This Mezcal Dairy-Free Caramel Sauce was inspired by a new flavor trend: vegan Mexican cuisine. It’s delicious sweet, a little smoky, and all grown-up. You’ll love it over brownies, fresh fruit, cake, or dairy-free ice cream. In fact, it was made to compliment this Vegan Horchata No-Churn Ice Cream Recipe.
Mezcal Caramel Sauce Delivers a Shot of Sweet Indulgence
Mezcal is a distilled alcoholic beverage made from any type of agave. Tequila is just one type of mezcal, and it’s made specifically from blue agave (agave tequilana). There are more than 30 other varieties of mezcal, which can hail from different regions of Mexico. But most mezcal is produced in Oaxaca. Although its easiest to find tequila, other types of mezcal are quickly gaining popularity in the U.S. and Japan.
Mezcal is known for its strong smoky flavor, which adds a layer of depth and indulgence to this dairy-free caramel sauce.
This Mezcal Dairy-Free Caramel Sauce recipe with photo was shared with us by McCormick from their Flavor Forecast.
Special Diet Notes: Mezcal Dairy-Free Caramel Sauce
By ingredients, this recipe is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian.
- ¾ cup brown sugar
- 1 cup coconut cream
- ½ teaspoon fine sea salt
- 2 tablespoons mezcal
- Add the brown sugar to a small saucepan over low heat. Cook for 1 minute.
- Stir in the coconut cream and salt. Bring the mixture to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring periodically. It should become slightly thickened.
- Remove from the heat and let the dairy-free caramel sauce cool completely.
- Whisk in the mezcal until combined and smooth.
- Store any leftover vegan caramel sauce in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.