Ripple Half & Half is an Allergy-Friendly Option for Dairy-Free Light Cream

55

I spotted Ripple Half & Half in the non-dairy case at Target when it first launched, and I couldn’t resist buying a bottle of each variety to try. At that time, they offered both Original and Vanilla varieties. Unfortunately, the Vanilla was discontinued. I’m updating this post with information on just the Unsweetened Original, but I’m leaving my photos up that show the Vanilla. The Original looks and performs the same as the Vanilla (so the images are still helpful), it’s just unsweetened and sans vanilla.

Ripple Half & Half Review - dairy-free, plant-based, vegan, and top allergen free in Plain Unsweetened and Vanilla

Tasting Notes for Ripple Half & Half

Ripple Half & Half is a creamy, top allergen-free, plant-based alternative for Half & Half. We tested this refrigerated dairy-free substitute as a creamer and in recipes.

Original (Unsweetened)

The Original has wonderful richness and a creamy mouth feel, but it’s sugar-free and unflavored. Truthfully, I was expecting this to taste rather dreadful on its own. But I took a sip and my taste buds were intrigued! The consistency is so decadent and the flavor was surprisingly mild with an oddly addictive taste. It’s definitely savory, but something kept making me want to take more sips.

I loved the Original in tea, even though I don’t use creamers regularly. It also seems to shine in recipes. Thus far, I’ve used it to make a white sauce, and the results were delicious. It bubbled up and thickened beautifully without any separation. I think this Ripple Half & Half also begs to be used in soup.

Ripple Half and Half Reviews and Info - Dairy-Free, Allergy-Friendly Alternative to Light Cream. We tested it ...Ingredients: water, sunflower oil, pea protein, organic cane sugar, contains less than 1% of sea salt, sunflower lecithin, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavor, acacia gum, guar gum, gellan gum.

Nutrition (per 2 tablespoons): 35 calories, 3.5g fat, 0g carbs, 0g fiber, <1g sugars, 0g protein.*

The Facts on Ripple Half & Half

Price: $3.49 per 16-ounce bottle

Availability in Stores: Ripple Half & Half is available in mainstream and natural food grocers in the U.S., like Target, Whole Foods, and Sprouts. Look for it in the refrigerated case next to the dairy-free creamers or milk beverages. You can also order it online direct from the company’s website below.

Certifications: Ripple Half & Half is Certified Non-GMO.

Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Ripple Half & Half is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, keto-friendly, and vegetarian.

For More Product Information: Visit the Ripple website at www.ripplefoods.com.

*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy. 

Average Reader Review

3.8
Rated 3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5 stars (based on 26 reviews)
Excellent61%
Very good8%
Average0%
Poor8%
Terrible23%

Leave Your Rating & Review for This Product

What Others Are Saying ...

Best vegan creamer EVER

Rated 5 out of 5
June 30, 2021

I developed a dairy allergy 5 years ago. Coffee with cream was my favorite morning beverage and (to add an emotional component) the way I connected with my Papa, Dad, and brother. We’d get coffee together on mornings or weekends. I hate black coffee. Even worked as a barista and tried all kinda of vegan alternatives. Found soy to grow on me for lattes but just a cup o joe with cream could never come close to my younger day joys. My dad passed away last spring and I was missing our coffee days more than ever. The taste was just never right and it added bitterness to good memories. Then I saw this unsweetened version at the store and it looked keto friendly so I got it. After one sip i was double checking the label to make sure I didn’t accidentally buy a dairy product! This is the REAL DEAL. After so many let downs, fails, even barista grade creamers, (even toeing my allergy line with “non-dairy” creamers like coffeemate but unable tonfind unsweet versions) I am ecstatic for this. I hope they keep it on the shelf I am sooo happy. I’m visiting Michigan right now and am praying I can find it back home in Minnesota or North Dakota. Now I can have my coffee in the mornings and remember visiting with dad<3

Steph

Hard to find, but worth the search

Rated 5 out of 5
April 1, 2021

Best creamer hands down, It’s creamy, has some body, and adds a sublime flavor.

Ginger

My favorite coffee creamer

Rated 5 out of 5
February 11, 2021

Maybe I shouldn’t be on this site—I’m a dairy lover. But I eat only fat-free products and I wanted a healthy fat profile for creaming my coffee. After trying countless nondairy creamers, I found my one and only in plain Ripple Half and Half. I have used it for years experienced none of the off-taste or sediment that a few people mention in this site. It’s a consistent product with a very mild taste and after reading the comments I am going to try it now in cooking for my lactose-intolerant family.

Becky

Gamey Wet Horse

Rated 1 out of 5
February 6, 2021

Ripple Unsweetened Original milk is fine, but Ripple Half & Half is disgusting. Tastes like gamey wet horse or a wet raccoon. Drain poured the H & H, and drinking the milk. Odd because the ingredients are identical. It’s only their ratios that are different.

Tracy

Excellent non dairy creamer

Rated 5 out of 5
November 11, 2020

Ripple is an excellent non dairy creamer in addition to being heart healthy. That’s why I’ve been buying it ever since I first tried it. It is exactly what I’ve been looking for and because it’s dairy free and vegan it is a must for anyone with cholesterol or heart related concerns.

Pat Green

Terrible, nasty tasting

Rated 1 out of 5
November 10, 2020

The Ripple half and half is by far the worst non-dairy creamer I have ever tried, and very expensive.
When I poured out my nasty tasting coffee it looked like there was dirt in the bottom of my cup.

