CocoYo Living Coconut Yogurt is Brimming with Probiotics

9

Many years ago, I tried Tula’s CocoYo and fell in love. It was the sugar-free, dairy-free, healthy baseline yogurt I had been seeking. Sadly, that product disappeared from the market for a while, but GT’s Living Foods brought it back to life in 2017. Cocoyo Living Coconut Yogurt now comes in an array of flavors, including new Cacao, and their formula seems to have changed a little.

My friend Caroline bought their Ginger and Turmeric flavor, and it was sharply ginger. They’ve recently discontinued that flavor, so I’m guessing it was just a little to intense for most customers. But even more interesting was the effervescence. This really is a “live” yogurt that literally expands when you open it. It’s quite rich, yet the consistency makes it light in taste. It’s also free of added sugars, with very mild stevia sweetness in the flavors.

Cocoyo Living Coconut Yogurt Reviews and Information (it's dairy-free, vegan, added sugar-free, and filled with probiotics!

CocoYo Living Coconut Yogurt is Brimming with Probiotics

The proprietary probiotic blend in Cocoyo provides 25 billion CFU per 1/2 cup (4 ounces) at the time of bottling. Although they won’t disclaim full details on the strains, GT’s does state that the dominant probiotics used are Lactobacillus, Lactocuccus, and Leuconostoc strains. (Don’t worry, “lact” doesn’t refer to dairy ingredients.) Because it is so high in probiotics, the company recommends giving children under 10 a smaller serving.

Pure

Cocoyo Living Coconut Yogurt Reviews and Information (it's dairy-free, vegan, added sugar-free, and filled with probiotics!Ingredients: raw young coconut, raw young coconut water, probiotic cultures.*

Nutrition (per 4 ounces): 110 calories, 8g fat, 6g carbs, 0g fiber, 1g sugars, 1g protein.*

Vanilla

Cocoyo Living Coconut Yogurt Reviews and Information (it's dairy-free, vegan, added sugar-free, and filled with probiotics!Ingredients: raw young coconut, raw young coconut water, probiotic cultures, organic vanilla extract, organic stevia.*

Nutrition (per 4 ounces): 110 calories, 8g fat, 6g carbs, 0g fiber, 1g sugars, 1g protein.*

Raspberry

Cocoyo Living Coconut Yogurt Reviews and Information (it's dairy-free, vegan, added sugar-free, and filled with probiotics!Ingredients: raw young coconut, raw young coconut water, probiotic cultures, organic raspberry juice.*

Nutrition (per 4 ounces): 80 calories, 6g fat, 6g carbs, 2g fiber, 2g sugars, 1g protein.*

Cacao

Cocoyo Living Coconut Yogurt Reviews and Information (it's dairy-free, vegan, added sugar-free, and filled with probiotics!Ingredients: raw young coconut meat, raw coconut water, organic cacao, organic vanilla, organic spices, organic stevia, probiotic cultures.*

Nutrition (per 4 ounces): 90 calories, 6g fat, 8g carbs, 0g fiber, 2g sugars, 0g protein.*

More Facts on CocoYo Living Coconut Yogurt

Price: $5.15 per 8-ounce jar

Availability: CocoYo Living Coconut Yogurt is primarily sold at natural food stores. It’s carried by major chains in the U.S., like Whole Foods, Sprouts, and Natural Grocers.

Certifications: CocoYo Living Coconut Yogurt is Certified Kosher Pareve.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, CocoYo Living Coconut Yogurt is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, vegetarian, and paleo-friendly.*

For More Product Information: Visit the GT’s website at gtslivingfoods.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

4.3
4.3 rating
4.3 out of 5 stars (based on 13 reviews)
Excellent69%
Very good8%
Average15%
Poor0%
Terrible8%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Best coconut yogurt ever

5.0 rating
January 18, 2021

The taste is so yummy-mildly sweet. Very alive with probiotics. I pick some up whenever we head to the nearest city an hour away.

Bev Eshleman

Cocoyo

5.0 rating
January 17, 2021

I have stomach issues and on a low fodmap diet.This hits the spot when I crave for a special treat.Sometimes I mix it with coconutor almond..I buy it at Fresh Market.Only complaint I I have a hard time finding it to n stuck.Iwould love to buy cases.

