Updated 2021! Unfortunately, as of our last review, Krispy Kreme only has black coffee, espresso, tea, and a few prepackaged juices and sodas to offer dairy-free consumers in North America. They use milk in all of their fancy coffee drinks and their doughnuts all contain dairy (dried milk powder). They can’t even be bothered with carrying a dairy-free milk beverage or creamer for their coffee and tea drinks.
I initially only included Krispy Kreme in our Fast Food listings because we get so many reader inquiries about this chain. BUT, I now have some good news for those of you in the United Kingdom …
Krispy Kreme Vegan Doughnuts Roll Out in the United Kingdom
Krispy Kreme wanted to start the year off right, so they launched their first doughnut without dairy and eggs! The new Krispy Kreme vegan doughnuts were inspired by the company’s original 1937 recipe. Yes, their founding shop was in the U.S., but they’ve opted to sell this rehashed creation in the very vegan-friendly U.K. market first.
Krispy Kreme has over 130 locations in the U.K., but you can also order their vegan doughnuts online for delivery. They currently come in Glazed Original, and have the following ingredients.
Vegan Original Glazed Doughnut Ingredients: doughnut [wheat flour (wheat flour, calcium carbonate, iron, niacin, thiamin), water, dextrose, palm oil, yeast, salt, wheat gluten, emulsifier (mono and diglycerides of fatty acids), raising agents (monocalcium phosphate, dicalcium phosphate), sugar, preservative (calcium propionate), stabiliser (carboxymethyl cellulose), firming agent (calcium sulphate), acidity regulators (ammonium sulphate, diammonium phosphate), flour treatment agent (ascorbic acid), anticaking agent (tricalcium phosphate)], glaze [sugar, water, calcium sulphate, agar, dextrose, locust bean gum, disodium phosphate, flavouring (vanilla), salt]. contains: gluten.
As for coffee drinks, it still looks like you have to order them black. But let us know if any dairy-free milk beverages pop up at your local Krispy Kreme!
More Details from Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
Ingredient Information: The only animal by-products used in our doughnuts are eggs (whites and yolks) and dairy products (including milk, butter, yogurt, whey, nonfat milk and nonfat whey). We use vegetable shortening (palm, soybean, and/or cottonseed and canola oil) for zero gram of trans fat per one serving of doughnut. All monoglycerides and diglycerides are vegetable based. Enzymes are also present. The lecithin we use is soy-based. We also use wheat in our doughnuts, including bran, germ, gluten, starch and flour.
Allergen Disclaimer: Our facilities produce products with peanuts, tree nuts, soy, milk, eggs, and wheat. We cannot guarantee that any other products are safe to consume for people with any of these allergies.
Restaurant Website: www.krispykreme.com
* The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information. Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation. For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information. If severe allergies or intolerances are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products. Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.
Last Updated: February 16, 2021
Average Reader Review
Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant
What Others Are Saying ...
Non dairy doughnuts please
They need to have non dairy doughnuts