Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies: This Year’s Selection …


Updated for 2022! Some of you may try to argue me (read on for the reasons why), but yes, by ingredients there are dairy-free Girl Scout cookies. In fact, these gems are labeled as egg-free and vegan, too. I know what you are thinking, “Sure, they have one measly tasteless wafer cookie, right?” Au contraire. This infamous cookie collection now has four cookie varieties that are made without milk or egg ingredients!

My curiosity was initially piqued when I received an email from my sister soliciting buyers for her oldest daughter’s girl scout troupe. I had assumed that all Girl Scout Cookies were off limits, but decided to do some research. I posted my initial findings, which were positively surprising. Now that niece is in her twenties, and the dairy-free Girl Scout Cookie options are still going strong.

Each year I update with the latest flavors, ingredients, and information. You can jump ahead to the different sections in this post with these links:

All Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies with Vegan Options - Ingredients, Allergen Information, Bakers, Recipes, and More!


The Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies Line-Up

At last check, the following Girl Scout cookie varieties were made without milk and egg ingredients, and were also vegan by ingredients. Please see the next section for full ingredient lists, allergen notes, and more.

  • Lemonades – “Savory slices of shortbread with a refreshingly tangy lemon icing”
  • Peanut Butter Patties – “Crispy vanilla cookies layered with real peanut butter and blanketed with a chocolaty coating”
  • Thin Mints – “The Girl Scout Cookie Sale’s number one seller”
  • Toast-Yay! – “French toast–inspired cookie dipped in delicious icing and full of flavor in every bite.”

Notes from our Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies Annual Updates

  • 2022 – This is a somber year for fans o dairy-free Girl Scout cookies. ABC Bakers discontinued their S’mores cookies (the version from Little Brownie Bakers has always contained dairy), and they finished the phase out of their Thanks-a-Lot cookies. This year’s new cookie, Adventurefuls, is also dairy-ful.
  • 2021 – This year we have all of last year’s cookies, plus they added dairy-free Toast-Yays!
  • 2020 – Same cookies. The new Lemon-Ups are not dairy-free. But, ABC Bakers has made their milk allergen warning more clear. See the notes below. Rumor has it that the Thanks-a-Lot are retiring after this year, so stock up if they’re your favorite!
  • 2019 – Same cookies, no major updates. ABC Bakers added a gluten-free Caramel Chocolate Chip cookie, but it isn’t dairy-free.
  • 2018 – Same cookies, but we added ingredients and allergen notes here and the ABC corporate name and website changed.
  • 2017 – The Cranberry Citrus Crisps were discontinued, but vegan Girl Scout S’mores were introduced by ABC Bakers.
  • 2016 – All of the dairy-free Girl Scout Cookie options remained unchanged.
  • 2015 – The Little Brownie Bakers manufacturer changed their Thin Mint formula to be kosher pareve. This makes Thin Mints the first nationwide dairy-free Girl Scout Cookie offering. The Girl Scouts added a new gluten-free cookie too, but alas, it isn’t dairy-free.
  • 2014 – To make room for new Cranberry Citrus Crisps in the dairy-free Girl Scout cookies 2014 line-up, the Mango Crèmes were discontinued.
  • 2013 – The Mango Crèmes replaced the short-lived Belgian-style Shout Outs!

All Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies with Vegan Options - Ingredients, Allergen Information, Bakers, Recipes, and More!

Very Important Notes on the Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies

Different Cookie Manufacturers!!!

There are two Girl Scout cookie manufacturers, both of which list the cookie ingredients on their websites. The above mentioned cookies are all produced by ABC Bakers. Interestingly enough, the core corporation behind ABC Bakers also runs a company called Norse Dairy Systems, but that is another story.

The other manufacturer, Little Brownie Bakers, changed the formula of their Thin Mints for 2015, so that they are now dairy-free! As of our most recent review, Thin Mints are the only dairy-free Girl Scout cookies made by Little Brownie Bakers. Do not mistake their Tagalongs, which do contain dairy, for the Peanut Butter Patties made by ABC Bakers.

Since my sister’s list of cookies available included all of the Little Brownie Bakers selection and none from ABC, this leads me to believe that the two companies split up who they supply to either by region or troupe. Sadly, this means your local troupe may not have ABC’s dairy-free Girl Scout cookies selection. If you’re craving more than Thin Mints, check online. I did spot a few troupes selling them on Ebay (is that in the rules?). Also, I’ve heard rumor that troupes may be able to request who the cookies are ordered from.

Ingredients & Allergen Labeling

In 2020, ABC Bakers added a “may contain” statement to all of their cookies. Previously, some had a “warning” label and others didn’t. This shouldn’t be news to dairy-free consumers, since I’ve always noted here that their cookies are certified OU-D, which means shared equipment with product containing dairy.

