So Delicious CocoWhip is a Cool Dairy-Free Whipped Topping

60

Did you know that non-dairy whipped toppings can contain milk protein (casein), and most do? Fortunately, there are some wonderful whipped toppings that are truly dairy-free, like So Delicious CocoWhip!

Similar to Cool Whip, CocoWhip comes in a convenient tub format in both Original and Lite varieties. But unlike mainstream brands, this dairy-free whipped topping is vegan, free of top allergens, kosher parve, and even carrageenan-free.

So Delicious Dairy Free CocoWhip Coconut Whipped Topping Reviews and Info

So Delicious CocoWhip is a Cool Dairy-Free Whipped Topping

CocoWhip is sold frozen, but it thaws into an aerated, fluffy consistency that keeps in the refrigerator for a week or so. It’s light yet very creamy with a sweet and indulgent flavor. Though I didn’t see vanilla in the ingredients, CocoWhip did strike our tasters as slightly vanilla, and it didn’t seem to shout coconut. But you might detect some tropical notes in the underlying flavor.

We haven’t tested CocoWhip in some of those Kraft-style recipes, like cream pies (be sure to leave a rating and review below if you do!). But we did use it as a dessert topping and it was fabulous. The one caveat is that it melted a little oddly atop hot desserts, but that didn’t deter from the taste.

Overall, we were impressed. Our dairy eating tasters thought CocoWhip dairy-free coconut whipped topping was quite close to Cool Whip in taste and consistency, but without a drop of dairy!

Original

So Delicious Dairy Free CocoWhip Coconut Whipped Topping Reviews and InfoIngredients: filtered water, organic coconut oil, organic tapioca syrup, organic cane sugar, pea protein, guar gum, sunflower lecithin, xanthan gum, natural flavor.

Nutrition (per 2 tablespoons): 30 calories, 2g fat, 4g carbs, 0g fiber, 2g sugars (includes 2g added sugars), 0g protein.*

Lite

So Delicious Dairy Free CocoWhip Coconut Whipped Topping Reviews and InfoIngredients: filtered water, organic tapioca syrup, organic cane sugar, organic coconut oil, pea protein, sunflower lecithin, guar gum, xanthan gum, natural flavor.

Nutrition (per 2 tablespoons): 25 calories, 1g fat, 4g carbs, 0g fiber, 2g sugars (includes 2g added sugars), 0g protein.*

More Facts on So Delicious CocoWhip Whipped Topping

Price: $4.99 per 9-ounce tub

Availability: So Delicious CocoWhip is sold in the freezer section of Whole Foods, Publix, Wegmans, and various natural food stores across the U.S. The Original version is also available in Canada.

Certifications: So Delicious CocoWhip is Certified Gluten-Free, Certified Vegan, Non-GMO Verified, and Certified Kosher Pareve.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, So Delicious CocoWhip is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*

For More Product Information: Visit the So Delicious website at www.sodeliciousdairyfree.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 14 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

CocoWhip Original where to buy?

Rated 5 out of 5
July 24, 2021

We love CocoWhip Original!! But by golly nowhere to be found anymore. We contacted So Delicious Dairy Free to find out why they are not supplying grocery stores anymore, 7-24-2021.

sol

Response from Go Dairy Free

There are a lot of food shortages going on again, and distribution continues to be an issue for many companies. But it hasn’t been discontinued.

THE BEST in DAIRY FREE TOPPING

Rated 5 out of 5
July 17, 2021

I can’t eat dairy and found this in our local store. It is the best I have ever had. Only complaint: It hasn’t been available in the Fred Meyer we use in quite a while.

Donald Lupien

My intro to Coco Whip

Rated 5 out of 5
May 18, 2021

I’ve never thought of trying it since I’m not a Cool Whip fan anyway, but this was a really pleasant surprise. It’s fab with frozen or fresh cherries, other berries, or virtually any other fruit!

S.Hunter

DELICIOUS!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 12, 2021

This is so delicious you won’t miss ice cream! You can pair it with just about any fruit or topping and it will be amazing!

Stacey

Beats Cool Whip by a mile

Rated 5 out of 5
April 4, 2021

I won’t touch Cool Whip which is a nasty concoction of hydrogenated oils, HFCS and a list of chemical ingredients. But it does have a texture that holds up in desserts where real whipped cream will fall apart. Coco Whip has that same consistency but tastes MUCH better and has none of the suspect ingredient list. It has real cane sugar, non-hydrogenated coconut oil, and some natural gums for thickeners. I can deal with that. And it really has a much fresher and more “real” taste that Cool Whip. Worth the extra cost!

marykb

Love it!! 💝

Rated 5 out of 5
November 29, 2020

I love it!! 💝

Brookelauren Kushell

Great as a topping!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 4, 2020

Love Cocowhip but wondering if I can substitute it for cool whip in my banana pudding recipe mixed with cream cheese

Sherry Johnson

Response from Go Dairy Free

Yes.

