I still remember when Rice Dream Pies entered my life so many years ago. It was the first single-serve dairy-free frozen dessert I’d ever seen, and I wasn’t going to pass it by.
But over the years, new frozen dessert products have emerged, and I forgot to review the pioneer that started it all. It wasn’t until last week, when I saw Rice Dream Pies and Bars on sale for $1 each (how could I resist!) that I remembered to give this product some face time.
Unfortunately, my local coop only had the Vanilla in stock, so I’m not reviewing the whole range today. Nonetheless, I welcome your honest reviews on all flavors in the comments below.
Rice Dream Pies are strangely addictive. The rice-based ice cream filling is creamy, but a little frostier than traditional dairy ice cream. That said, I find it quite refreshing to enjoy in the summer heat. The oatmeal cookies are soft and a little grainy, just how I like them. And the chocolate coating is thin and on the dark side. The Vanilla Rice Dream Pies are definitely sweet treats, but every element of these dessert sandwiches has slight bitter notes that contrast. I tend to “super taste” bitter, and don’t usually like it, but in the Rice Dream Pies, it adds this crazy intrigue to the overall flavor.
I can see why I didn’t review these before, because what am I going to say? They’re good, but odd. I like them, but I can’t really give the reason. I’ve read many rave reviews of Rice Dream Pies over the years, so I know I’m not going too far out on a limb when I say, try them, you might like them. And if you see one on sale, why not?!
The Facts on Rice Dream Pies
Certifications: Rice Dream Pies are Certified Kosher Dairy (they are dairy-free by ingredients, but dairy may be present on the lines or in the facility – see our Understanding Kosher guide).
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Rice Dream Pies are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, nut-free, peanut-free, vegan, plant-based, and vegetarian. Note that they are made without soy protein, but the chocolate coating contains a small amount of soy lecithin. Nonetheless, always read the ingredient statement prior to consumption and check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.
For More Product Information: Visit the Dream website at www.dreamplantbased.com.