Updated for 2018! Ten years into our annual Dairy-Free and Vegan Chocolate Easter Bunny Round-up, and the list just keeps on growing. Our round-up now includes OVER TWENTY chocolatiers in North America (most in the U.S., several available in Canada). For options elsewhere, see our Australia, Europe & New Zealand Dairy-Free Easter Chocolate Round-Up.
Of course, there is more to Easter than chocolate bunnies … there are chocolate eggs, chicks, and truffles too! Oh, and these days we get to pick between dark, semi-sweet, “milk,” and white chocolate options. Aren’t we spoiled? Now vegans, gluten-free / casein-free dieters, lactose intolerant consumers, and even those with multiple food allergies and gluten-free needs can literally take their pick!
Nonetheless, if your special diet needs are particular, please read this article carefully and inquire with the manufacturer prior to purchasing. I have included notes on what “free-from” needs the chocolatiers cater to (including soy-free and nut-free!), and if we’ve read that they use shared equipment in production. However, you should always double check with the manufacturer before purchasing or consuming any food whenever there is a concern.
Okay, onto the vegan and dairy-free chocolate bunnies, and eggs, and ducks!
No Whey! “Milk” Chocolate Easter Bunnies
I know, I shouldn’t play favorites, but this company has won my taste buds over. They are offering “milk” chocolate Easter Bunnies (with dairy-free white chocolate contrasting ears, so cute!) in addition to Easter egg truffles, creme eggs, and an assortment of other fun “milk” and dark chocolate treats. You may want to hop on over now, as I am guessing they will sell out well before the holiday arrives. Their manufacturing facility is now top allergen-free, which means they are dairy-free, gluten-free, egg-free, nut-free and now soy-free!
Website to Order: www.nowheychocolate.com
For: Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan, and Multiple Food Allergies
Divvies Dairy-Free Chocolate Easter Bunny
The only thing that would make this dairy-free chocolate Easter bunny more perfect is a bag of “safe” Easter Jelly Beans from Divvies! And this year, they’ve added a big 1-pound chocolate bunny to their Easter line-up. But don’t worry, they still have 4-ounce “baby” bunnies. Order early, as this company tends to sell out quickly. From the Divvies site: “All Divvies candy are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, and egg-free.”
Website to Order: www.divvies.com
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, and Multiple Food Allergies
This completely dairy-free and gluten-free chocolatier even has a storefront in Woodstock, IL. But, you can buy their delicious confections from anywhere in the U.S. For richness, they use coconut milk and coconut oil, rather than soy, and they offer a delightful dairy-free Easter chocolate range, including solid chocolate bunnies, chicks, and ducks, dairy-free Easter truffles, and some fun jelly bean bark.
Website to Order: www.etherealconfections.com
For: Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan
Sjaak’s Organic Fair Trade Vegan Dark Chocolate Bunny
Say that ten times fast! But seriously, beyond the fact that these treats obviously meet all possible eco-friendly and socially aware standards, these dairy-free chocolate Easter bunnies win the cuteness award hands down! he only downside is that you may not be able to take a bite after looking into his adorable chocolaty eyes. Luckily, there are always the vegan chocolate eggs for a back-up, which you can buy by the tub should you have a little army to please. Sjaak’s also offers little Easter “totes” filled with vegan chocolates and too many other Easter-worthy goodies to sum up here.
Website to Order: www.sjaaks.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, Gluten-Free
Lake Champlain Classic Dark Chocolate Easter Bunny
Since the Mr. Goodtime Bunny is milk chocolate, I suppose we will have to be content with the regal Classic Dark Bunny, which is boasted as vegan and gluten-free. Well, I guess he is pretty handsome. For those who prefer “cute” to handsome, Lake Champlain also offers dark chocolate placesetting bunnies and organic dark chocolate hopp’n bunnies to share with all Easter guests.
Website to Order: www.lakechamplainchocolates.com
For: Dairy-free*, Vegan
Amanda’s Own Easter and Passover Chocolates
Created specifically for their child with multiple food allergies, Amanda’s Own claims to be the “home of great tasting chocolate that is completely dairy-free, tree nut-free, peanut-free, egg-free and gluten-free!” Amanda’s Own is known for kid-friendly chocolate, so it is no surprise that they are offering up quite a sweet little line of Easter chocolates. Personally, I would love a few of those Baby Bunnies for some low-guilt nibbling! New, Amanda’s Own is also offering cute allergy-friendly Bunny Jelly Bean bags and a dairy-free chocolate Easter bunny box.
