Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Gets a New Look and Taste

62

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt has gained quite a cult following over the years. It was the first almond-based, clean-label yogurt to emerge, and it had the nutritional qualities that so many people were longing for. It’s an artisan-style dairy-free yogurt that’s relatively high in plant-based proteins and fats, is stocked with probiotics, and has minimal additives.

Their flavors are quite high in sugars, but they do offer low sugar Plain and Unsweetened varieties. That said, this yogurt line is a bit more sour than some people might like.

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Gets a New Look and Taste

In October 2019, Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt received a new formula and a new look. The flavor images below show what to look for in the store. It’s still unfortified, but carrageenan-free and cultured with four types of probiotics. Be sure to leave your own rating and review below when you try them!

Plain Unsweetened

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), locust bean gum, xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s.thermophilus, l.bulgaricus, l.acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 130 calories, 11g fat, 4g carbs, 2g fiber, 1g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 5g protein.*

Plain

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), cane sugar, locust bean gum, xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s.thermophilus, l.bulgaricus, l.acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 140 calories, 11g fat, 8g carbs, 2g fiber, 5g sugars (includes 4g added sugars), 4g protein.*

Vanilla

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), cane sugar, tapioca starch, natural flavor, locust bean gum, citric acid, vanilla bean, xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s.thermophilus, l.bulgaricus, l.acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 170 calories, 9g fat, 22g carbs, 2g fiber, 18g sugars (includes 17g added sugars), 4g protein.*

Peach

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), cane sugar, peaches, tapioca starch, natural flavor, locust bean gum, citric acid, annatto [color], xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s.thermophilus, l.bulgaricus, l.acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 170 calories, 9g fat, 22g carbs, 2g fiber, 18g sugars (includes 16g added sugars), 4g protein.*

Blueberry

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), cane sugar, blueberries, tapioca starch, natural flavor, locust bean gum, citric acid, fruit and vegetable juice [color], xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s.thermophilus, l.bulgaricus, l.acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 170 calories, 9g fat, 21g carbs, 2g fiber, 17g sugars (includes 15g added sugars), 4g protein.*

Strawberry

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), cane sugar, strawberries, tapioca starch, natural flavor, locust bean gum, fruit and vegetable juice [color], citric acid, xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s.thermophilus, l.bulgaricus, l.acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 170 calories, 9g fat, 22g carbs, 2g fiber, 17g sugars (includes 16g added sugars), 4g protein.*

Raspberry

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), cane sugar, raspberries, tapioca starch, natural flavor, vegetable juice [color], locust bean gum, guar gum, lemon juice concentrate, xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s. thermophilus, l. bulgaricus, l. acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 160 calories, 9g fat, 20g carbs, 2g fiber, 15g sugars (includes 14g added sugars), 4g protein.*

Key Lime

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt Review and Info - dairy-free, vegan, paleo-friendly, healthy yogurt in several almond-based flavors. We have ingredients, ratings, and more!Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), cane sugar, tapioca starch, natural flavor, key lime juice concentrate, locust bean gum, citric acid, xanthan gum, agar, live active cultures: s.thermophilus, l.bulgaricus, l.acidophilus, bifidobacteria. Contains: tree nuts (almonds).*

Nutrition (per 5.3-ounce single serve): 180 calories, 9g fat, 23g carbs, 2g fiber, 19g sugars (includes 18g added sugars), 4g protein.*

The photo below was taken by me when I bought and sampled their Plain Unsweetened flavor. You will note that the packaging is different, but their formula has stayed the same. So I’m keeping this photo here to give you a close up of the consistency and texture of Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt.

Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt - now available Unsweetened (dairy-free, soy-free, vegan)

More Facts on  on Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt

Price: $1.79 to $1.99 per 5.3-ounce container

Availability: Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt is sold at mainstream grocers, like Target, Publix, and Kroger stores, and natural food markets, like Whole Foods and Sprouts in the U.S. All of the flavors listed above are sold refrigerated in single-serve 5.3-ounce containers. The Plain Unsweetened is also available refrigerated in multi-serve 16-ounce and 32-ounce tubs, and the Vanilla can also be found in the 16-ounce size.

Certifications: Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt is Non-GMO Verified and Certified Kosher DE (for dairy equipment, not ingredients; see our Understanding Kosher Guide).

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Kite Hill Almond Milk Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian.*

For More Product Information: Visit the Kite Hill website at www.kite-hill.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

2.8
2.8 rating
2.8 out of 5 stars (based on 25 reviews)
Excellent32%
Very good12%
Average8%
Poor4%
Terrible44%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Love it!!

5.0 rating
October 20, 2020

I was shocked at how good the unsweetened Vanilla is. I have had many plant based yogurts and most are runny, sour tasting but this one is absolutely amazing. Very thick creamy and an awesome flavor. I am hooked for sure.

