Updated October 2020! This “better-for-you burger” brand, is continuing to expand their plant-based options by introducing vegan shakes. The dairy-free base of these thick, rich blends is made from vanilla oatmilk ice cream and unsweetened almond milk beverage. You can enjoy it as a vanilla treat or order a fruit add-in. See our dairy-free menu guide below for other shake topping suggestions.
Elevation Burger Gives Dairy-Free Diners a Lot to Chew On
The vegan shakes aren’t Elevation Burger’s first foray into plant-based alternatives. In late 2019, FAT Brands, the parent company of both Fatburger and Elevation Burger, decided to take a slice of the dairy-free market. They launched Daiya Cheddar-Style Cheese Alternative at all Fatburger locations, and then made the same move at Elevation Burger. In addition to Daiya Cheddar-Style, Elevation Burger added the plant-based Impossible Burger to their menu, and they’ve also added Udi’s gluten-free buns.
These new options have opened most of their menu up for dairy-free consumers, despite what their guide might say. Elevation Burger provides a very detailed nutritional booklet with ingredients and dairy-free, gluten-free, vegan, and paleo labels. Unfortunately, their labeling isn’t completely correct. They sometimes label vegan but not dairy-free, and omitted dairy-free labels on some items that just contained wheat, some containing just meat, and some items just containing eggs. If you confuse eggs with dairy, you’re not alone – so do the nutritionists at Elevation Burger! See this post: Are Eggs Dairy?
We deciphered their menu using the ingredients and allergen information for a more accurate dairy-free listing. I’ve also included notes and recommendations for other top allergens and dietary concerns. But as always, verify before you order! This is for general guidance and should not replace your own due diligence. And kindly let us know in the comments if you believe any information has changed.
Elevation Burger Dairy-Free Menu Items + Other Allergen Info*
- Burgers – The Single, Double, Vertigo, and Paleo Burgers are dairy-free and egg-free as ordered. You can order the Elevation, BBQ Bacon, Fiery Sunrise, and Mushroom Swiss Burgers dairy-free if you omit the cheese or ask for a Daiya cheese substitution, but these all contain egg.
- Vegan Burgers – Their Vegan Burgers and Impossible Burger are dairy-free and vegan. Both vegan burger options contain soy and wheat in the patties. Please note that their Veggie Burgers contain milk.
- Chicken – All of their Grilled Chicken Sandwiches and Crispy Chicken Sandwiches to this date can be made dairy-free if you ask them to omit the cheese or substitute Daiya Cheddar. Both the Grilled Chicken Tenders and Crispy Chicken Tenders (used on their Chicken Sandwiches and for their Chicken Tenderloins) are made without gluten and without top allergens (they use gluten-free breading). For gluten-free and wheat-free needs you can order just the Chicken Tenderloins or get them in a lettuce wrap.
- Hotdogs – According to the ingredient and allergen information, both the regular and organic hot dogs are dairy-free.
- Buns – Their Potato, Wheat, and Hot Dog Buns are made without dairy and eggs, but they do contain soy. They also offer Udi’s gluten-free buns, which are dairy-free, and lettuce wraps.
- Toppings – Lettuce, Tomato, Raw Onion, Caramelized Onions, Jalapenos, Hot Pepper Relish, Bacon, Guacamole, Sautéed Mushrooms, Sautéed Green Peppers and Onions, and Daiya Dairy-Free Cheddar are made without dairy or other top allergens. The Organic Egg is just egg.
- Sauces – The Ketchup, Mustard, Honey Mustard, Balsamic Mustard, and BBQ Sauce are made without dairy or other top allergens. The Mayonnaise, Elevation Sauce, Sriracha Mayo, and Horseradish Sauce are also dairy-free by ingredients, but they do contain egg and soy oil.
- Salad Dressings – They use Ken’s brand of salad dressings. The Balsamic Vinaigrette and Country French Dressings appear to be made without milk and egg, but they are made with soy oil.
- Fries – Their Classic Olive Oil Fries are dairy-free, but skip the fancy and fiery seasonings as they both contain milk.
- Dessert – They now offer Vegan Shakes with several dairy-free add-on shake topping options. The Shake Toppings that are made without dairy include Bananas, Blueberries, Mangoes, Strawberries, Chocolate Syrup, Key Lime Syrup, and Oreo Cookies. The Black Cherry Syrup and Cheesecake Powder appear to be made without dairy, but check in store. Their allergen information is vague for those two items.
More Allergen FAQs for Elevation Burger
Grilled “Cheese?” You could probably order the Grilled Cheese with Daiya to make it dairy-free. They do not note butter or any other top allergens used on their grill, but there is always a risk for cross-contamination with cheese on the grill for any of the menu items. Ask if they have a separate cooking space, if needed.
Is Elevation Burger Nut-Free? We did not note any peanuts or tree nuts of any kind on their nutrition, allergen, or ingredient information. But check with your location to find out if they are safe for your needs.
What About the Deep Fryer? They do not note what type of oil they fry in. There do not appear to be any items with dairy (or other top allergens) cooked in the Elevation Burger fryers, but double check at your location before ordering.
Elevation Burger Allergen Disclaimer
Individual foods may come into contact with one another during preparation which is not reflected on this [nutritional]chart.
Where to Find Elevation Burger
At last count, they had about 25 locations in the US, with a heavy concentration in the Northeast. They also have more than a dozen locations in the Middle East. However, the vegan shakes will only be available at the U.S. locations. See the website below for addresses, hours, and to order online.
*The above information was supplied by the corresponding restaurant via their website, customer service, or other published nutritional information. Ingredients and menu offerings are constantly changing in the food service industry, and can be subject to interpretation. For this reason, Go Dairy Free does not guarantee nor take responsibility for the accuracy of this information. If severe allergies or intolerance are a concern, contact the restaurant directly before purchasing or consuming one of their products. Cross-contamination of potential food allergens should always be considered a possibility in a fast food restaurant.
Average Reader Review
Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant
What Others Are Saying ...
They added gluten free buns!
I ordered from Elevation Burger in Wyomissing, PA, where I frequent about once a month or so and last night I was able to order a gluten free bun! I always ordered a lettuce wrap before. I thought the bun tasted great! It held together perfectly well until the last bite of my chicken sandwich and didn’t feel grainy in my mouth. I do have a bit of a belly ache this morning and tried looking up the ingredients of the bun but they’re not yet listed on their nutritional information page.