Don’t let the label throw you. Two Moms in the Raw Truffles are on the sweet side, but they’re more of a fulfilling snack than a sugary confection.
Tasting Notes for Two Moms in the Raw Truffles
I made the mistake of presenting one to Tony as a “truffle”, so he wasn’t wowed upon first bite. Fortunately, I knew exactly what I was getting into. So each generously-sized, rustic, chocolaty snack delighted me. Each truffle has the nutritional profile of a modest energy bar.
This is their flagship flavor. A very nutty, lightly sweet and substantial snack with gentle notes of chocolate that taste pure, but not bitter. It’s mellow overall, but spiked with just the right amount of salt to brighten the flavors. Though called “almond butter”, it’s chunky-style with a good smattering of nutty bits throughout.
This is the nuttiest of the bunch in terms of flavor. It had a more muted cacao taste that blends nicely with the calm matcha powder. It has a very earthy, unique flavor that I probably wouldn’t have been able to pinpoint had I not seen “Green Tea” on the label. I liked it as a nourishing and comforting snack, but it didn’t quite have the indulgence factor.
Mmm, the richest of the three, this was my hands down favorite. More intense in cocoa goodness, but still without a touch of bitter, this dark chocolate delight was warm with cinnamon and just a hint of cayenne heat in the aftertaste. The perfect healthy decadence in my opinion.
Overall, I think the best part about all of the Two Moms in the Raw Truffles is that I was expecting yet another date-based “truffle”, but was instead greeted by nutritious treats with just organic almonds, organic cacao, organic agave, and sea salt as the base ingredients.
The Facts on Two Moms in the Raw Truffles
Certifications: Two Moms in the Raw Truffles are Certified Organic, Certified Gluten-Free, Non-GMO Verified, and Certified Kosher. They also appear to be vegan, but I didn’t see that certification on the package.
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Two Moms in the Raw Truffles are dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan / plant-based, and vegetarian. Nonetheless, check with the company on their manufacturing processes for all varieties if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. Processes and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company / product.