Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt boasts clean Organic Ingredients

80

Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt, formerly known as Cashewgurt, is an organic, cashew-based, dairy-free alternative that comes in a solid array of flavors. And unlike many of their competitors, they do offer an unsweetened variety. They also boast relatively short ingredient lists and six different types of live and active cultures.

I’m updating this post in 2020 since they’ve added some new flavors and changed the formula a touch since our initial review. See the consumer reviews below to find out what other think (and leave your own if you’ve tried it)!

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: Unsweetened Plain

Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt boasts clean Organic, Dairy-Free Ingredients

When we sampled the Unsweetened Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt, I found that it was much milder than Kite Hill’s Unsweetened Yogurt. The cashews provided just enough natural sweetness to create a neutral-tasting yogurt without any overt sweet or sour notes. There is just a very light tang, with a rustic, natural, homemade taste and finish. Consequently, the pleasantly creamy consistency tapered off into a slightly separated aftertaste that was a wee bit watery and powdery. But they might have remedied this with the new formula – it now contains a bit of coconut cream and no cornstarch.

Unsweetened Plain (available in single-serve & multi-serve)

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: Unsweetened PlainIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), tapioca starch*, locust bean gum*, coconut cream*, locust bean gum*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 110 calories, 7g fat, 9g carbs, 1g fiber, 1g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Vanilla (available in single-serve & multi-serve)

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: VanillaIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, tapioca starch*, pectin, locust bean gum*, natural flavor, vanilla beans*, lemon juice concentrate*, coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 19g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Blueberry

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: BlueberryIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, blueberries*, tapioca starch*, pectin, locust bean gum*, natural flavor, fruit and vegetable juice* (for color), lemon juice concentrate*, coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 19g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Strawberry

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: StrawberryIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, strawberries*, tapioca starch*, pectin, locust bean gum*, natural flavor, vegetable juice (for color), lemon juice concentrate*, coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 20g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Cherry

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: CherryIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, tapioca starch*, cherries*, pectin, locust bean gum*, lemon juice concentrate*, natural flavor, fruit juice* (for color), coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 20g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

Lemon

Forager Project Cashewgurt / Cashewmilk Yogurt Reviews and Information. We have ingredients, ratings, and more for this natural, vegan, soy-free yogurt line. Pictured: LemonIngredients: cashewmilk (filtered water, cashews*), cane sugar*, tapioca starch*, lemons*, pectin, locust bean gum*, lemon juice concentrate*, natural flavor, tumeric extract* (for color), coconut cream*, live active cultures (s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidus, l. lactis, l. plantarum). *organic. Contains: cashews and coconut.*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce cup): 140 calories, 6g fat, 20g carbs, 1g fiber, 12g sugars (includes 11g added sugars), 3g protein.*

How Many Probiotics are in Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt?

As noted above, Forager uses six different probiotic strains, and each serving of Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt contains 1 billion live active probiotic CFUs. This information is directly from the company.

Forager Project Creamy Dairy-free Cashewgurt (Review) - vegan, soy-free, cashew-based yogurt in unsweetened + four flavors

The Facts on Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt (formerly Cashewgurt)

Price: $1.99 per 5.3-ounce container; $5.99 per 24-ounce tub

Availability: Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt is sold at natural food stores and select grocers, like Safeway, throughout the U.S.

Certifications: Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt is Certified Organic and Certified Kosher Pareve.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Forager Project Cashewmilk Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian.

For More Product Information: Visit the Forager Project website at foragerproject.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

3.8
3.8 rating
3.8 out of 5 stars (based on 28 reviews)
Excellent50%
Very good15%
Average14%
Poor7%
Terrible14%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

What happened?

2.0 rating
October 6, 2020

Forager unsweetened almond milk yogurt is normally my go-to. The last tub I bought is almost as runny as almond milk itself. Like, won’t stay on your spoon runny, and just pours out of the container. Bad batch, or changed formula?? Will be switching to another brand.

Anna

Yogurt is good but...

3.0 rating
September 22, 2020

Runny. I bought the plain cashew yogurt in August and loved it with some berries and almonds. I bought it today and it’s like soup ☹️ Too runny.

Karen

Runny yogurt is a deal breaker

3.0 rating
September 20, 2020

I adored this plain yogurt when it was firm. Now it is runny so I will be switching to a different brand

Julie

Sour cream like

4.0 rating
September 1, 2020

I am attempting a keto walk. So snack options is what I was looking for. I wanted to move away from overly sweetened yogurt but I wanted a yogurt type option. Initially I was skeptical about the texture. I added granola and fruit. And I’m a fan. I will also use it for taco and taco salad bowls as it’s not sweet. I’m pleased with my first experience.

Deni Harrison

Hmmmm...

3.0 rating
August 11, 2020

I just tried this for the first time… plain, unsweetened. I took a few bites- and will try again tomorrow. I’m a huge fan of Lavva original- this was very different! I’m not giving up – and it is an unusual taste… but so is Lavva- ha ha. Tomorrow I’ll add a banana and see what I think. Does anyone else eat Lavva as well as this one? And if so, any opinion on which is “healthier?” “Cleaner?” Any thoughts would be so, so appreciated!

Maggie

Response from Go Dairy Free

I think it comes down to preference. Forager is more about the probiotics, culturing, and no sugars (with this one). Lavva has natural prebiotics, which helps with the probiotics, and no gums added. They’re both pretty “clean,” just different.

Whole30 Yogurt!

5.0 rating
July 31, 2020

This is a great light source of healthy fats and protein for Whole30 breakfasts. I’m going to try blending it with berries and chia seeds to make some mini frozen yogurt pops.

Melissa Jurrens

Love-but less plastic?

