Updated March 2023! Oreo Cookies turned 110 last year, but they haven’t aged a bit. In fact, they’ve been surprising dairy-free consumers for decades with fresh new flavors. Yes, these beloved chocolate sandwich crème cookies have been made without dairy for as long as I can remember. According to PETA, Oreo cookies are even an “accidentally vegan” treat. And the milkless options go well beyond the Original flavor! See the guide below to discover all of the dairy-free Oreo cookies available for dunking in your favorite milk beverage.
Photos from Nabisco
Yes, Oreos are Dairy-Free, and They Make Gluten-Free Too
A few years ago, Nabisco announced the launch of certified gluten-free Oreo Cookies in not one, but two varieties. And this year, they’ve added a third wheatless flavor, Gluten-Free Mint Creme Oreos! All three varieties are also dairy-free. But they aren’t the only dairy-free options. See our Oreo guide below!
Which Oreo Cookies are Dairy-Free by Ingredients? All of These!
This list includes all varieties that are dairy-free by ingredients. Limited edition flavors often cycle with the seasons, so we’ll keep adding them as they pop up. Online you might see some other unique flavors sold for a premium. Oreo cookies are produced in various versions around the world. But keep in mind that some foreign versions aren’t quite the same as these American classics.
Dairy-Free Flavors of Oreos
We’ve listed the Gluten-Free options first, followed by the “Classic” year round varieties, and then the Flavors, which often come and go from the market, and finally the Thins.
- The Original
- Double Stuf
- The Most Stuf
- Mega Stuf
- The Most Oreo (new in 2023!)
- Minis Original
- Golden Double Stuf
- Minis Golden
- Birthday Cake
- Blackout Cake
- Boo (Halloween orange)
- Caramel Coconut
- Carrot Cake
- Chocolate Creme
- Chocolate Hazelnut
- Chocolate Marshmallow
- Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie
- Cinnamon Bun
- Dark Chocolate
- Java Chip
- Joy (Winter)
- Maple Creme
- Mocha Caramel Latte
- Peanut Butter
- Pumpkin Spice
- Toffee Crunch
- Ultimate Chocolate
- Thins Original
- Thins Coconut
- Thins Dark Chocolate
- Thins Extra Stuf
- Thins Golden
- Thins Lemon
- Thins Mint
- Thins Pistachio
Bonus Dairy-Free Oreo Items
- Oreo Pie Crust
- Handi-Snacks OREO Cookie Sticks ‘N Crème Dip Snack Pack
- Oreo O’s Cereal
- Oreo Candy Canes
- Cookies ‘n Creme Oreo Instant Pudding
These Oreos Contain Milk
There might be more – Oreo has hundreds of product variations. But these are the ones we’ve found to date that contain dairy.
- Fudge Covered
- Holiday Cookie Houses
- Mint Fudge Covered
- White Fudge Covered
- Thin Bites Fudge Dipped
- Thin Bites White Fudge Dipped
Why are Oreo Cookies Certified Kosher Dairy?
Oreos are made in a shared facility where both their non-dairy and dairy varieties are handled. For that reason, the kosher certifier requires a dairy certification, even on the flavors without dairy. You can read more about this topic in our Kosher Labeling Guide for Dairy-Free Consumers.
An outdated article on a kosher website (from 2013) states that only the original Oreo flavors are made without dairy, but this is no longer true. Most flavors of Oreo cookies are now made without dairy. But like all products, they carry some degree of risk for cross-contamination.
If you are concerned about potential cross contamination with milk, contact the company to learn more about their processes before purchasing and consuming. Only you can decide if a food is safe for your needs.
Are Other Sandwich Creme Cookies Dairy Free?
Oreo isn’t the only game in town. There are many brands of sandwich creme cookies that just happen to be dairy-free by ingredients. In fact, most are. Look for Newman O’s, Back to Nature, and select Lotus Biscoff varieties for wheat-based options. For gluten-free, try Kinnikinnick or Mi-Del. And many store brand sandwich creme cookies are dairy-free – just check the labels!
