Pita Pit


Go Dairy Free viewer Christina emailed an allergen chart that she received from Pita Pit. I recommend contacting them, via the website below to obtain an allergen chart. I was going to include details from the chart in our fast food listings, but they have something on it that creates a little too much ambiguity. While many of the items state that they do not contain dairy, several of those note “flavoring” which may contain any of the top eight allergens. Since that are is gray, I thought it best for you to review the allergen chart on your own.

That said, Pita Pit appears to still have many great dairy-free options, including ones without flavoring. As to be expected, the cheeses and many of the dressings contain dairy, but the pitas themselves and most of the other filling options are dairy-free (but take note of that flavoring issue!).

Some items to be aware of though, include the scrambled eggs, ancho chipotle sauce, pesto, prime rib, and roast beef. These are a few that DO contain dairy, which you might not expect.

Website: www.pitapitusa.com

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

Leave A Reply