4.0 rating
July 30, 2020

For the negative reviewers: did you try the flavored ones? I personally can’t stand the plain unsweetened (good idea as sour cream alternative though), but really love the Vanilla Bean for parfaits. The texture is a bit gooey but I got over that easily. Only wish they could transition to less wasteful packaging.

Avery

Horrible

1.0 rating
July 13, 2020

I tried the plain one and it had this sickenly sweet and gross aftertaste. No cashew flavor at all. It made my stomach feel very queasy afterwards and I couldn’t eat the rest of the day afterward 🙁

Rachel

It's wonderful!!

5.0 rating
July 10, 2020

It tastes great. It’s the best milk alternative I’ve had!! Thumbs up!!!!!

Robin

Gooey

1.0 rating
June 20, 2020

Sorry, the texture of this was just gross. Couldn’t stand it. Gooey in a weird way.

Bunpoh

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

80 Comments

    • Hi Theresa, it is a certified organic product, so yes, all of the ingredients, including the cornstarch, are non-GMO. Organic certification doesn’t permit the use of GM ingredients.

      • I just bought the plain unsweetened at Safeway and it no longer contains cornstarch or natural flavors. (I guess they realized that cornstarch is not “grain-free” since it is made from corn).

        I wasn’t a huge fan after considerably trying to doctor the taste. It was okay after adding ripe banana, vanilla, cinnamon and stevia. I haven’t gone dairy-free yet so I probably will stick with my regular greek yogurt, but I can see how it would be nice to have this as an option if I do decide to go dairy-free.

      • Dom Del Prete on

        I never purchased non-dairy yogurt before, so I tried this product because it was on sale at Whole Foods, and I loved it. Gradually, I am naturally moving towards a plant-based diet, so I will be buying this delicious product again.

  1. Thanks for your review. I have a couple of concerns with this product, more so the flavored varieties. First, the protein content is extremely low for yogurt. 4 ounces of Cashewgert contain only 2 grams of protein, compared with 11 grams of protein in 4 ounces of real yogurt. Second, the sugar content of the flavored varieties is very high (12 grams of sugar per 4-ounce container), making it comparable to Yoplait. As protein helps to slow the absorption of sugar into the bloodstream, the low protein and high sugar content of this product doesn’t sound very healthy at all. And as you mentioned, it is lacking the nutrients that you would find in fortified products.

    I appreciate organic products, but aside from that, there seems to be little nutritional benefit to eating this product. It is more of a pudding/dessert than a yogurt. Soy yogurt may still be the best option for dairy-free yogurt, at 4.5 grams of protein per 4 ounces.

    • I’ve only tried the Unsweetened Susan, which had no added sugar. As for purpose, I can’t argue you on your protein concerns, but most people eat yogurt for the probiotics, and all of these brands have them. Also, it’s a great alternative for some people in recipes like dips.

  2. I stumbled across this on sale at Whole Foods so I bought a lemon one (because that was the only flavor left on the shelf). Must be the least favorite flavor and now I know why. It tastes like nasty bottled lemon juice. I liked the texture of the yogurt and am willing to give another flavor a try but the lemon one is awful.

    • I agree – just tried the lemon, as it, too, was the only one left on the shelf. It was so nasty I couldn’t finish it. Not thrilled about the sugar, as sugar negates the benefits of the probiotics. Even with all the sugar (second ingredient), it still tasted horrible. I wouldn’t recommend this yogurt at all.

  3. My son and I have been eating dairy free for a year. A few months ago I spotted this yogurt and gave it a try. It is by far the closest tasting to milk yogurt I have ever had. The plain option so I can cook with it has got me hooked. Had a little scare a few weeks back when Whole Foods didn’t have it in stock for almost 3 weeks! It’s back now and hopefully to stay.

      • Me too, Whole foods ran out and ate been 2 weeks. Whats up with that and why isn’t this product sold nationwide everywhere…

        • This is still a relatively new brand and it can be really hard to gain distribution, especially for refrigerated products (cool shelf space is limited!). But you can ask your Whole Foods store about it to ensure they restock.

    • HAHAHA !! I too had a panic when every Whole Foods around me ran out of it a couple of weeks ago. Being Indian, we use yogurt in many, many savory dishes. My parents are dairy yogurt snobs, looking down their nose at all the dairy-free yogurts I’ve gotten, EXCEPT THIS ONE (plain & unsweetened). I too feel so empowered being vegan with this yogurt. I substitute it in recipes calling for mayo, sour cream, buttermilk, anything creamy. I am trying to eat low fat as well. Mainly I make salad dressing & veggie dip with it .

  4. It’s softer and more drippy than i thought it would be, i had the plain -just bought a small cup because it’s much more in NYC and i’ve had too many terrible nondairy yogurts.
    I used it for overnight oats, added 1/3c oats, some chopped walnuts, chopped apple, and cinnamon. This was SO filling it was two breakfast portions even though it doesn’t look like a lot. I added a dribble of honey just before eating since the plain needs that.
    I’ll gladly buy more plain next time i’m at the store that sells these. Didn’t see the larger tub

  5. I love these yogurts! Good stuff….have used the pain in baking with good results as well.

  6. I think you have a typo in the first paragraph! “Forager Project has burst onto the dairy-free scene with a huge range ((((or)))) creamy products. Many have looked intriguing, but it was the large tub of Cashewgurt that provoked me to open my pocketbook.”
    I think it should say of?

    Love your blog anyways!

  7. I’ve had the vanilla, strawberry, and blueberry. Fair amount of sugar but so creamy and delicious! Vanilla is easily my favorite, but blueberry is also pretty tasty.

  8. Thanks so much for this information. I have been looking for dairy-free yogurt for a while now. I can’t wait to get this.