ABC Bakers has confirmed that nothing changed in their processes – the potential cross-contamination risk is no more or no less than in years passed. But they have now opted to add a “may contain” statement for top allergens on all of their cookies. This statement is very vague. See my notes below on cross-contamination potential.

Thin Mints (by Little Brownie Bakers)

  • All Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies with Vegan Options - Ingredients, Allergen Information, Bakers, Recipes, and More!Ingredients: Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), sugar, vegetable oil (palm kernel, palm and soybean oil), cocoa, caramel color, contains 2% or less of cocoa processed with alkali, invert sugar, leavening (baking soda, monocalcium phosphate), cornstarch, salt, sorbitan tristearate, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavors, oil of peppermint.
  • Contains: Wheat, soy
  • Allergen Information: No cross-contamination warning shown online and certified kosher parve.

Thin Mints (by ABC Bakers)

  • All Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies with Vegan Options - Ingredients, Allergen Information, Bakers, Recipes, and More!Ingredients: Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), sugar, vegetable oil shortening (palm and palm kernel oils), cocoa (processed with alkali), caramel color, high fructose corn syrup, salt, baking soda, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavor.
  • Contains: Wheat, soy
  • Allergen Information: As always, it is “Manufactured in a shared facility with: milk, peanuts, coconut” and certified kosher OU-D.

Toast-Yay! (by ABC Bakers)

  • Guide to Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies - Updated Annually! Includes Vegan and Gluten-Free OptionsIngredients: Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), sugar, palm oil, vegetable oil shortening (palm kernel and palm oils), cornstarch, invert sugar, cinnamon, salt, food starch-modified, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), soy lecithin, maple syrup, annatto extract (color), natural flavor, caramel color.
  • Contains: Wheat, soy
  • Allergen Information: It is “Manufactured in a shared facility with: milk, peanuts, coconut.” and certified kosher OU-D.

Lemonades (by ABC Bakers)

  • All Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies with Vegan Options - Ingredients, Allergen Information, Bakers, Recipes, and More!Ingredients: Enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), sugar, vegetable oil shortening (palm and palm kernel oils), cornstarch, corn syrup, leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda), salt, natural and artificial flavor, soy lecithin, annatto extract (color), citric acid, malic acid.
  • ContainsWheat, soy
  • Allergen InformationAs always, it is “Manufactured in a shared facility with: milk, peanuts, coconut” and certified kosher OU-D.

Peanut Butter Patties (by ABC Bakers)

  • All Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies with Vegan Options - Ingredients, Allergen Information, Bakers, Recipes, and More!Ingredients: Sugar, peanut butter (peanuts, palm oil, corn syrup solids, salt), enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oil shortening (palm and palm kernel oils), cocoa (processed with alkali), high fructose corn syrup, leavening (baking soda, monocalcium phosphate), soy lecithin, salt, natural and artificial flavor.
  • Contains: Wheat, soy, peanuts
  • Allergen InformationAs always, it is “Manufactured in a shared facility with: milk, peanuts, coconut” and certified kosher OU-D.

Cross-Contamination Potential

The above mentioned cookies produced by ABC Bakers are all certified kosher OU-D. They are made without milk ingredients, but the “D” likely means that they are processed on shared equipment with other milk-containing cookies. If you are dealing with a severe milk allergy or intolerance (or if you are concerned about cross-contamination of ingredients during the manufacturing process for any reason), then you must double check with the company to see if their processes are “safe” for your needs. Milk Allergy Mom weighed in on her own experience several years ago, but every person could be different and processes can change.

The Thin Mints made by Little Brownie Bakers are certified kosher pareve, but that still doesn’t guarantee safety if potential cross-contamination with dairy is a concern for you. Always contact the company!

Dairy-Free Doesn’t Necessarily Mean Healthy

Unfortunately these boxes of “American tradition” contain some not-so-traditional ingredients.  All of the varieties mentioned above contain hydrogenated oils and most contain high fructose corn syrup and some artificial ingredients. While I hesitate to actually recommend them from a health perspective, I do recognize the importance and symbolism of Girl Scout cookies for millions of people!

Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookie Recipes!

As another option, you can bake your own Dairy-Free Girl Scout Cookies! Here are two delicious recipes from my kitchen:

Dairy-Free Samoa (or Caramel DeLites) Girl Scout Cookies Recipe (also vegan)

Vegan Samoa Girl Scout Cookies Recipe (a.k.a. Homemade Caramel deLites) - a sample recipe from Go Dairy Free The Guide and Cookbook 2nd Edition

Dairy-Free Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies Recipe (optionally vegan)

Dairy-Free Girl Scout Thin Mint Cookies Recipe (optionally Vegan) - also nut-free and soy-free!

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


    • Not with the ABC Cookies manufacturer. See the “Very Important Notes” section in the post for clarification.

