Have you seen the yogurt section at your local natural food grocer as of late? It’s being taken over by dairy-free options! And Coconut Dream Non-Dairy Yogurt is the latest to encroach on a former dairy-rich space.
Coconut Dream Non-Dairy Yogurt possesses many surprising similarities to those well-known Yoplait yogurts. The sugars, calories and low-fat nature are nearly spot on (sadly no protein though), and the smooth, creamy but light and slightly gelatin-y consistency (don’t worry, they’re vegan!) boasts a remarkable resemblance to its dairy-rich nemesis.
Tasting Notes for Coconut Dream Non-Dairy Yogurt
All of the flavors have a similar sweet vibe that is mild, pleasant and indulgent. They lacked the tang that makes yogurt so recognizable. Although a squeeze of fresh lemon perfected the taste and heightened the delicious notes. We did find them too sweet and high in sugars for the morning, but as probiotic-rich (4 strains: L. acidophilus, bifidobacterium lactis, S. Thermophilus, L. Delbrueckii), high calcium (25% of the RDA) desserts, they were a definite hit.
As for the individual flavors, the taste of the Plain was pure, but fell just a little flat. It tasted only of cane sugar with just mild hints of coconut and no funny sweeteners. However, the Vanilla picked it up with a more well-rounded taste and was my hands-down favorite. That said, the Raspberry (pictured above), Strawberry (pictured below) and Blueberry varieties were true to their respective fruit. They had dessert-like appeal, especially when paired with fresh fruit! I recommend these for making parfaits or even frozen dessert.
The Facts on Coconut Dream Non-Dairy Yogurt
Certifications: Coconut Dream Non-Dairy Yogurt is Certified Kosher OU-D (it is dairy-free by ingredients, but dairy may be present on the lines – see our Understanding Kosher guide). It is labeled as gluten-free, vegan, and non-genetically engineered, but we did not note certifications for these.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Coconut Dream Non-Dairy Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the DREAM brand website at www.tastethedream.com.