Robert

Was better before

1.0 rating
October 10, 2020

I prefer Forager over Kite Hill. My shop was out of the Forager. I have had Kite Hill in the past and thought it would be an awesome change. Sadly, I got some very watery vanilla almond yogurt. It was not expired, just atypical consistency. It was such a bummer and at this price feels like a waste. I will not buy this again.

G

Best almond milk yogurt ever!

5.0 rating
June 1, 2020

I always purchase the unsweetened almond milk or Greek almond milk Kite Hill Yogurt and I loved it from day 1! I eat with granola and it’s such an amazing snack or lunch for me! This yogurt is always in my fridge!

Annie

Key Lime is my favorite!

4.0 rating
April 29, 2020

Creamy, gentle flavor! Already on my shopping list again!

Deb

Peach yogurt

5.0 rating
April 18, 2020

Delicious. Nice pieces of peaches. Sweet and flavorful. I’m going to try all of them. Even unsweetened and add my own fruit.

Heidi

Taste gross

1.0 rating
March 16, 2020

Their cream cheese used to be so good but then they changed their recipe and tastes weird now. They need to work on their yogurt, its not so good. Taste kinda gross, sorry to say.

Clare

WAY too sugary

2.0 rating
March 4, 2020

I have not tried the plain and unsweetened – but I have tried a couple flavors, and while tasty, 18-20g of sugar per serving is absolutely ludicrous. I may try the plain/unsweetened just to see, but I will never purchase anything flavored again for that amount of sugar.

Jessica

Uniquely terrible

1.0 rating
February 29, 2020

I love to try plant based yogurts! Kite Hill plain is bitter and awful. The thickeners are unstable so mixing turns the texture back to watery/paste. Oh well!

Mel

Worst thing I’ve ever eaten

1.0 rating
February 27, 2020

I bought another brand of almond milk yogurt recently (Silk) has and loved it, and was at my local Natural Grocers the following week and they didn’t have Silk so I bought Kite Hill thinking it would be similar. Took one spoonful…. was surprised at how unpleasant it was…. so bad that I spit it out. Like sour chalk. I see KH uses thickeners, whereas Silk does not, and that makes all the difference. I know food well and am not squeamish, but this was honestly one of the worst things I’ve ever eaten. My thought was…. “have these people every actually tried their product?!” I went online looking to see what others thought! I returned the 2 containers to ask for credit.

Debra L

Plain Unsweetened Yogurt, great texture, flavor, good macros!

5.0 rating
February 18, 2020

It was so interesting to read all of the reviews of this product. I purchased it because I have purchased Kite Hill before and I like the brand, and I am on a low carb / keto kick and this product has good macros for both low carb and keto. Creamy texture and good flavor, I sweetened it with a touch of stevia (drops) and a touch of low sugar jam and I loved it! I will definitely purchase again.

Sylvia

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

62 Comments

  1. Love Kite Hill unsweetened yogurt! I add some vanilla stevia and some ground cinnamon and throw in some organic blueberries for good measure. Breakfast 5 days a week!

      • Hi Alisa, I liked the unsweetened version of the yogurt. I can add in real fruit if I want it sweet. But I was wondering where the fat content and all those 190 calories in a 5.3 oz container of plain yogurt come from. Is it because it’s made from many real almonds?
        Thank you for your insight!

          • I love Kite Hill unsweetened yogurt. I put it on Nachos and Tostadas and yes it’s a great sour cream alternative! I love it in savory dishes
            I even added a vegan dip mix packet to it and my family couldn’t believe it wasn’t sour cream

  2. Honestly this was the most disgusting thing I ever did eat and I drink almond milk daily. I also love the soy and coconut yogurts. I don’t know what’s wrong with this, it tasted foul but I bet it’s the real flavor and not spoiled because the date was I the future.

    • Hi Betsy, did you try the unsweetened? I trialed the unsweetened just recently (was going to update this review with my own notes) and thought it sadly, was terrible. It made me surprised by all of the raves – I can only assume the sweetened versions are much better.

      • Katherine Hampton on

        Agreed!! I actually got sick to my stomach after tasting it and I’m not a whimp when it comes to trying new foods…This is truly disgusting.

        • I agree that this is disgusting. Maybe it’s an acquired taste. Having to plug my nose and swallow without chewing in order to eat the Blueberry Almond flavor. Pasty texture, really weird flavor. It already has 12 grams of sugar, so I doubt adding more sweetener would make it better. Perhaps mixed with granola the strange taste might not be so overpowering.

    • I totally agree. I just bought some, trying to keep keto, but it is HORRIBLE! No amount of sweetener and extracts could make it palatable. And I also hate the consistency. I’m going back to my old Greek yogurt.

  3. I have now tried the plain and the strawberry. LOVE them! Great texture and flavor. Only wish there were less sugars in the flavors, although I typically opt for plain anyway. My only issue with it is the money. Definitely expensive as I eat yogurt almost everyday. Still looking for a dairy free option that makes bigger containers!

