Mellow Mushroom Makes it Easy Going for Special Diets


I can’t even count the number of people who have messaged me about Mellow Mushroom. This popular pizza parlor has locations across the the United States, and is known for catering to special diets. In fact, this year, they launched a “lifestyle” section to their online ordering platform that includes menus for gluten-free, vegan, and keto. But we’re going to go beyond that in this updated post, and give you more helpful details for your dairy-free order. As a bonus, I’ve also included vegan and gluten-free notes!

Mellow Mushroom Dairy-Free Guide with Special Order Notes, Dairy Warnings, All Vegan Options, and Gluten-Free Options

Dairy-Free Menu Guide to Mellow Mushroom (with Vegan & Gluten-Free Options)

You won’t believe how many dairy-free options this cheesy pizzeria has! We’ve divided it into easy order sections, I’ve added precaution notes, and labels for items listed that are not vegan and/or not gluten-free.


  • Hummus Dip with Pita (not gluten-free) or Veggies
  • Munchie Pups
  • Naked Wings (not vegan)
  • Teriyaki Wings (not vegan and gluten-free)
  • Roasted Red Potatoes

Heads Up! Their Toast Points contain dairy (and gluten), which effects several of their appetizers. All other Wing flavors (including hot, mild, and others) do contain dairy. We’ve also been told that the Pretzel Bites, even without the dip, contain milk.

Menu Pizzas

  • Vegan Veg Out (order with gluten-free crust for gluten-free)

Heads Up! Mellow Mushroom finishes their pizzas and calzones with parmesan and garlic butter. These items are left off on their vegan menu, but you’ll need to request “no parmesan and no garlic butter” if custom ordering a dairy-free pizza. According to the company, you can substitute vegan cheese (Follow Your Heart) on any pie at no additional cost.


  • Greek Salad ordered No Cheese
  • House Salad ordered No Cheese
  • Mellow Chick Salad (not vegan)

Pizza, Salad, and Hoagie Toppings – Proteins

  • Anchovies (not vegan)
  • Applewood Smoked Bacon (not vegan)
  • Chicken (Plain, BBQ, Curry, Herb Vinaigrette, Jerk, and Teriyaki (not gluten-free)) (not vegan)
  • Crumbled Italian Sasusage (not vegan)
  • Ground Beef (not vegan)
  • Ham (not vegan)
  • Pepperoni (not vegan)
  • Salami (not vegan)
  • Steak (not vegan)
  • Tempeh, Marinated (not gluten-free)
  • Tofu (Plain, BBQ, Jerk)

Heads Up! They Buffalo Chicken, Pesto Chicken, Meatballs, and Turkey contain dairy.

Pizza, Salad, and Hoagie Toppings – Produce

Heads Up! All of their fruit and vegetable toppings are dairy-free and vegan except the Grilled Portobello and Mushroom Trio (the Raw Sliced Mushrooms are dairy-free). All of their produce toppings are gluten-free.

Pizza, Salad, and Hoagie Toppings – Sauces & Dressings

  • Balsamic Vinaigrette Salad Dressing
  • Barbeque Sauce (not vegan)
  • Esperanza Salad Dressing (not vegan)
  • Herb Vinaigrette Salad Dressing
  • Jerk Sauce
  • Mayonnaise (not vegan)
  • Red Sauce
  • Sweet Chili Glaze

Heads Up! Obviously, the cheesy and buttery sauces contain dairy, but so do these: Buffalo Hot Sauce, Garlic Aioli, Pesto, and Ranch. All of their sauces are listed as gluten-free.

Other Pizza, Salad, and Hoagie Components

  • Baked Pizza Crust (not gluten-free)
  • Baked Thin Pizza Crust (not gluten-free)
  • Gluten-Free Crust (yes, it’s vegan too!)
  • Vegan Cheese (Follow Your Heart)
  • Bread (French and Multi Grain) (not gluten-free)
  • Black Truffle Oil
  • Olive Oil
  • Italian Seasoning
  • All Salad Greens

Heads Up! The Croutons, Toast Points, and Brioche Bun do contain dairy.


You can gorge on pitted cherries, but that’s about it for dairy-free sweets at Mellow Mushroom. Grab a pint of dairy-free ice cream at the nearby grocery store instead!

Allergen Protocols

When their staff is notified, all gluten-free pies are made following the strictest gluten-free guidelines. This includes preparing gluten-free pies in a designated sanitary prep area, and using baking tools designated for gluten free pies only. If you are concerned about dairy or other allergens, speak with the location to make sure they can safely accommodate your needs. We’ve heard from some readers who’ve had very good experiences with Mellow Mushroom and their safety with allergen requests.

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

Mellow Mushroom Dairy-Free Guide with Special Order Notes, Dairy Warnings, All Vegan Options, and Gluten-Free Options

Where to Find Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom has nearly 180 restaurants in 21 U.S. states. See their website below for addresses, hours, and online ordering.


About Author

Alisa is the founder of, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.


  1. Could you be so kind to please tell me the Vegan option you offer at this restaurant? it will be the first time we visit and is to celebrate my birthday.

    Thank you

  2. Hi Alisha, I just wanted to point out one clarification. Smart Flour Foods provides Mellow Mushroom with the Ancient Grain, gluten free and vegan crust. We are the only/standard gluten free crust offered by Mellow, and therefore the gluten free crust at Mellow Mushroom (at all locations) is vegan. There is no “standard” gluten free crust that contains eggs, that may refer to the gluten free crust they had prior to ours. Mellow adopted the Smart Flour Foods crust in late 2013.

    Don’t hesitate to reach out with any questions!

    Sameer Shah, VP of Marketing, Smart Flour Foods

  3. Daisha Lambert on

    Chattanooga, TN offers dairy free (Daiya) cheese! I love that I found somewhere to eat out and not have to worry!

  4. I work in Arlington, TX, and have eaten at the Austin, TX location and Arlington location of Mellow Mushroom. Both locations have Diaya! This was a wonderful discovery for me!!

Leave A Reply