Website to Order: www.amandasown.com
For: Dairy-free, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Multiple Food Allergies
Mama Ganache Vegan Easter Bunnies
I expect to hear more about this chocolatier in the future, as they are one of the few to make vegan chocolate that is also free of soy lecithin. Yes, you heard me right, their vegan Easter bunnies and eggs are dairy-free AND soy-free. This is another one of those great Fair Trade and Organic certified companies, so don’t hesitate to support them. Oh yes, and the bunnies! This year they’re hand-pouring vegan dark chocolate versions of their big hollow bunnies and solid bunnies.
Website to Order: www.mama-ganache.com
For: Dairy-free*, Soy-Free, Vegan
Lindt Dark Chocolate Easter Bunnies
This is one of those “accidentally vegan” treats. I really don’t think the people at Lindt had non-dairy as their goal, especially since many of their dark chocolate bars do contain milk. However, the Lindt Dark Chocolate Gold Bunnies that we spotted in the U.S. AND Canada, were made without dairy ingredients. Nonetheless, they do contain soy lecithin and artificial flavor (since when is chocolate not good enough on its own?), and may be at risk for cross-contamination with dairy in production.
Website to Order: www.lindtusa.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Gluten-Free, Vegan
Rose City Vegan Easter Chocolate Bunnies
Bringing that dairy-free chocolate Easter bunny count up another notch, the sophisticated Rose City Chocolatiers shows us their casual side with an animated chocolate bunny. Labeled as “Flop-Eared Freddie” it was hard not to be amused after looking at so many emotionless bunnies. We were also entertained by the fact that Rose City not only boasts an assortment of bunnies, but also vegan chocolate Easter ducks, chickens, and roosters! I admit I was lost at the duck, so the chicken and rooster really threw me for a loop. Rose City vegan chocolates are made with imported Belgian dark chocolate. Please note, we haven’t seen the Easter selections on their site yet this year, but were told they are coming back!
Website to Order: www.rosecitychocolates.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan
Lagusta’s Vegan Chocolate Bunnies
Lagusta offers dairy-free chocolate Easter bunnies in a couple of very cute shapes, and in some tasty variations. They include a solid 60% bittersweet chocolate bunny, a solid bunny studded with crunchy bits of sweet pistachio praline, and a bittersweet chocolate bunny filled with smooth and intensely peanut buttery (not super sweet!) mousse. And this year they’ve added cream filled eggs in “English” and peanut butter.
Website to Order: www.lagustasluscious.com
For: Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan
Chocolate Inspirations Dairy-Free Chocolate Easter Bunnies
Chocolate Inspirations offers a full line of vegan confections (from toffees to caramels), but chocolate is still their first love. They celebrate all of the holidays with themed vegan chocolates, including Easter. Their dairy-free dark chocolate Easter bunny is back, but they also have Easter-wrapped boxes and bags of brittle, toffee, and more dairy-free chocolate decadence.
Website to Order: www.chocolateinspirations.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Gluten-Free, Vegan
Rescue Chocolate Bunnies and “The Good Egg”
Rescue Chocolate gives you a good excuse to enjoy more chocolate at Easter with their Easter Babies, and in prior years the “Make Mine Chocolate” bunnies and vegan chocolate cream-filled eggs (aptly named, “The Good Egg”). 100% of the net profits from your Rescue Chocolate purchase are donated to animal rescue organizations around the country. For the bunnies, they have even partnered with House Rabbit Society to encourage the purchase of chocolate Easter bunnies rather than live ones. Every year, rabbits are purchased as Easter gifts, and huge numbers are then surrendered to animal shelters when the rabbits get older and the excitement of Easter wears off.
Website to Order: www.rescuechocolate.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Gluten-Free, Vegan
Creek House Solid Dark Dairy Free Easter Bunnies
This artisan chocolatier hand crafts a variety of solid chocolate Easter bunnies in the weeks leading up to the holiday each year. They are not a dairy-free facility, but make a point to pour non-dairy chocolate bunnies.
Website to Order: ingber.com/louise/CreekHouseOnline.html
For: Dairy-Free*, Gluten-Free, Vegan
Divine Treasures Easter Chocolate
This year they are making loads of dairy-free Easter chocolates, including bunnies, hens, eggs, lambs, and vanilla creme-filled eggs! They’ve also introduced a dark chocolate line that is free of soy lecithin. This chocolate is cleaned on shared lines with their other chocolate, but cleaned between runs. As always, contact the company whenever a severe allergy is a concern.
