Ripple Half & Half is an Allergy-Friendly Option for Dairy-Free Light Cream

55

I spotted Ripple Half & Half in the non-dairy case at Target when it first launched, and I couldn’t resist buying a bottle of each variety to try. At that time, they offered both Original and Vanilla varieties. Unfortunately, the Vanilla was discontinued. I’m updating this post with information on just the Unsweetened Original, but I’m leaving my photos up that show the Vanilla. The Original looks and performs the same as the Vanilla (so the images are still helpful), it’s just unsweetened and sans vanilla.

Ripple Half & Half Review - dairy-free, plant-based, vegan, and top allergen free in Plain Unsweetened and Vanilla

Tasting Notes for Ripple Half & Half

Ripple Half & Half is a creamy, top allergen-free, plant-based alternative for Half & Half. We tested this refrigerated dairy-free substitute as a creamer and in recipes.

Original (Unsweetened)

The Original has wonderful richness and a creamy mouth feel, but it’s sugar-free and unflavored. Truthfully, I was expecting this to taste rather dreadful on its own. But I took a sip and my taste buds were intrigued! The consistency is so decadent and the flavor was surprisingly mild with an oddly addictive taste. It’s definitely savory, but something kept making me want to take more sips.

I loved the Original in tea, even though I don’t use creamers regularly. It also seems to shine in recipes. Thus far, I’ve used it to make a white sauce, and the results were delicious. It bubbled up and thickened beautifully without any separation. I think this Ripple Half & Half also begs to be used in soup.

Ripple Half and Half Reviews and Info - Dairy-Free, Allergy-Friendly Alternative to Light Cream. We tested it ...Ingredients: water, sunflower oil, pea protein, organic cane sugar, contains less than 1% of sea salt, sunflower lecithin, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavor, acacia gum, guar gum, gellan gum.

Nutrition (per 2 tablespoons): 35 calories, 3.5g fat, 0g carbs, 0g fiber, <1g sugars, 0g protein.*

The Facts on Ripple Half & Half

Price: $3.49 per 16-ounce bottle

Availability in Stores: Ripple Half & Half is available in mainstream and natural food grocers in the U.S., like Target, Whole Foods, and Sprouts. Look for it in the refrigerated case next to the dairy-free creamers or milk beverages. You can also order it online direct from the company’s website below.

Certifications: Ripple Half & Half is Certified Non-GMO.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Ripple Half & Half is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, keto-friendly, and vegetarian.

For More Product Information: Visit the Ripple website at www.ripplefoods.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

3.9
3.9 rating
3.9 out of 5 stars (based on 18 reviews)
Excellent61%
Very good11%
Average0%
Poor11%
Terrible17%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Best DF half and half

5.0 rating
March 4, 2020

I love the Ripple half and half unsweetened version. I was so happy to have a dairy free creamer that tastes delicious! I loved that I was getting some protein too since I don’t eat meat. Sadly, now there is not a single place near me that carries it any more. I’ve tried requesting it with the form Ripple provides just for this, but have had no success in getting the stores around here to get it again. I’m so bummed!

Vandra

Perfect product but no longer available anywhere!

5.0 rating
February 16, 2020

Excellent flavor and texture. Sometimes separates when reheated in my tea. Can’t seem to find anywhere now. Apparently it’s discontinued and will be replaced with a larger size but have not been able to find it anywhere within 100 mile radius. I miss it! Nothing compares.

Heidi

Love the product, but it's hard to find

5.0 rating
January 31, 2020

Ripple half-and-half unsweetened is my go-to coffee creamer! Rich, creamy, and yummy! I also like the vanilla, but generally prefer coffee without flavor so I prefer the plain. Problem is, when I go to the tiny handful of stores that carry it near me, it’s either sold out or they’ve stopped carrying it. Not Ripple’s fault, of course, but I wish I could find it in more places because I don’t like any other creamers and will forgo coffee entirely without it.

Kelly Shinners

Awesome Alternative

5.0 rating
January 21, 2020

Trying many none-dairy creamers, this is one of the best!

Susan Cotton

This is the BEST dairy free coffee creamer ever!

5.0 rating
December 4, 2019

All other dairy free coffee creamers seem to have a sour or bitter after taste either immediately or later on when I am finishing my coffee. Many of them pool and slough to the bottom of the cup, too, creating a final chug of slug. Ripple does not do any of these things if you shake it well! It is not only great in consistency but it also tastes so smooth and creamy. It is the closest thing I have found to actual half and half. I buy 3 at a time at the grocery store in fear of them either stopping carrying it or running out, so I always have 2 back-ups in the fridge. It works well, too, because if they are unopened they last a long time. I absolutely love this product and live in fear it will disappear if not enough people know about it and buy it. It is sooooo goooood!

