Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt boasts clean Organic Ingredients

80

Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt, formerly known as Cashewgurt, is an organic, cashew-based, dairy-free alternative that comes in a solid array of flavors. And unlike many of their competitors, they do offer an unsweetened variety. They also boast relatively short ingredient lists and six different types of live and active cultures.

I’m updating this post in 2020 since they’ve added some new flavors and changed the formula a touch since our initial review. See the consumer reviews below to find out what other think (and leave your own if you’ve tried it)!

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: Unsweetened Plain

Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt boasts clean Organic, Dairy-Free Ingredients

When we sampled the Unsweetened Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt, I found that it was much milder than Kite Hill’s Unsweetened Yogurt. The cashews provided just enough natural sweetness to create a neutral-tasting yogurt without any overt sweet or sour notes. There is just a very light tang, with a rustic, natural, homemade taste and finish. Consequently, the pleasantly creamy consistency tapered off into a slightly separated aftertaste that was a wee bit watery and powdery. But they might have remedied this with the new formula – it now contains a bit of coconut cream and no cornstarch.

Unsweetened Plain (available in single-serve & multi-serve)

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: Unsweetened PlainIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), tapioca starch*, locust bean gum*, coconut cream*, locust bean gum*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 110 calories, 7g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 1g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Unsweetened Vanilla (available in multi-serve)

Forager Cashewmilk Yogurt in Unsweetened VanillaIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), tapioca starch*, natural flavor*, locust bean gum*, coconut cream*, vanilla beans*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 110 calories, 7g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 1g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Vanilla (available in single-serve & multi-serve)

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: VanillaIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, tapioca starch*, pectin, locust bean gum*, natural flavor, vanilla beans*, lemon juice concentrate*, coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 19g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Blueberry

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: BlueberryIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, blueberries*, tapioca starch*, pectin, locust bean gum*, natural flavor, fruit and vegetable juice* (for color), lemon juice concentrate*, coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 19g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Strawberry

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: StrawberryIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, strawberries*, tapioca starch*, pectin, locust bean gum*, natural flavor, vegetable juice (for color), lemon juice concentrate*, coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 20g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Cherry

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: CherryIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, tapioca starch*, cherries*, pectin, locust bean gum*, lemon juice concentrate*, natural flavor, fruit juice* (for color), coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 20g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Lemon

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: LemonIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, tapioca starch*, lemons*, pectin, locust bean gum*, lemon juice concentrate*, natural flavor, tumeric extract* (for color), coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 20g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

How Many Probiotics are in Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt?

As noted above, Forager uses six different probiotic strains, and each serving of Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt contains 1 billion live active probiotic CFUs. This information is directly from the company.

Forager Project Creamy Dairy-free Cashewgurt (Review) - vegan, soy-free, cashew-based yogurt in unsweetened + four flavors

The Facts on Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt (formerly Cashewgurt)

Price: $1.99 per 5.3-ounce container; $5.99 per 24-ounce tub

Availability: Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt is sold at natural food stores and select grocers, like Safeway, throughout the U.S.

Certifications: Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt is Certified Organic and Certified Kosher Pareve.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian.

For More Product Information: Visit the Forager Project website at foragerproject.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

3.4
Rated 3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5 stars (based on 39 reviews)
Excellent41%
Very good13%
Average13%
Poor13%
Terrible20%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Used to be my favorite

Rated 2 out of 5
March 15, 2021

I don’t know what’s happened to this yogurt. It used to be my favorite. Now it’s just inconsistent, usually watery and too thin to use in any way I’d use yogurt (even as a dip). I’m done wasting my money on this. I’ll buy Kite Hill instead. At least it’s always consistent and I don’t have to throw it out every other time I buy it.

Annie

Vanilla Bean Cashewmilk Yogurt

Rated 5 out of 5
March 14, 2021

I tried the vanilla flavored cashew yogurt and, as a yogurt lover, did not expect much. At first, I wasn’t sure about the taste, but gradually grew accustomed to it. Now I love it, and especially as it has such healthy ingredients and is organic, and won’t hurt animals. I am looking forward to trying the others.