Constance Erck

zero stars

1.0 rating
January 7, 2021

I put this in my mouth, froze in place for a second in abject horror, and then bolted out of my chair to find the nearest place to discreetly spit it out. I had no idea it would be “fizzy.” When I was a child, fizzy drinks made me cry, and since then I have never in my life deliberately consumed them. I am probably hyper-sensitive to the sensation of “fizzy” foods, so your reaction might be different, but it’s still worth being warned so you know what you’re getting into.
Bummer how expensive this is for something that will go down the toilet/garbage disposal.

AC

effervescence....

3.0 rating
October 15, 2020

I think its a great product but for the love of good .. please take the horrible effervescence away….!!!!!!! it seems like someone wanted a fizzy drink and yogurt at the same time, no judgment but no thank you.

Smartperson

Response from Go Dairy Free

That’s actually the live active probiotics. They create the “fizzy” in large quantities.

Completely Unexpected and Unusual

3.0 rating
July 30, 2020

So… I wasn’t really sure what the effervescent comments could possibly mean- now I know. How unexpected- I took two bites of the Plain- was completely taken aback- even laughed! The after taste is really delicious- the effervescence is strange! I’m a huge fan of Original Lavva- and I’m trying to find another clean dairy free yogurt- it’s not easy- most have added sugars and other strange ingredients. I’m hoping if i add a banana or maybe walnuts the cocoyo will be it! Does anyone have any other recommendations? I was hoping for more of a coconut flavor…

Maggie

Response from Go Dairy Free

Coyo (a different brand, similar name), uses just a little stevia, but is very coconuty and has simple ingredients. Here is info -> https://www.godairyfree.org/product-reviews/coyo-coconut-milk-yogurt

Need this product or something very close to it's benefits from your company

5.0 rating
May 12, 2020

Cocoyo is the best product I’ve tried in years. I can no longer purchase this miracle yogurt at our local store. Is there another product you produce that would have the same qualities and benefits that this store might stock. Perhaps some kind of probiotic drink, for instance. Thank you for striving for excellence with your cocoyo product. Elizabeth

Elizabeth Thompson

Response from Go Dairy Free

We don’t sell any products. Go Dairy Free is an informational site. But Coyo offers a drinkable kefir with similar benefits -> https://www.godairyfree.org/product-reviews/coyo-dairy-free-kefir

New jar

4.0 rating
May 6, 2020

The new jar is better than the old ones. The drawback is the labels dont come off very easily. I save the jars to reuse.

Jody A. Hoag

So Good!!

5.0 rating
March 23, 2020

I can’t even begin to describe how much I love this stuff. The slight effervescence is delightful. It’s not overly sweet and the texture is perfect. Not too thick and also not runny. And it really helps my gut- I haven’t ever been able to say that about any other yogurt. I wish I could get it delivered somehow as I’m not very close to Whole Foods and they can’t seem to keep it in stock anyway. It sells out fast. Try it you won’t be disappointed!

Monika

Finally

5.0 rating
March 15, 2020

Finally a non dairy yogurt thats not overly sweet. The texture is amazing. Hope someone carries the vanilla.

Debbie

Love the stuff

5.0 rating
February 6, 2020

The best yogurt I have ever had. almost addictive. Sadly, the health foods stores near me are closing. Wish Publix and Walmart would carry.

Rosa

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

9 Comments

  1. Laura Kokkales on

    Just purchased this item, coconut CocoYo…what an amazing product. Tastes delicious, just enough tang, really great texture and consistency. I’m a sugar-free nut and really do seek out products that are true to the core! So glad to have discovered it, thank you to Plum Market for offering it as a special, yes this did work for me!

  2. Hello I am excited to see the yogurt product. I am wondering what in the ingredients. I am not to have any sweetener added to any of of my food. I can’t not seem to find the ingredients list for the CocoYo living coconut yogurt.

  3. rosalba marino on

    Hi there, I have an auto immune deficiency. just a note to ask if this product is also Fructose free as i also have Ceoliac disease, and am boder line type 2 diabetic. I am 47yrs of age and am going through menopause and have put on some unwanted weight, with symptoms that
    almost resemble how i felt before being diagnosed 9yrs ago.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Regards

    Rosalba Marino