Hester

as good as diary half and half

5.0 rating
November 27, 2019

I have been looking for a dairy free creamer that I could use in coffee for a few years.
Nothing was satisfied. I always used half and half, but was told to give up dairy products.
I tried ripple in my coffee and my husband on his blueberries.
FANTASTIC!! Couldn’t believe how good it was.
Keep thinking there has to be some ingredients that are unhealthy.

joann sickinger

Bizarre taste

1.0 rating
November 19, 2019

I’m a vegan and am used to and enjoy various plants milks. I bought this because it was on sale and it provoked my interest as I drink a cup of coffee every morning and normally just use coconut milk or cashew milk in it. This truly tastes horrible. It taste like chemicals and/or soap. I don’t really know how to describe the off flavor but I can’t drink my cup of coffee. I’m going back to what it used to do.

Melissa

Low

2.0 rating
August 31, 2019

It is not decadent, it’s just weird. Gives me an upset stomach every time!

Kat

Hi

4.0 rating
July 26, 2019

Good product

Cindy Ellis

My coffee is happy!

5.0 rating
July 19, 2019

I purchased the Ripple original to try in my coffee…. to get away from using products with saturated fats. I was pleasantly surprised! It’s creamy and I found the taste very similar to using regular half & half so I will continue to buy this product. I may try the vanilla flavor for some of my baking next 🙂

shari

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

55 Comments

  1. I was at my local Target and saw this, so I gave it a try. A nice consistency that nearly rivals the real thing! I was a little freaked out when I saw the residue at the bottom of my cup of tea. I guess that’s normal for plant-based creamers? Either way, liked it better than most vegan creamers. Gotta try the vanilla next!

  2. I drink Irish Breakfast tea in the mornings so I definitely do not want a flavor like vanilla (or hazelnut or some of the other coffee creamer flavors). I love half and half and sugar in my tea and I have to say after trying many dairy substitutes, the Original flavor of Ripple is the best half and half alternative I’ve tried yet. I can be one step closer to vegan with good alternatives like this!

  3. Ripple has a disgusting after taste in coffee. I was hopeful and have been trying to get used to it for the last month. After trying most of the creamer replacements with no luck, it may be time to learn to enjoy my coffee straight up with no creamer! Oh, well, maybe it works for baking.

    • That’s a bummer that it didn’t work out well for you Scout. Thanks for your feedback! It does work very well in baking and in sauces. It cooks very well – I’ve made several recipes and had no separation.

    • 100% agree – Ripple is disgusting. I just tried it today after reading glowing reviews. Try Nutpods! It’s a very tasty non-dairy creamer available from Amazon. I was only looking for another product because the Nutpods packaging is so small and I’m trying to reduce my waste footprint. But it’s definitely the best non-dairy creamer out there. I recommend the Original flavor.

  4. Pingback: Guide to the Best Dairy Free Coffee Creamer Options

  5. I do not like the Ripple vanilla creamer. We switched at home the coffee we had been using and I tried Ripple at the same time. I thought that maybe it was the coffee that I did not like so, I took the creamer to work. Our cafeteria brews really tasty coffee and I was excited to try the creamer in it. Nope. Same awful taste.

    What I get from Ripple vanilla is an odor that is definitely vanilla. When I put it in coffee, the taste I get is smokey and woody. Not at all like the delicious vanilla odor.

      • I am always game to try a new creamer. But I keep circling back to almond-based creamers. That is where I’m headed now until another new one comes along. 🙂

        • It isn’t out until June, but a little insider info – I decided to do a massive creamer test and found that homemade creamers (without any additives) tend to work better. I tested dozens of homemade milks/creamers and wrote notes about each and included my favorite creamer recipes in the 2nd edition of Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook (again, out in June). It surprised me that the homemade worked so well – including almond!

  6. Found it in Sprouts. They have a good selection of dairy-free half and half or milk alternatives. It’s not bad, best of several things I’ve tried and doesn’t give me stomach pains like nut milks, but there is a bit of an aftertaste. I think it’s a matter of getting used to it. You know, just like going vegan in the first place was (and worth every minute!).

  7. I wanted to try the Ripple half and half, but my local stores only had the big bottles of Ripple milk. I got a bottle of unsweetened original to try. Unfortunately, I can really taste the algal oil. It’s a fishy/seaweedy taste that lingers. Pretty gross in my beverage. 🙁 Maybe in the sweetened versions it’s not noticeable. Now I have to figure out what to do with the rest of the bottle. I’ll try adding sugar and cocoa and vanilla and use it to make chia seed pudding.

  8. Pingback: Dairy-Free Bechamel Recipe: Basic Vegan & Allergy-Friendly White Sauce

  9. I really enjoy Ripple creamer & so glad to see more varieties of dairy-free coming to traditional grocery stores. I’ve used it in my coffee but sometimes I use it in recipes in place of a cream or if I’m looking for a richer texture. Great stuff.

  10. Ok I have to giggle because I did the same thing and my husband walked in the kitchen! I’m loving it for baking and I’ve been using to make scones for our Scone Sundays! I instantly started thinking about all the holiday recipes that call for half and half that I can’t wait to try with it and it not changing the flavor or consistency.

  11. Interesting! Such a detailed, review, thanks so much. I never used half and half in my coffee but almond milk is pretty watery so I’d love to try this! I’ve seen their milk in my local grocery store but not this product yet..will watch for it!