Forager Project Creamy Dairy-free Cashewgurt

80

Forager Project Cashewgurt is an organic, cashew-based, dairy-free yogurt alternative that comes in a solid array of flavors. And unlike many of their competitors, they do offer an unsweetened variety. They also boast relatively short ingredient lists and six different types of live and active cultures.

Forager Project Creamy Dairy-free Cashewgurt (Review) - vegan, soy-free, cashew-based yogurt in unsweetened + four flavors

Cashewgurt Unsweetened Plain Ingredients: Cashewmilk (filtered water, ground cashews), cassava root, cornstarch, locust bean gum, natural flavor, live active vegan cultures (5 strains).

The Unsweetened Plain Cashewgurt is much milder than Kite Hill’s Unsweetened Yogurt, which I liked. The cashews provide just enough natural sweetness to create a neutral-tasting yogurt without any overt sweet or sour notes. There is just a very light tang, with a rustic, natural, homemade taste and finish. Consequently, the pleasantly creamy consistency does taper off into a slightly separated aftertaste that is a wee bit watery and powdery. However, it wasn’t off-putting.

The very large 1 cup serving size of Cashewgurt (I usually had half this), contains 170 calories, 11g fat, 15mg sodium, 1g fiber, 2g sugar, and 5g protein. It is not fortified, so you won’t see notable amounts of calcium, vitamin D, or other infusions.

I’ve yet to taste-test any of the sweetened and flavored varieties, but will update here if I do. In the meantime, I welcome your comments if you have trialed any of the Cashewgurt flavors. The feedback helps everyone!

Forager Project Creamy Dairy-free Cashewgurt (Review) - vegan, soy-free, cashew-based yogurt in unsweetened + four flavors

The Facts on Forager Project Cashewgurt

Price: $1.99 per 5.3-ounce container; $5.99 per 24-ounce tub

Availability: Forager Project Cashewgurt Dairy-Free Yogurt is sold at natural food stores and select grocers, like Safeway, throughout the U.S.

Certifications: Forager Project Cashewgurt is Certified Organic and Certified Kosher Pareve.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Forager Project Cashewgurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian.

For More Product Information: Visit the Forager Project website at foragerproject.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

4.1
4.1 rating
4.1 out of 5 stars (based on 15 reviews)
Excellent60%
Very good20%
Average7%
Poor0%
Terrible13%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Yummy!

5.0 rating
September 5, 2019

The yogurt is thick, creamy, and tasty and best of all vegan! I particularly like the vanilla.

Lois

Vegan sour cream alternative!!!!

5.0 rating
August 10, 2019

I use this as others reviewers stated, as sour cream, mayo, & sauces/dressings. I will be very sad if they ever go away. I ❤ forager unsweetened yogurt and so grateful for it!

Glenda Anderson

Very pleased

5.0 rating
July 24, 2019

I can only review the plain but I love it as sour cream! I even use it to replace sour cream in most recipes but especially my ranch dressing. So thankful for this product.

Rhonda

The strawberry cashewgurt makes your belly feel awesome!

5.0 rating
July 24, 2019

This drinkable yogurt tastes great and makes you go (wink wink). I’ve never felt better.

Demonica

FORAGER ORGANIC DAIRY FREE CASHEWGURT BLUEBERRY

5.0 rating
July 1, 2019

Unfortunately I can no longer enjoy regular yogurts and have tried different types and discovered Forager organic dairy free cashewgurt blueberry and enjoy it very much. I am very happy finding this since I enjoyed yogurt every day. I do add extra blueberries and consider this a treat. Love this

Shirley Letts

BEST Dairy Free Yogurt

5.0 rating
June 14, 2019

The unsweetened cashewgurt is my holy grail product!!! I use it in place of sour cream, mayo and it makes a mean pasta sauce with some herbs and garlic. Definitely an earthy flavor with a very subtle tang which I personally really enjoy. I prefer to use it as an all purpose product but its nice as a yogurt as well. Throw in some simmered berries and toasted almonds.. SO good. Low sugar, vegan, sustainable, organic, versatile.

Kirstie

I really did try

1.0 rating
June 2, 2019

Extremely sour and strangely runny, not like other non dairy yogurts out there.

Narcol

Loved It!

5.0 rating
May 7, 2019

I tried the Strawberry Cashewgurt. I was pleasantly surprised with the almost zero tang/bitter taste! I am waiting for a “light” version with less sugar.

Linda

No can do

1.0 rating
May 6, 2019

I really wanted to like it but I could barely stomach the taste.

Ann Schrader

INGREDIENT

4.0 rating
April 28, 2019

One ingredient (cornstarch) I disagree…KUDZU or KEFIR would be a BETTER choice.