Faye Harbottle

Tincture of sock

Rated 2 out of 5
March 7, 2021

Yeah – tried a small container of the blueberry flavor that was an extra thrown into a food order. Won’t be doing that again. The texture was odd – somewhere between kefir and a thinner yogurt; the flavor had a vaguely odd tang as if the culture has some funk to it. It wasn’t horrible, but it also wasn’t pleasant enough to want to go back for seconds.

BD

Sour

Rated 1 out of 5
February 5, 2021

I’m eating the Unsweetened Plain flavor for the first time and it tastes overwhelmingly sour. Not sure if this is normal but it says the expiration isn’t for another month so I can’t imagine it’s gone bad already. I’ve added honey, mango and coconut flakes to try to mask the taste but it’s still inedible. I feel as though it will make me sick if I eat the whole thing.

Nicole

Inconsistent consistency

Rated 3 out of 5
February 1, 2021

I actually prefer the more runny version. I recently got a clumpy, gloppy, gel-like mess. the texture is disgusting. It’s expiration date is a month from now.What has happened?

Olivia

Response from Go Dairy Free

Over the years, I’ve found it’s not uncommon to get bad yogurt batches. Hopefully, it’s a temporary issue!

Disappointed

Rated 2 out of 5
December 24, 2020

I started buying the 24oz Vanilla Bean about 1 year ago. I purchase about 6 containers a week. Now I am done. It started with being nice and creamy now every container its like a surprise thick or watery?! I complained to customer service like 4 months ago and they said it should never happen again. Every single batch is a surprise. I am not spending $5.99 per container for water down yogurt. Very disappointed because I loved the taste!

Kathy P.

SIMPLY FANTASTIC!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 21, 2020

Take one single bite of this vegan yogurt and you’ll be HOOKED! It’s absolutely delicious, which explains why we ordered 16 containers in two days. Incredible, real yogurt taste without the dangerous dairy.

JJP

Cottage cheese-like consistency??

Rated 1 out of 5
December 10, 2020

I know many people are saying in their reviews that the yogurt is super runny but I recently bought some that is a grainy, goopy, cottage cheese-like consistency. Like I had to mix it a lot in the container because it was so thick and even then it had this odd grainy texture. This was my first time trying this brand of dairy-free yogurt so I’m not sure if this is normal. Possible I got a bad batch or it wasn’t handled well in transit… but they’re going to have to make some serious changes for me to buy again.

Mitra

Terrible taste

Rated 1 out of 5
November 18, 2020

Our family was excited to see this yogurt, yet none of us found it to even be edible. Wondering if someone this was at one time before our purchase possible not refrigerated and spoiled. We are not terribly picky people, but this was very awful tasting…almost a rotten flavor.

Debra

Something has changed

Rated 1 out of 5
November 4, 2020

I used to eat 2-3 tubs a day of the unsweetened plain, loved it so much, would even dip my pretzels in it! But something has changed, it’s now as thin as milk, it’s really bad. Very disappointed.

Mimi

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

80 Comments

    • Hi Theresa, it is a certified organic product, so yes, all of the ingredients, including the cornstarch, are non-GMO. Organic certification doesn’t permit the use of GM ingredients.

      • I just bought the plain unsweetened at Safeway and it no longer contains cornstarch or natural flavors. (I guess they realized that cornstarch is not “grain-free” since it is made from corn).

        I wasn’t a huge fan after considerably trying to doctor the taste. It was okay after adding ripe banana, vanilla, cinnamon and stevia. I haven’t gone dairy-free yet so I probably will stick with my regular greek yogurt, but I can see how it would be nice to have this as an option if I do decide to go dairy-free.

      • Dom Del Prete on

        I never purchased non-dairy yogurt before, so I tried this product because it was on sale at Whole Foods, and I loved it. Gradually, I am naturally moving towards a plant-based diet, so I will be buying this delicious product again.