Website to Order: dtchocolates.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, Vegan
Chocolate Emporium Easter Chocolate
This chocolatier is back, and with a big, delicious makeover! In past years, they’ve had no shortage of holiday-friendly shapes, sizes, and flavors. They offered a dairy-free chocolate Easter bunny assortment, foil-wrapped eggs, truffle eggs, bunny pops in butterscotch and white chocolate, and cute Easter packages. We’re not yet sure what they have in store for Easter this year, but they are still whipping up delicious creations.
Website to Order: www.chocolate-emporium.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Gluten-Free, Nut-Free, Vegan
The Chocolate Girl Easter Gifts
This fun L.A. chocolatier just came onto our radar, and now we’re wondering what we were missing. Everything they make in-house is certified kosher parve (they do sell items from other food producers containing dairy in their store). For Easter they combine shaped chocolates (bunnies, eggs, etc) with their famous big chocolate pretzels.
Website to Order: thechocolategirl.net
For: Dairy-Free* (they are kosher parve though), Vegan
Camino Dark Chocolate Easter Bunnies
I originally missed the cute vegan-friendly, fair trade, organic dark chocolate bunnies produced by La Siembra in Canada under their Camino brand, as they don’t appear to be on the company’s website (at least they weren’t east to find!). But, they are being sold in stores and online (check Well.ca and Ten Thousand Villages) in Canada. Camino also caters to nut-free and peanut-free with several of their product lines, including these bunnies!
Website to Order: www.lasiembra.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, and Nut-Free
Obsessive Confection Disorder Vegan “Cadbury” Eggs
Though they haven’t ventured into the bunny fields just yet, I would be remiss not to mention the Sweet Dream Eggs from this all-vegan chocolatier. These have sweet “egg” fillings with the sugary whites and yolks reminiscent of Cadbury Cream Eggs, but without dairy. They also offer Rhesus Peanut Butter Eggs. It appears that this chocolatier does shun soy, but I haven’t been able to gather any allergen-specific information from them just yet.
Website to Order: www.obsessiveconfectiondisorder.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, and Soy-Free
Coracao Organic Chocolate Eggs
They don’t have bunnies but I think the fun selection of dairy-free, gluten-free, peanut-free, soy-free Easter chocolate eggs from Coracao Confections is worth noting. They have Superberry, Salted Caramel, and Almond Butter filled chocolate egg truffles. This great company also sweetens their chocolate solely with coconut sugar and has paleo options.
Website to Order: www.coracaoconfections.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, Peanut-Free, Gluten-Free, and Soy-Free
Moo Free Big Organic Chocolate Eggs
This is actually an English chocolatier, but they do ship their delicious, big, hallow eggs to the U.S., too. I’ve trialed one variety, and it was sweet, milky deliciousness.
Website to Order: www.amazon.com
For: Dairy-Free, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Soy-Free
Pure Lovin’ Organic Chocolate Bunnies & Chicks
Based in Victoria, this vegan, organic and fair trade chocolatier ships goodies throughout Canada. Their Easter line-up includes solid and hollow chocolate bunnies, orange-creme filled chocolate chicks and carrots, solid chocolate eggs, and gelatin-free jolly beans.
Website to Order: www.purelovinchocolate.com
For: Dairy-Free*, Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Soy-Free
Order your Dairy-Free Easter Chocolate early to allow enough time for your bunnies and treats to arrive before the holidays!
Be Allergen Aware: If your special diet needs are particular, please read this article carefully and inquire with the manufacturer prior to purchasing. I have included notes on what “free-from” needs the chocolatiers cater to (including soy-free and nut-free!), and if we’ve read that they use shared equipment in production (see star note below). However, products, ingredients and processes may change at any time. Always double check with the manufacturer before purchasing or consuming any food whenever there is a food allergy concern.
On Gluten: The above chocolates that are noted as “gluten-free” are made without gluten or wheat, according to their ingredient lists. But, cross-contamination with gluten could be a potential for some of these companies; always double check with the manufacturer on their production processes if cross-contaminaion issues are a concern for you.
Do you have a dairy-free chocolate Easter bunny update? Share it in the Comments!
* This manufacturer may process milk chocolate in the same facility. If severe food allergies or milk cross-contamination may be a concern, always contact the manufacturer before consuming to verify ingredients and manufacturing processes.