Judy

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

80 Comments

    • Hi Theresa, it is a certified organic product, so yes, all of the ingredients, including the cornstarch, are non-GMO. Organic certification doesn’t permit the use of GM ingredients.

      • I just bought the plain unsweetened at Safeway and it no longer contains cornstarch or natural flavors. (I guess they realized that cornstarch is not “grain-free” since it is made from corn).

        I wasn’t a huge fan after considerably trying to doctor the taste. It was okay after adding ripe banana, vanilla, cinnamon and stevia. I haven’t gone dairy-free yet so I probably will stick with my regular greek yogurt, but I can see how it would be nice to have this as an option if I do decide to go dairy-free.

      • Dom Del Prete on

        I never purchased non-dairy yogurt before, so I tried this product because it was on sale at Whole Foods, and I loved it. Gradually, I am naturally moving towards a plant-based diet, so I will be buying this delicious product again.

  1. Thanks for your review. I have a couple of concerns with this product, more so the flavored varieties. First, the protein content is extremely low for yogurt. 4 ounces of Cashewgert contain only 2 grams of protein, compared with 11 grams of protein in 4 ounces of real yogurt. Second, the sugar content of the flavored varieties is very high (12 grams of sugar per 4-ounce container), making it comparable to Yoplait. As protein helps to slow the absorption of sugar into the bloodstream, the low protein and high sugar content of this product doesn’t sound very healthy at all. And as you mentioned, it is lacking the nutrients that you would find in fortified products.

    I appreciate organic products, but aside from that, there seems to be little nutritional benefit to eating this product. It is more of a pudding/dessert than a yogurt. Soy yogurt may still be the best option for dairy-free yogurt, at 4.5 grams of protein per 4 ounces.

    • I’ve only tried the Unsweetened Susan, which had no added sugar. As for purpose, I can’t argue you on your protein concerns, but most people eat yogurt for the probiotics, and all of these brands have them. Also, it’s a great alternative for some people in recipes like dips.

  2. I stumbled across this on sale at Whole Foods so I bought a lemon one (because that was the only flavor left on the shelf). Must be the least favorite flavor and now I know why. It tastes like nasty bottled lemon juice. I liked the texture of the yogurt and am willing to give another flavor a try but the lemon one is awful.

    • I agree – just tried the lemon, as it, too, was the only one left on the shelf. It was so nasty I couldn’t finish it. Not thrilled about the sugar, as sugar negates the benefits of the probiotics. Even with all the sugar (second ingredient), it still tasted horrible. I wouldn’t recommend this yogurt at all.

  3. My son and I have been eating dairy free for a year. A few months ago I spotted this yogurt and gave it a try. It is by far the closest tasting to milk yogurt I have ever had. The plain option so I can cook with it has got me hooked. Had a little scare a few weeks back when Whole Foods didn’t have it in stock for almost 3 weeks! It’s back now and hopefully to stay.

      • Me too, Whole foods ran out and ate been 2 weeks. Whats up with that and why isn’t this product sold nationwide everywhere…

        • This is still a relatively new brand and it can be really hard to gain distribution, especially for refrigerated products (cool shelf space is limited!). But you can ask your Whole Foods store about it to ensure they restock.

    • HAHAHA !! I too had a panic when every Whole Foods around me ran out of it a couple of weeks ago. Being Indian, we use yogurt in many, many savory dishes. My parents are dairy yogurt snobs, looking down their nose at all the dairy-free yogurts I’ve gotten, EXCEPT THIS ONE (plain & unsweetened). I too feel so empowered being vegan with this yogurt. I substitute it in recipes calling for mayo, sour cream, buttermilk, anything creamy. I am trying to eat low fat as well. Mainly I make salad dressing & veggie dip with it .

  4. It’s softer and more drippy than i thought it would be, i had the plain -just bought a small cup because it’s much more in NYC and i’ve had too many terrible nondairy yogurts.
    I used it for overnight oats, added 1/3c oats, some chopped walnuts, chopped apple, and cinnamon. This was SO filling it was two breakfast portions even though it doesn’t look like a lot. I added a dribble of honey just before eating since the plain needs that.
    I’ll gladly buy more plain next time i’m at the store that sells these. Didn’t see the larger tub

  5. I love these yogurts! Good stuff….have used the pain in baking with good results as well.

  6. I think you have a typo in the first paragraph! “Forager Project has burst onto the dairy-free scene with a huge range ((((or)))) creamy products. Many have looked intriguing, but it was the large tub of Cashewgurt that provoked me to open my pocketbook.”
    I think it should say of?

    Love your blog anyways!

  7. I’ve had the vanilla, strawberry, and blueberry. Fair amount of sugar but so creamy and delicious! Vanilla is easily my favorite, but blueberry is also pretty tasty.

  8. Thanks so much for this information. I have been looking for dairy-free yogurt for a while now. I can’t wait to get this.