing to eat somewhere and had read a printed listing online or in the store (where available, only found one place I eat at that has a binder of ingredients) you would obviously want to check if these are accurate as of the current date and whether they are abiding by them; but ignoring something more concrete to solely rely on humans who may have no idea or special knowledge, but leave you thinking they are some kind of specialized internal dietary and allergen specialist wouldn’t be a great idea.

  7. I hope they are not coating their chicken products in buttermilk and not sticking it in the ingredients listings. Or that certain locations are not altering products on their own. Makes it hard to avoid some of these allergens.

    Also the ask directly. I don’t understand why people recommend this, when I used to work at a restaurant (low level, not manager or cook) I had no idea about what ingredients were in what, this stuff is all processed and made elsewhere, and why would i know what is in it. I got no indication that anyone else had read product labels backward and forward or had printed listings to reference if asked.

    When I ask at a restaurant whether milk ingredients are in something i always just get a blank faced stare followed by them asking an assistant manager or manager who either responds with a blank faced stare or just guesses or says what they think, or what they think I want to hear. Personally, I don’t ever trust a human’s response. I usually just rely on the online ingredient listings and only resort to asking if I was not able find it online or forgot to look but managed to talk myself into eating somewhere on impulse.

    My milk issue isn’t anaphylactic type of issue though. It’s just an eosiniphilic allergy. If I had a potentially anaphylactic type, I’d be scared to trust human responses for reasons noted above. I doubt you will often get an accurate/knowledgeable response yet people feel obligated to respond or just do so anyway and may not qualify there level of knowledge.

    Just my opinion on everything.

  8. Just FYI I was double checking the link of their allergen info. The Onion Rings do contain whey, which breaks my heart. I Love BK fresh onion rings. Well, I used to anyway 🙂 Just trying to be helpful!

  9. I’m not sure I am understand what you are stating is dairy free from Burger King. Are you indicating that the chicken nuggets and breaded crispy chicken sandwiches are dairy free, but may be fried in oil that has been contaminated w/ dairy? If so, this is not true. I called them just yesterday, 4/20/13 and they say that their nuggets, strips, and crispy chicken sandwiches are coated with buttermilk which is obviously not dairy free. This makes me question whether the rest of the suggestions on your fast food dairy free menu options are truly dairy free.