Dairy-Free Recipes using Oreo Cookies!
Enjoy all of the following goodies with your favorite sandwich creme cookies.
- Cookies and Cream Dairy-Free Ice Cream
- 5-Minute Oreo Mug Cake
- Cookies ‘n Peanut Butter Vegan Milkshake
- Instant Dairy-Free Oreo Cookie Butter
- Cookies ‘n Cream Brownie Bars
- Oreo Dairy-Free Ice Cream Cake
- Dairy-Free Pantry Trifle
- Cookies ‘n Ice Cream Bon Bons
- Cup of Dirt Desserts
- Chocolate Peppermint Oreo Crispy Treats
- Cookies ‘n Cream Muffin Cakes
My son has a dairy allergy. It’s not lactose intolerance it’s worse. He’s not allergic to lactose (the sugar) it’s the milk protein and he’s had no issues with a lot of the flavours. We love Oreos! So glad you’ve made them dairy free! Wish we could get a lot more flavours in Canada!
im allergic to dairy and have been eating these cookies without symptoms. Everyone is different. Be careful with cross contamination mostly with people with severe allergies. 70% or more of people who were told theyre allergic are actually just sensitive. I am. Every now and then I do eat milk but take vitamins before eating it and dont get symptoms. I dont do it too often because I can injure some of my organs. I heard they have seasonal peppermint flavored cookies. I hope theyre dairy free.
Yes, they have two types of dairy-free seasonal Oreo peppermint cookies, they’ve been added to the list above!
oreos arent dairy free. there is some serious cross contamination with milk when they make the cookies in their factory.
please dont spread misinformation when people with actual lactose allergies can get sick from this
Please read the entire post. We thoroughly address this. In terms of the risk of cross-contamination, every product is at some degree of risk. This is why you must contact the company to discuss their protocols before consumption. Oreos are consumed daily by many people who have severe milk allergies, without incident. But only you can determine what is safe for your needs. At our last time of review, Nabisco did practice GMP with allergen protocols. But you must contact them yourself to assess with any product if you are concerned about potential cross contamination.
Not all products have a risk of cross contamination. Many are certified “dairy free” which involves several steps as well as testing to ensure compliance. This also exists for nut-free and gluten-free products, and is different from simply not using the item as an ingredient. This is an important issue for those with life-threatening food allergies. I hope OREO moves to separate facilities and dairy free certification for applicable products in the future.
All products are at some degree of risk for some degree of cross contamination. We cannot assess what that risk is. Even allergen-safe products are tested down below a certain “safe” level of the allergen, but are not guaranteed to be 100% free of every trace. We have worked with allergen manufacturers, and have learned quite a bit about the processes and steps involved. There are so many levels of possible contamination throughout the supply, production, and distribution chain. We cannot assess the safety of every brand, and every batch. To the best of our knowledge, there is still no dairy-free specific certification. There are vegan certifications, and kosher parve certifications, but there are no guarantees of allergen safety with these. And certifications, or other labels, lack of labels, etc, should never be relied upon when you are dealing with a life-threatening food allergy. If you are concerned about traces of an allergen, you must contact the company to discuss their protocols to decide if you believe they are safe enough for your needs.
Also, please make sure you read this post THOROUGHLY: https://www.godairyfree.org/news/may-contain-statements
I believe the source you’re getting this information from is the UK oreo site. The situation is very different in the UK vs US, with European cookies not being manufactured kosher, for instance, but US ones are. Consequently, US cookies are Halal acceptable while UK ones may not be. Similarly, the cross contamination issue is different in the US because the manufacturing is structured differently.
Please make the vanilla cream Oreo gluten and dairy free also. I am allergic to chocolate and wheat. Thank you.
i love oreos thank you for making it free by door im nice.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ye
Oh my goodness! You have made my day! I have to be gluten free also, so this is a win-win. I will wait breathlessly until January, when I won’t be able to find them where I live anyway. Which might be a good thing. 🙂