  1. Thanks for your review. I have a couple of concerns with this product, more so the flavored varieties. First, the protein content is extremely low for yogurt. 4 ounces of Cashewgert contain only 2 grams of protein, compared with 11 grams of protein in 4 ounces of real yogurt. Second, the sugar content of the flavored varieties is very high (12 grams of sugar per 4-ounce container), making it comparable to Yoplait. As protein helps to slow the absorption of sugar into the bloodstream, the low protein and high sugar content of this product doesn’t sound very healthy at all. And as you mentioned, it is lacking the nutrients that you would find in fortified products.

    I appreciate organic products, but aside from that, there seems to be little nutritional benefit to eating this product. It is more of a pudding/dessert than a yogurt. Soy yogurt may still be the best option for dairy-free yogurt, at 4.5 grams of protein per 4 ounces.

    • I’ve only tried the Unsweetened Susan, which had no added sugar. As for purpose, I can’t argue you on your protein concerns, but most people eat yogurt for the probiotics, and all of these brands have them. Also, it’s a great alternative for some people in recipes like dips.

  2. I stumbled across this on sale at Whole Foods so I bought a lemon one (because that was the only flavor left on the shelf). Must be the least favorite flavor and now I know why. It tastes like nasty bottled lemon juice. I liked the texture of the yogurt and am willing to give another flavor a try but the lemon one is awful.

    • I agree – just tried the lemon, as it, too, was the only one left on the shelf. It was so nasty I couldn’t finish it. Not thrilled about the sugar, as sugar negates the benefits of the probiotics. Even with all the sugar (second ingredient), it still tasted horrible. I wouldn’t recommend this yogurt at all.

  3. My son and I have been eating dairy free for a year. A few months ago I spotted this yogurt and gave it a try. It is by far the closest tasting to milk yogurt I have ever had. The plain option so I can cook with it has got me hooked. Had a little scare a few weeks back when Whole Foods didn’t have it in stock for almost 3 weeks! It’s back now and hopefully to stay.

      • Me too, Whole foods ran out and ate been 2 weeks. Whats up with that and why isn’t this product sold nationwide everywhere…

        • This is still a relatively new brand and it can be really hard to gain distribution, especially for refrigerated products (cool shelf space is limited!). But you can ask your Whole Foods store about it to ensure they restock.

    • HAHAHA !! I too had a panic when every Whole Foods around me ran out of it a couple of weeks ago. Being Indian, we use yogurt in many, many savory dishes. My parents are dairy yogurt snobs, looking down their nose at all the dairy-free yogurts I’ve gotten, EXCEPT THIS ONE (plain & unsweetened). I too feel so empowered being vegan with this yogurt. I substitute it in recipes calling for mayo, sour cream, buttermilk, anything creamy. I am trying to eat low fat as well. Mainly I make salad dressing & veggie dip with it .

  4. It’s softer and more drippy than i thought it would be, i had the plain -just bought a small cup because it’s much more in NYC and i’ve had too many terrible nondairy yogurts.
    I used it for overnight oats, added 1/3c oats, some chopped walnuts, chopped apple, and cinnamon. This was SO filling it was two breakfast portions even though it doesn’t look like a lot. I added a dribble of honey just before eating since the plain needs that.
    I’ll gladly buy more plain next time i’m at the store that sells these. Didn’t see the larger tub

  5. I love these yogurts! Good stuff….have used the pain in baking with good results as well.

  6. I think you have a typo in the first paragraph! “Forager Project has burst onto the dairy-free scene with a huge range ((((or)))) creamy products. Many have looked intriguing, but it was the large tub of Cashewgurt that provoked me to open my pocketbook.”
    I think it should say of?

    Love your blog anyways!

  7. I’ve had the vanilla, strawberry, and blueberry. Fair amount of sugar but so creamy and delicious! Vanilla is easily my favorite, but blueberry is also pretty tasty.

  8. Thanks so much for this information. I have been looking for dairy-free yogurt for a while now. I can’t wait to get this.