  4. Tried the plain variety last week, and it’s my favorite almond/non-dairy yogurt that I’ve found in the US. I am lactose intolerant, and I don’t like coconut or ingesting soy, so I’m left only almond. Like other reviewers have mentioned, I wish it was unsweetened. The best non-dairy yogurt I’ve had is a Canadian company, Yoso, that isn’t available in the US yet, and I’ve been trying to replace it to no avail. My favorite flavor of theirs is the Almond and Cashew Unsweetened Plain. Kite Hill tasted almost similar, but too sweet for me to eat on a regular basis. Good for a treat once in a while though.

    • So glad you are liking this one! For low sugar, I usually use the So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk Yogurt or CoYo. Even though you don’t like coconut, the former (So Delicious) didn’t taste coconutty to us. If you’re a super-taster, it might still get you though 🙂

  5. I am neither a vegan nor a vegetarian, but was curious about trying this yogurt. I purchased the plain. It has a very delicate taste, obviously different from any cow’s milk yogurt. Texture is fine, not too thick, not too thin. Just do not expect to get any calcium from this product. Comparably sized cow’s or sheep’s milk yogurt will provide you 30-35% of your RDA; this gives you “0”. No cholesterol, no sodium are pluses. As I have sufficient calcium in my diet from other sources, for me, this is not an issue.

  6. Kim Schwartz on

    Just had one of the Kite Hill blueberry almond yogurts and it was wonderful. I am neither vegan, nor milk intolerant …..just trying to cut down on animal products. I absolutely loved it! It is by far the best nondairy yogurt I have ever tried (and my first stab at almond yogurt). Had been eating Trader Joes blueberry cashew yogurt but the ingredient list is much shorter for Kate Hill and, to me, the taste and texture is better (although TJs is the best of any cashew I have found). All that said – I am a convert!

  7. Wonderful product!!! Wondering if you can put (organic) stevia in your yogurts to lower the grams of sugar? Or make one with zero grams of sugar so I can just add my own stevia? Thanks! I eat the one that’s plain with 5 grams of sugar, but I am very sugar sensitive. Your product is the lowest sugar one that’s non dairy I have found. 🙂 Hadn’t eaten yogurt in years before I found this one.

  8. Celeste | The Whole Serving on

    This is the best non-dairy yogurt I have ever had, whenever I go to the grocery to purchase it’s all sold out. It’s that good.

  9. i agree that this is the best tasting vegan yogurt I’ve tried. That is, the blueberry flavor is very good. The peach one tastes weird, sort of like an artificial flavor. I just wish that this was organic. I am really concerned that these new vegan companies like Beyond Meat, Kite Hill, Daiya and the like really don’t care about health. They are doing just fine, profit wise, making products with residues of herbicides like glyphosate (in Monsanto’s Roundup), which nobody should be eating. I think they are just being opportunistic; people will buy lost of products like these because they are vegan and taste good; if it slowly destroys your health… tough crap.

    • Hi Dave, thank you so much for sharing your review! Actually, many of them struggle profit-wise. It’s a tough industry, so while purely organic can be ideal, it isn’t always feasible for company’s that survive. There are so many factors in food production, and so many expenses, etc., it’s mind-boggling. They seem like a great company doing their best, but I’m sure they could use your feedback. Most of these companies are listening!

  10. I just tried Kite Hill yogurt for the first time this week and this is the best dairy free/gluten free/soy free yogurt I have ever tried! I think if they can lower the sugar just a bit, this would be by far the best yogurt on the market. I will have to try their other products at Whole Foods.

  11. Dear Alisa, I enjoy the Kite Hill yogurt but their labeling says “Cane Sugar” not “Organic Cane Sugar”. I’m told that in the US only the Organic sugar should be considered Vegan since other sugar is made with the Bone Char process (to whiten the sugar). Do you have any thoughts on this??

  12. I just tried the plain almond milk yogurt and it is amazing. The taste and the texture are the closest to the dairy yogurts that I have found among the dairy free alternatives. Definitely will buy again and will be trying their other products.

  13. Although I have tried a few non-dairy yoghurts that I have found very odd tasting, I find Kite Hill plain yoghurt delicious.

  14. I am a vegan and so am always scouting around for new brands of vegan options. Came across kite hill yogurt in whole foods and absolutely fell in love with the taste and texture that no other vegan yogurts came close to. The protein also is higher in this compared to other vegan yogurts out there. I have become a concert now – to Kitehill yogurt. Will be looking out for more of their products to try. For those looking for absolutely delicious vegan sour cream – try wayfare sour cream!

  15. I’ve been enjoying Kite Hill yogurts for a few months now – they are absolutely fabulous! A little high in grams of sugar – but oh, so good!

  16. I have been enjoying the kite hill yogurts as well as their cream cheese. In my opinion these products are amazing. I love the flavors and taste of the yogurts and the chive cream cheese tastes incredibly close to real cream cheese.