Those packages of ground beef and ribs are typically free of added food allergens, but read the labels closely on all meats slated for the grill. Chicken may have solution added or the meat may come pre-seasoned, and occasionally this introduces an unwanted ingredient or two to your summer barbecue. Not often, but it does happen.
But one of the most popular summer barbecue foods is a little more tricky, hot dogs. Processed meats can contain just about any added ingredients, so you never know what might be in there. Read the label carefully. Gluten may be used as a binder, soy for flavoring, and ingredients like lactic acid starter culture (unless it specifically states non-dairy) may be dairy derived. Caseinates (milk protein) may also be present, but most manufacturers will tell you that the lactate (potassium, calcium, or sodium) in their product is dairy-free. Always check where severe milk allergies are a concern though! See my dairy ingredient list for more details.
A few processed meat products that tout themselves as dairy-free (and typically gluten-free and free of some of the other top allergens) include:
Many of the above brands also offer sausages plus chicken or turkey products. For other sausage options, look to brands like Al Fresco and Aidells (both offer gluten-free, dairy-free, and soy-free options and are sold in most grocers), but read the ingredients carefully for flavors added, such as cheese.
Also, look for kosher options when buying packaged meat products. Kosher dietary laws prohibit the mixture of meat and milk, so in theory, kosher meat products should always be dairy-free (again, check the label and if cross-contamination is a concern, contact the company!)
For vegans, the choices have grown extensively. You really can’t go wrong with a simple marinated Portobello (pictured above) thrown on the Q (meaty and delicious), but feel free to jazz up that shroom with some homemade barbecue sauce fixings.
Another great option is veggie burgers, whether homemade or store-bought. For store-bought, look to the following great brands:
For many more meat and meat alternative options, see the No Dairy Product Lists.
Surprisingly, many store-bought brands of bread have dairy, and most have other allergens like eggs, soy, wheat, etc. So this seemingly easy menu item is a touch more complex than you might think. My solution? I make my own:
If you aren’t a baker, packaged varieties are available:
Many more brands are listed in the No Dairy Product Lists – too many to list here!
What would a summer barbecue be without some fantastic salads? Well, I have some good news, mayonnaise is actually dairy-free! (If you confuse eggs with dairy, don’t worry, you’re not alone. See t his post: Are Eggs Dairy?). Sure, there may be some weird flavored varieties that contain milk, but a true mayo is made with just oil and eggs. If you need egg-free, too, don’t be afraid of trialing vegan mayo. We actually prefer Vegenaise to regular mayonnaise! And when mixed into a potato salad, pasta salad, or coleslaw, the swap will typically go unnoticed.
Just remember to skip the parmesan topper – it likely isn’t needed. If you think a pop of flavor is in order, turn to chopped olives or artichoke hearts instead. Here are a few great salad and salad topper recipes to inspire:
Also, don’t forget about the wonder of grilled vegetables. Marinate some mushrooms, bell peppers, onions, eggplant, summer squash, etc. in a favorite vinaigrette, skewer them, and grill away!
As mentioned, mayo is usually dairy-free, and vegan mayo is a great option for those who want egg-free, too. However, loads of other condiments tend to be dairy-free, including ketchup, mustard, salsa, hot sauce, and of course, barbecue sauce. Keep an eye on those labels though, as milk may sneak in (I’ve found it in mustards and BBQ sauces), and for those with other food concerns, these condiments can disguise gluten, corn, and/or soy quite often. I admit that I often purchase these condiments (I like brands like Organicville for their clarity), but you can easily make them at home:
What would a gathering be without a sweet ending? If you aren’t a baker, you can look for a pie at the store. Wholly Wholesome offers some good options for those who prefer all-natural and allergen-free, but many store-bought fruit pies will be dairy-free (though not gluten- or soy-free) – just read the ingredients and you may find some surprise gems. However, if you are like me, and prefer treats straight from the kitchen, try out any of the following recipes:
Also, fresh fruit makes an amazing everyone-friendly and healthy dessert! Serve up wedges of watermelon, grapes (frozen ones on hot days!), fresh berries, sliced kiwi, or fill a bowl with a variety of chopped fruits and drizzle with a touch of raw honey or agave (for vegan) to heighten the sweetness.
No Dairy Product Lists – You won’t believe how many products are in these, thousands and thousands – ranging from everyday “in any old store” brands to organic options – whatever I could find!
My Recipes – This is my personal collection of online recipes. See the recipe index for a full listing (all of my recipes are always dairy-free!) and the gluten-free recipe index for recipes that are both dairy-free and gluten-free.
Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook – Don’t forget, my book has a food allergen index in the back to quickly reference vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, and nut-free recipes too. You’ll find pies, puddings, salads, and all the creamy goodness you can handle within.
More Dairy Free Recipes – We’ve got a big collection (and growing) here on Go Dairy Free, many from my kitchen, but many contributed from other authors and readers.