The first U.S. retail ice cream franchise isn’t the first to serve dairy-free flavors, but they are leaping on the bandwagon with a full menu of vegan frozen desserts. Carvel has teamed up with Oatly to help them swirl, scoop, sandwich, and blend various flavors of dairy-free oatmilk ice cream. See our guide below for more details.
Carvel Shoppes Dairy-Free & Vegan Menu Guide
Be aware of special order requirements in parentheses () next to the menu items, and see the Heads Up notes to help fill in the blanks. Please note that this guide is for the U.S. locations. Options may vary in other countries.
Other Allergen & Dietary Notes: All of the following seem to be vegan and egg-free too, unless otherwise noted, but verify in store. Oatly soft serve is Certified Gluten-Free. We have noted which items contain wheat, or might contain wheat and need further clarification. Keep in mind that there is always a risk for potential cross-contamination with milk and other allergens in production, and when the ice cream is scooped, swirled, or blended in shoppe. According to a Carvel representative, “Carvel’s soft serve machines may have non-dairy on one side and dairy on the other, but the flavors are exclusive of each other unless you twist the products together.” Verify the allergen protocols at your local shoppe.
Dairy-Free Soft Serve Flavors
- Oatly Strawberry Soft Serve
- Oatly Chocolate Soft Serve (select locations; see ingredients below)
- Oatly Cold Brew Soft Serve (select locations)
- Oatly Mint Soft Serve (select locations)
Ingredients: Most of the flavors above are exclusive to Carvel Shoppes. But we do have the ingredients for Oatly Chocolate Soft Serve: oatmilk (water, oats), liquid sugar (sugar, water), dried glucose syrup, low erucic acid rapeseed oil, dextrose. Contains 2% or less of: cocoa powder treated with alkali, pea protein, natural flavor, mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, sea salt, guar gum, gellan gum, dipotassium phosphate, locust bean gum.
Dairy-Free Ice Cream Flavors by the Scoop
- Oatly Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Dessert
- Oatly Cookies & Cream Frozen Dessert (might contain wheat ingredients – verify in store)
- Lemonade Sorbet
- Orange Tangerine Sorbet
- Pink Grapefruit Sorbet
- Raspberry Sorbet
Ingredients: The Oatly ice cream flavors by the scoop and strawberry soft serve flavors are exclusive to Carvel shoppes. But you can see the base ingredients for their hard-packed frozen dessert in our Oatly Ice Cream Review Post.
Novelties & Ice Cream Cakes
- Oatly Non-Dairy Flying Saucers (soft serve ice cream sandwiched between wafer cookies) (contains wheat)
- Oatly Non-Dairy Shakes
- Oatly Lil’ Love Cake (contains wheat; gluten-free options available)
- Oatly Round Cake (contains wheat; gluten-free options available)
Heads Up! They reportedly will have Oatly frozen dessert cakes available in store and for custom order. You can also buy Carvel Dairy-Free Oatmilk Ice Cream Cakes at Publix. See our review post for cake ingredients and more information.
- Cake Cones (contains wheat)
- Sugar Cones (contains wheat)
Heads Up! The Waffle Cones and Waffle Bowls at Carvel do reportedly contain milk.
- Bordeaux Cherries
- Brown Bonnet
- Brownie Bites (contains wheat, might contain egg – verify in store)
- Chocolate Crunch (contains wheat)
- Chocolate Drops
- Chocolate Sprinkles
- Chocolate Syrup
- Confetti Sprinkles
- Cookie Dough (contains wheat, likely egg-free and vegan – verify in store)
- Maraschino Cherries
- Marshmallow (not vegan)
- Oreo Cookies (contains wheat)
- Pound Cake (contains wheat, might contain egg – verify in store)
- Rainbow Sprinkles
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Sauce
- Toasted Coconut
- Vanilla Syrup
- Wet Walnuts
Heads Up! Yes, according to their corporate allergy information, the Brownie Bites, Cookie Dough, and Pound Cake are made without milk. But always verify at your location that these aren’t sourced locally and don’t contain milk.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.
Where to Find Carvel Shoppes
They have over 300 stores in the Eastern states, with a heavy concentration in New York, New Jersey, and Florida. They have just one location out west, in California. See the website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.