Lori

So bad it had to go down the drain

Rated 1 out of 5
October 26, 2020

I’ve been eyeing this product line for some time now. I pass it up and keep grabbing the oat milk varieties. Then while doing an essentials quick shop after work, my go to isn’t there. I decided to give the “half & half” a go. Excitingly the next morning I make my coffee and pour it up, just to almost spit it out. I was SO disappointed. Bleck! I tried the next day in some iced coffee just to give it one more chance and just could not drink it. Maybe it’s the “cilantro tastes like soap” to some people going on here. I just can’t seem to understand why people LOVE it? Five stars, really? Sticking with my oat milk creamer.

Kit Blanco

YUMMMMMMMY

Rated 5 out of 5
August 5, 2020

raving about this product but a bit confused as to the boast about being high in protein but…the label on my bottle says O grams of protein so…..

Julie

Best DF half and half

Rated 5 out of 5
March 4, 2020

I love the Ripple half and half unsweetened version. I was so happy to have a dairy free creamer that tastes delicious! I loved that I was getting some protein too since I don’t eat meat. Sadly, now there is not a single place near me that carries it any more. I’ve tried requesting it with the form Ripple provides just for this, but have had no success in getting the stores around here to get it again. I’m so bummed!

Vandra

Perfect product but no longer available anywhere!

Rated 5 out of 5
February 16, 2020

Excellent flavor and texture. Sometimes separates when reheated in my tea. Can’t seem to find anywhere now. Apparently it’s discontinued and will be replaced with a larger size but have not been able to find it anywhere within 100 mile radius. I miss it! Nothing compares.

Heidi

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

55 Comments

  1. I was at my local Target and saw this, so I gave it a try. A nice consistency that nearly rivals the real thing! I was a little freaked out when I saw the residue at the bottom of my cup of tea. I guess that’s normal for plant-based creamers? Either way, liked it better than most vegan creamers. Gotta try the vanilla next!

  2. I drink Irish Breakfast tea in the mornings so I definitely do not want a flavor like vanilla (or hazelnut or some of the other coffee creamer flavors). I love half and half and sugar in my tea and I have to say after trying many dairy substitutes, the Original flavor of Ripple is the best half and half alternative I’ve tried yet. I can be one step closer to vegan with good alternatives like this!

  3. Ripple has a disgusting after taste in coffee. I was hopeful and have been trying to get used to it for the last month. After trying most of the creamer replacements with no luck, it may be time to learn to enjoy my coffee straight up with no creamer! Oh, well, maybe it works for baking.

    • That’s a bummer that it didn’t work out well for you Scout. Thanks for your feedback! It does work very well in baking and in sauces. It cooks very well – I’ve made several recipes and had no separation.

    • 100% agree – Ripple is disgusting. I just tried it today after reading glowing reviews. Try Nutpods! It’s a very tasty non-dairy creamer available from Amazon. I was only looking for another product because the Nutpods packaging is so small and I’m trying to reduce my waste footprint. But it’s definitely the best non-dairy creamer out there. I recommend the Original flavor.

  4. Pingback: Guide to the Best Dairy Free Coffee Creamer Options

  5. I do not like the Ripple vanilla creamer. We switched at home the coffee we had been using and I tried Ripple at the same time. I thought that maybe it was the coffee that I did not like so, I took the creamer to work. Our cafeteria brews really tasty coffee and I was excited to try the creamer in it. Nope. Same awful taste.

    What I get from Ripple vanilla is an odor that is definitely vanilla. When I put it in coffee, the taste I get is smokey and woody. Not at all like the delicious vanilla odor.

      • I am always game to try a new creamer. But I keep circling back to almond-based creamers. That is where I’m headed now until another new one comes along. 🙂

        • It isn’t out until June, but a little insider info – I decided to do a massive creamer test and found that homemade creamers (without any additives) tend to work better. I tested dozens of homemade milks/creamers and wrote notes about each and included my favorite creamer recipes in the 2nd edition of Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook (again, out in June). It surprised me that the homemade worked so well – including almond!

  6. Found it in Sprouts. They have a good selection of dairy-free half and half or milk alternatives. It’s not bad, best of several things I’ve tried and doesn’t give me stomach pains like nut milks, but there is a bit of an aftertaste. I think it’s a matter of getting used to it. You know, just like going vegan in the first place was (and worth every minute!).

  7. I wanted to try the Ripple half and half, but my local stores only had the big bottles of Ripple milk. I got a bottle of unsweetened original to try. Unfortunately, I can really taste the algal oil. It’s a fishy/seaweedy taste that lingers. Pretty gross in my beverage. 🙁 Maybe in the sweetened versions it’s not noticeable. Now I have to figure out what to do with the rest of the bottle. I’ll try adding sugar and cocoa and vanilla and use it to make chia seed pudding.

  8. Pingback: Dairy-Free Bechamel Recipe: Basic Vegan & Allergy-Friendly White Sauce

  9. I really enjoy Ripple creamer & so glad to see more varieties of dairy-free coming to traditional grocery stores. I’ve used it in my coffee but sometimes I use it in recipes in place of a cream or if I’m looking for a richer texture. Great stuff.

  10. Ok I have to giggle because I did the same thing and my husband walked in the kitchen! I’m loving it for baking and I’ve been using to make scones for our Scone Sundays! I instantly started thinking about all the holiday recipes that call for half and half that I can’t wait to try with it and it not changing the flavor or consistency.

  11. Interesting! Such a detailed, review, thanks so much. I never used half and half in my coffee but almond milk is pretty watery so I’d love to try this! I’ve seen their milk in my local grocery store but not this product yet..will watch for it!