Amazing

Rated 5 out of 5
May 2, 2020

I add PB2 and mix it’s like eating the inside of a peanut butter cup. Amazing !!!

Gina Fagan

This is Amazing!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 2, 2019

I purchased this to use in my peanut butter pies for Thanksgiving this year. My adult daughter has become extremely lactose intolerant but the holidays are not the holidays without these pies. It was amazing! It performed as expected, took the place of the Cool Whip in my pies without a hitch. My daughter said she could taste just a hint of coconut but I couldn’t even taste that and she was SO excited to be able to eat her favorite treat again ( I had also purchased some dairy free cream cheese substitute which also worked well)
The one thing that was different in the way the products behave is that I usually sit the Cool Whip out to thaw for about an hour before using and the Cocowhip was a bit runnier after that amount of time so next go around we’ll shorten the thawing time.

Elizabeth

I eat this as is for a treat, it's that good

Rated 5 out of 5
October 21, 2019

Coco whip is exactly what satisfies my craving for something sweet, without causing too much damage. Plus the ingredients are all natural. Love that it is dairy free and KETO friendly.

Luna

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

60 Comments

  1. I’ve been oogling this stuff for awhile, but haven’t found it anywhere! Has anyone found this in Canada yet? Specifically, Saskatchewan or Alberta?? Online shopping is awesome for allergy stuff as we live in a super tiny town, 3hrs from a city! But frozen stuff is just not feasible… 🙁 Fingers crossed someone can point me in the right direction! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Over 100 Dairy-Free Ice Cream Toppings (Ideas & Recipes)

  3. Pingback: Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #16: Dessert for Breakfast! | the uncommon pearl

  4. This is one of my son’s favorite things. He takes two homemade cookies or Enjoy Life cookies and puts this in between for dessert. It is one of our household “staples.” We have only found it a Whole Foods.

  5. Who else will carry this product in Central California? Will Ralley’s or Savemart carry it too?

  6. Delicious … Did not quite know what it was… Tasted like ice cream but thought it
    Must be yogurt as was served at breakfast with fruit & Lupinola so checked with
    waitress and she explained it to me. I will certainly be going back for more at Larder
    In East Fremantle

  7. Pingback: Strawberry Sprinkle Protein Pancakes | Balanced Brunette

  8. WOW! And I will say it again – WOW – Best product I have discovered in 2015! I LOVE ice-cream, but I can’t eat it because I am lactose intolerant. It’s been years since I had real ice-cream down my tummy, which is great for my diet, but I am allowed for a cheat day. If it wasn’t for the dairy in ice-cream, I would indulge in cheating with some ice-cream.

    I looked for dairy free ice-cream online and ran into cocowhip blended with frozen fruits recipe – what a great idea! I thought it was too good to be true, and perhaps maybe the cocowhip would taste strange on its own, But NO! It taste delicious. It’s the BEST thing EVER! It’s as good as Crest’s new sense-strips!

    • Now that is a review! Thanks for weighing in Maria and so awesome to hear that you enjoyed it so much! We like it, too, and I hope it will be stocked even more this summer!

  9. Pingback: Dairy-Free Key Lime Cheesecake Bars Recipe

  10. I found this at my local Whole Foods today. It is amazing! A great dairy-free, healthier alternative to Cool Whip. I have not tried it thawed yet, but I ate a few bites of it frozen and it was delicious! So far, so good!!!

  11. Delicious! Tastes like coconut pudding, could eat it as a dessert not only a topping. Bought for someone who is dairy free, but everyone liked it, had it and Cool Whip, and we all ate the Coco Whip

  12. I came across it at a Whole Foods in NJ over the weekend when I was there to buy a gluten free crust to try out. They were in the same frozen case. I tried it on the pumpkin pie that I made using the So Delicious culinary light coconut milk. I think that the original version is a very good substitute for Cool Whip. I will buy it again.

  13. This stuff is SO GOOD. I got it from Whole Foods last month 🙂 I made an Oreo Freezer pie already and I have my friends munching on it, asking for more.

  14. Pingback: (Almost) Vegan Poke Cake - The Actor's Diet

  15. Pingback: Silken Dark Chocolate Pudding Recipe (Dairy-Free)

  16. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You. I am sooooo very happy. I can’t wait to try your Coco Whip. Where can I get it?

    • Hi Donna – this is a third party unbiased review, I’m not affiliated with the company. That said, I checked with them, and it is still rolling out to Whole Foods across the U.S. It is in some stores already, but should be in most by month end. They will ship to other stores (outside of Whole Foods) starting next year.