      Chocolate is often dairy-free (particularly semi-sweet and dark)

      • Della Lickteig on

        I’m a buyer of ABC cookies, for decades. I bought my first mints this March 2019 and the flavor has definitely changed. If the ingredients haven’t changed maybe the measurement of each ingredient changed. The flavor definitely changed how many i will end in a sitting. Barely 4 cookies. I will be sharing the rest.

          • Bought the s’mores based on your article for my wife who suffers from rheumatoid arthritis. Its says “contains milk and wheat” right on the label…..

          • It sounds like you bought the S’mores Cookies from Little Brownie Bakers, which are made with milk. Please read my article in full. As noted in several spots, there are two bakers, and it is the ABC Bakers’ S’mores Cookies only that are made without milk ingredients. If your local troops only sell the cookies made by Little Brownie Bakers, then only the Thin Mints are made without dairy.

  1. I have heard this. I also looked at a box of thin mints and they labeled milk in it. I think this is very misleading and in very poor judgement that anyone especially girl scouts would promote otherwise!! You have been the only one that I have heard explain the situation. No matter what the situation is girl scouts should be 100% reliable for misleading and false advertisement! I will no longer buy girl scout cookies.

    • Thank you much for the dairy free. Have bought mainly from ABC bakers but have had from both companies.
      Anxious to try toast yays.

  2. I hate to burst your bubbles, but technically there aren’t any truly vegan Girl Scout cookies. They all contain sugar which is bone-char processed. I highly doubt the manufacturers would spend extra money just to buy vegan sugar.

    • I just sent them a question about that because it is not showing it as organic or cane. People think that just because there supposedly isn’t dairy that they can say it is vegan. So tired of people claiming something is vegan when it isn’t.

  3. This article is marginally out of date. According to information which I am fairly certain is correct (and am looking to verify (read a few months ago and looking for source), ALL thin mints are now dairy, regardless of the bakery.

    • Hi Jeff, according to both manufacturers websites, this information is still correct. I updated it last year, and the status/ingredients have not changed – at least they aren’t reporting a change as of yet.

  4. While I know this discussion happened a couple of months ago, I thought I would add some info…

    Which bakery is used varies from council to council. In my state, there are two primary councils and a third council which is mostly in another state but covers a couple of towns in my state. My council uses ABC Smart Cookies (thankfully). The other primary council uses the other bakery.

    I can say that my dairy (and several other allergies including peanuts/tree nuts) has eaten the Thanks-A-Lot and Thin Mint cookies for the past few years and has had no issues.

    Also, I just wanted to add for the previous commenter – Tagalongs are on the list. They are known as Peanut Butter Patties from ABC Smart Cookies. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Meatless Mondays: Girl Scout Cookies | Tranquil Space Blog

  6. Each girl scout council should have a website. The council in my region lists information for their cookies on the council website. It lists the nutrition information and ingredients for each type of cookie. It appears as if all of the cookies listed by my region’s council are not the ABC cookies. There are no dairy free cookies listed. So, I would think that individual troops probably have no say in where they order the cookies from. The whole council is most likely the same.

  7. Allison. Buchholz on

    Where can I buy them? My siblings are allgeric to milk and we heard of these cookies and we wondered where we can order some. This would make my siblings very happy to eat Girl Scout cookies

  8. I am a Mother of a Girl Scout and a co leader for 2 years now. We live in MI and our state is split by which company bakes our cookies. I also know that our area switched bakers a few years back, and have done so several times in years past. Because of this I recommend asking/checking each year you order cookies. Better safe than sorry! 🙂

  9. Thank for this info! Now if they’d only make some or all of them vegan, gluten and soy free, a lot more would be sold!

  10. This is good news! A few cookies now and then won’t hurt, especially if you are exercising regularly. I never understood why the thin mint was a best seller. I’d rather have a mint chocolate (hard to find vegan, but not impossible). The other flavors sound great, so I’d probably have to try at least 2 or 3 boxes. I do dislike all the plastic packaging, however, so that might help me control my spending and consumption!

  11. I found out about the different bakers a few years ago. What I have done is calling the closest state with the correct baker and order them directly. They will ship them to you if you pay shipping. Nevada head office is who I have used, they are fantastic!

  12. I believe it is by either state or region that they are divided by. I live in Iowa and when I questioned dairy in Girl Scout cookies, I was directed to the Girl Scouts of Iowa website where I found that we have the vegan Thin Mints. Not sure if all states have their own website, but it’s worth a look. And if you can’t pass up the display at the store, you can, of course, check the ingredient label.

  13. Thank you! Thank you for this post! My order just arrived. I didn’t think I would be able to try them but lo and behold I have ABC Bakers Peanut Butter Patties.

  14. Is there any way by looking at a box to be able to tell which Manufacturer it came from?
    I am lactose intolerant, and have been craving girl scout cookies, but I don’t want to risk a reaction. Thank for the informative post!

Leave A Reply