Ben & Jerry’s Gets Half Baked Idea for New Non-Dairy Flavors

8

Ben & Jerry’s knows there is nothing foolish about the dairy-free trend. Non-dairy pints now make up 20 percent of their product line thanks to this year’s annual product release. Vegan cousins of  two more fan favorites, Cinnamon Buns and Peanut Butter Half Baked, have been welcomed into their frozen dessert collection.

“When our fans asked for non-dairy,” Ben & Jerry’s assistant brand manager Nelia Horikawa told VegNews, “we listened. We’re always working to bring Ben & Jerry’s fans the latest and greatest flavors.”

Two years ago they announced their starting non-dairy pint line-up with Chocolate Fudge Brownie, Chunky Monkey, Coffee Caramel Fudge, and P.B. & Cookies. That initial launch met with such fanfare that they released non-dairy versions of Caramel Almond Brittle, Cherry Garcia, and Coconut Seven Layer Bar last year. And this year Cinnamon Buns and Peanut Butter Half Baked round out the non-dairy collection for a total of nine sweet options.

Ben & Jerry's New Non-Dairy Pints for 2018 - Cinnamon Buns and Peanut Butter Half Baked

Ben & Jerry’s New Non-Dairy Pint Details

We’ve got the scoop on each new flavor, including ingredients, certifications, pricing and availability.

Ingredient and Allergen Information

Ben & Jerry's New Non-Dairy Pints for 2018 - Cinnamon Buns and Peanut Butter Half BakedCinnamon Buns is a Cinnamon Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert with Cinnamon Bun Dough & a Cinnamon Streusel Swirl.

Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), liquid sugar (sugar, water), coconut oil, sugar, corn syrup solids, wheat flour, soybean oil, corn syrup, pea protein, brown sugar, molasses, cinnamon, sunflower lecithin, soy lecithin, salt, baking soda, natural flavor (coconut), guar gum, locust bean gum. Allergy information: contains almonds, wheat, coconut and soy. May contain other tree nuts. [See Certifications information below.]

Peanut Butter Half Baked is a Chocolate & Peanut Butter Non-Dairy Ben & Jerry's New Non-Dairy Pints for 2018 - Cinnamon Buns and Peanut Butter Half BakedFrozen Dessert with Fudge Brownies & Gobs of Peanut Butter Cookie Dough

Ingredients: almond milk (water, almonds), liquid sugar (sugar, water), wheat flour, coconut oil, corn syrup solids, sugar, brown sugar, peanuts, cocoa (processed with alkali), peanut butter (peanuts), soybean oil, pea protein, cocoa powder, corn syrup, peanut oil, sunflower lecithin, salt, corn starch, guar gum, locust bean gum, vanilla extract, baking soda, natural flavor (coconut), soy lecithin, barley malt. Allergy information: contains almonds, wheat, coconut and soy. May contain other tree nuts. [See Certifications information below.]

Certifications

Ben & Jerry’s non-dairy pints are certified vegan, and carry the promises of non-GMO ingredients, fairtrade support, and responsibly sourced packaging.

Despite the lack of a milk warning on their allergy information, these pints do have a Kosher DE certification. This means that they are produced on “dairy equipment,” but likely have rigorous cleaning and allergen protocols between batches. Contact Ben & Jerry’s to discuss their manufacturing processes if you are dealing with a sensitive or severe allergy.

Availability

These new flavors are reportedly rolling out to stores and scoop shops across the United States now. All nine of Ben & Jerry’s non-dairy ice cream pints have a suggested retail price of $5.99.

Select Ben & Jerry’s non-dairy pint flavors are also available in Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia. But there is no word yet on if these two new flavors will be landing in countries outside of the United States.

Eat Dairy Free - Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets

About Author

Alisa is the founder of GoDairyFree.org, Food Editor for Allergic Living magazine, and author of the best-selling dairy-free book, Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living, and the new cookbook, Eat Dairy Free: Your Essential Cookbook for Everyday Meals, Snacks, and Sweets. Alisa is also a professional recipe creator and product ambassador for the natural food industry.

8 Comments

  1. I am so excited for new Ben and Jerry Non-Dairy flavors. I had to cut out dairy from my diet over 2 years ago so it is nice to see that they are trying to allow people who cannot eat their normal ice cream to have a delicious treat to enjoy. Thanks for the great info!

  2. How can it be vegan with all the sugar in the ingredients? They don’t say cane sugar, or coconut sugar, it’s just sugar. True vegan does not use white sugar?

    • Strict vegans don’t use sugar that is processed with bone char. There are many white sugars that are vegan and vegan certified. Ben & Jerry’s is a vegan product and I know many strict vegans who enjoy it! You might want to search vegan and sugar to get more information on the topic.

  3. While I applaud the attempt of going dairy free for those who are allergic dairy, it would probably sell more if you used another thickened such as corn starch instead of wheat flour for those who are also celiac. It is tough enough trying to find dairy free but gluten free also is very difficult.

    • You might want to contact them directly with your requests. I’m sure at some point Ben & Jerry’s will read my feature news article here, but Go Dairy Free isn’t affiliated with any brands. We’re just here for you!

  4. The peanut butter half baked ingredient statement italics portion doesn’t list peanut as an allergen but it’s in the regular type. I’m assuming this is just an oversight but wanted to mention it!

    • Probably, but I didn’t hand type this – it’s straight from Ben & Jerry’s! Technically, they don’t need to claim it as an allergen at the end if the allergen is clear (easy to read) in the ingredients. But yeah, it would make sense to!

  5. Wheat flour? Really? They couldn’t leave out the wheat flour. Its not gluten free. I’ll stick with So Delicious Cashew Ice Cream thank you.

Leave A Reply